We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Slater's Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Let me start by saying the food and pub are great - the rooms on the other hand are not so good. Waited 20 minutes at check in while the receptionist chatted on the phone organising a wedding. The rooms are dated and the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything. We had issues with the guest next door at 2am, and could find no-one on site to help. I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATDBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    33
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
36
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was an overnight to visit a friend and was booked on line. We only paid £30.00 each!! The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has lots of old world charm. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The facilities are good with plenty of hot drinks in the room, iron and ironing board, hair dryer etc.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful (thanks wolverine ) and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast is served in a small quaint nook above the bar with low beams and a view over the courtyard. Plenty of coffee, orange juice, toast, jams and preserves (and extra toast) cereal and all followed by a great full English.
A great overnight stay and would revisit if in the area.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms overlook car park. Venue hosts a lot of weddings so may be noisier then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We found this inn searching on hotels.com and we are very glad we did! It was exactly the atmosphere we were looking for in the countryside of the UK. The room, bar and breakfast room were very charming and served excellent food. The staff were kind, warm and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twosteppin2dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Chose this hotel after reading very poor reviews about the one we were originally booked into. My daughter and I wanted a location close to Monkey Forest and this was perfect. The service and welcome were amazing. We had a fabulous evening meal and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and extremely hard working. Nothing was too much bother for them. would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had room 1 which overlooked the garden. nice decor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting and is clean and functional. But should really be priced at 70 a night. Nothing wrong at all, just a bit pricey. Breakfast very nice and quiet all night. I would come again if the price was better, or perhaps include dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seany42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Spent two nights, rooms are away from the pub - dining area, but close to function rooms. Check you are not staying on a function night as they are noisy and late! Bar is nice although locals hog the small bar area making getting served a tad challenging. Our evening meal after being told that all the specials and indeed most of the main meals were not availalbe anymore, was steak, although it was good.
Rooms are clean, bath very slippy and no mat to prevent a tumble.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking car park noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyF559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Called in on Sunday 30 June 2013 at 4.15pm in the afternoon. We selected the cream tea for two. We waited and waited for service. The girl serving was doing a good job ignoring us. If we were expected to go to the counter to give our order they should put better signs up. As no service was given we left, never to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
387 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
774 reviews
5.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
10.0 mi away
Crewe Hall
Crewe Hall
#1 of 9 in Crewe
2,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slater's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slater's Country Inn

Property: Slater's Country Inn
Address: Stone Road | Baldwins Gate, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slater's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Slater's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slater`s Country Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Country Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Newcastle-Under-Lyme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing