We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Mother's Day family meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Slater's Country Inn
Certificate of Excellence
the potteries
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful Mother's Day family meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

Slater's Country Inn was our wedding venue in May 2012, and we could not recommend the team, venue, service, wedding planner (Julie Bray), food or the hotel rooms more. We have visited several times again for food since, and always received a warm welcome and delicious food. Today we went with a party of six to celebrate Mother's Day. Again, we had had an exceptional day, thanks to the team at Slater's. The food was delicious (I seriously need to sample the sticky toffee pudding again, as me and my brother have sampled quite a few of these in our time, yet none as divine as today!). The welcome was as warm and friendly as always, the food was so lovely; served hot, beautifully presented and the atmosphere was wonderful. The staff are relaxed and the level of service cannot be beaten. They are attentive, without being intrusive. My family feel so relaxed there and we always know the food is going to be beautiful. Everywhere is spotless, and the Mother's Day menu was excellent value for money. We enjoyed three hours, in a lovely setting upstairs from the bar area. We had a ten month old baby with us, who we felt comfortable to take with us, and a high chair was waiting for us on arrival. We have noticed that sometimes staff sigh when we appear with a baby, but not at Slater's. We were given a lovely welcome and we have all said what a relaxing and wonderful day we have had. A lovely touch was the bunch of daffodils for the ladies following the meal. I know I will always have a special place in my heart for Slater's Country Inn following our wedding, but today was such a wonderful day and I wouldn't have wanted to spend my first Mother's Day, with my mum and mum-in-law, anywhere else. Thanks again to all the staff at Slater's. Looking forward to that sticky toffee pud again already,

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oneday12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    30
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
26
34
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Went for lunch had to wait an age for staff to come to us and were not friendly at all ,was a little embarrassed as we had friends with us from out of the area,took quite a while for the meal to arrive ,and not very big portions
and we had been telling our friends how nice it was all in all not a great visit ,don't know if it was an off day but will think twice before we take anyone else there.:-(

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank david e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

we have just returned from an overnight stay at slaters,we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist and shown our room which was spacious and clean with a great view over the fields.we had an evening meal in the restaurant which was excellent the service was good staff friendly.breakfast was good with a good selection of cereals etc before a full english breakfast. overall an enjoyablestay and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suem60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after a wedding and all I can say is it was absolutely amazing!! We stayed in one of the cottages and my husband didn't want to leave!! Clean and contemporary rooms with great facilities! The staff were very friendly and the food was fab! Well done slaters!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Babyfarmer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

My husband and I had a two night weekend stay. After a long drive on slow motorways we received a lovely welcome. Room large, airy, everything we needed, very clean.
Had a meal in the on site restaurant, generous portions and very tasty. Service excellent.
As my husband is disabled mobility is a problem but we were accommodated downstairs for breakfast, everything laid on for us. The staff referred to us as VIP guests as we had the special table by the fire. Nothing was too much trouble for them. Room overlooked garden, very peaceful, no weddings that weekend.
Would definitely stay again. Craft village on site has wonderful boutiques and gift shops

Room Tip: Garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Let me start by saying the food and pub are great - the rooms on the other hand are not so good. Waited 20 minutes at check in while the receptionist chatted on the phone organising a wedding. The rooms are dated and the walls are paper thin so you can hear everything. We had issues with the guest next door at 2am, and could find no-one on site to help. I would not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ATDBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

This was an overnight to visit a friend and was booked on line. We only paid £30.00 each!! The hotel is set in lovely grounds and has lots of old world charm. The rooms are clean and well furnished. The facilities are good with plenty of hot drinks in the room, iron and ironing board, hair dryer etc.
The staff at the hotel were very helpful (thanks wolverine ) and nothing was too much trouble.
Breakfast is served in a small quaint nook above the bar with low beams and a view over the courtyard. Plenty of coffee, orange juice, toast, jams and preserves (and extra toast) cereal and all followed by a great full English.
A great overnight stay and would revisit if in the area.

Highly recommend.

Room Tip: rooms overlook car park. Venue hosts a lot of weddings so may be noisier then.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jostto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newcastle-under-Lyme
5.8 mi away
Borough Arms Hotel
Borough Arms Hotel
#2 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Stoke/Trentham Gardens Hotel
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
Holiday Inn Stoke on Trent M6
#4 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
3.5 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Quality Hotel & Leisure Stoke on Trent
7.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Stoke on Trent Moat House
7.5 mi away
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme Hotel
Premier Inn Newcastle Under Lyme...
#1 of 5 in Newcastle-under-Lyme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Slater's Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Slater's Country Inn

Property: Slater's Country Inn
Address: Stone Road | Baldwins Gate, Newcastle-under-Lyme ST5 5ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Newcastle-under-Lyme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Newcastle-under-Lyme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Slater's Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Slater's Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Slater`s Country Hotel Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Country Inn Newcastle-Under-Lyme
Newcastle-Under-Lyme Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing