We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Slater's Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a wedding and all I can say is it was absolutely amazing!! We stayed in one of the cottages and my husband didn't want to leave!! Clean and contemporary rooms with great facilities! The staff were very friendly and the food was fab! Well done slaters!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Babyfarmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    33
    12
    8
    6
See reviews for
31
36
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I had a two night weekend stay. After a long drive on slow motorways we received a lovely welcome. Room large, airy, everything we needed, very clean.
Had a meal in the on site restaurant, generous portions and very tasty. Service excellent.
As my husband is disabled mobility is a problem but we were accommodated downstairs for breakfast, everything laid on for us. The staff referred to us as VIP guests as we had the special table by the fire. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Room overlooked garden, very peaceful, no weddings that weekend.
Would definitely stay again. Craft village on site has wonderful boutiques and gift shops

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Let me start by saying the food and pub are great - the rooms on the other hand are not so good. Waited 20 minutes at check in while the receptionist chatted on the phone organising a wedding. The rooms are dated and the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything. We had issues with the guest next door at 2am, and could find no-one on site to help. I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATDBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was an overnight to visit a friend and was booked on line. We only paid £30.00 each!! The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has lots of old world charm. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The facilities are good with plenty of hot drinks in the room, iron and ironing board, hair dryer etc.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful (thanks wolverine ) and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast is served in a small quaint nook above the bar with low beams and a view over the courtyard. Plenty of coffee, orange juice, toast, jams and preserves (and extra toast) cereal and all followed by a great full English.
A great overnight stay and would revisit if in the area.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms overlook car park. Venue hosts a lot of weddings so may be noisier then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We found this inn searching on hotels.com and we are very glad we did! It was exactly the atmosphere we were looking for in the countryside of the UK. The room, bar and breakfast room were very charming and served excellent food. The staff were kind, warm and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twosteppin2dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Chose this hotel after reading very poor reviews about the one we were originally booked into. My daughter and I wanted a location close to Monkey Forest and this was perfect. The service and welcome were amazing. We had a fabulous evening meal and breakfast. Staff were very friendly and extremely hard working. Nothing was too much bother for them. would highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had room 1 which overlooked the garden. nice decor and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ely, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is in a lovely setting and is clean and functional. But should really be priced at 70 a night. Nothing wrong at all, just a bit pricey. Breakfast very nice and quiet all night. I would come again if the price was better, or perhaps include dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seany42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
5.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
532 reviews
5.4 mi away
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme Central
Travelodge Newcastle-under-Lyme ...
#3 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
386 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Stoke-on-Trent
9.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Alsager Manor House Hotel
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke-On-Trent Moat House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slater's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slater's Country Inn

Property: Slater's Country Inn
Address: Stone Road | Baldwins Gate, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slater's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Slater's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slater`s Country Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Country Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Newcastle-Under-Lyme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing