We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in a great location.”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Colne, Lancs ~ England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in a great location.”
Reviewed 21 May 2011

This is a beautiful hotel in a prime location just a minute from the lake and lovely restaurants/bars. This boutique hotel really does deserve its 5star rating, the rooms are finished to a very high standard and all the staff were very helpful and polite. We stayed in a luxury room (12) and received comp champagne and handmade chocs which went down well whilst watching one of the free dvds from the hotels large collection. The breakfast was excellent and of the highest quality. We are now starting to save for a stay in the sanctuary !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon in The Sanctuary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    207
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
27
1,386
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 May 2011

Had an excellent two night stay to celebrate my birthday. The staff were all extremely helpful and polite and the breakfastswere great. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snabsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I had a wonderful break at the cranleigh. Great rooms ( but it would be good it there was a fridge and safe) excellent helpfull staff. Rooms and provisions are of a very high standard. Breakfast was first class. Great location. If I ever go back to the lakes I will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bell80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for your review. Two of our suites have mini fridges. We are looking into providing safes at the moment. We hope to see you again the next time you are in the Lakes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2011

Myself an my partner stayed for one night in April. The room was beautiful. We stayed in the suite we had our own entrance and patio. The jacuzi bath was also fab. Would i go again? Yes but only if I came into some money, thought the price for one night was a bit steep even if the rooms were first class think they could put the price down a bit.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank radiclecick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 May 2011
Thank you for noticing the quality of our rooms. Are prices are very competitive for the area. Quality accommodation does unfortunately come at a premium in the Lake District. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2011

We spent 4 nights at The Cranleigh, and without doubt it was one of the best places we have ever stayed.
Literally one minute walk to the centre of Bowness, but in a really quiet area ideal for a relaxing time.
The standard of cleanliness, decor and comfort were all we hoped for - the service was so good it wasn't even noticeable.
Breakfast was a treat and it really set us up for each day.
We would recommend The Cranleigh to any discernng couple who want to be pampered, we are sure they would not be dissappointed.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2011

A well located hotel with comfortable rooms, room 6, has a nice sized bathroom, although the shower door could do with an adjustment as it leaks a little leaving a large puddle over the floor!
Excellent breakfast, freshly prepared, which makes a change from the ubiquitous buffet style of most hotels.
Not sure if the hotel has air conditioning, but we nearly needed it such was the beautiful hot weather, not sure that can be said for most visit to the lakes? As mentioned the weather was hot, there is nowhere to sit outside to catch the evening sun, except on the hotel frontage which is by the main road.
The Belfield next door has excellent views of the lake to have a sundowner at, but don't bother with the food I had a soup and sandwhich, something to be forgotten.
This was our first visit to the lakes and we enjoyed it thoroughly. Try The Postilion restaurant, excellent food and wine list.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark3767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayrshire
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Stayed two nights in room five. Received a warm welcome on checking in. We were taken to our room and shown all the gadgets. The room was luxurious and cleanliness excellent. Bathroom was stocked with high quality toiletries fluffy towels and bathrobes. Spa bath was amazing. Lovely lighting surrounded it and the tv was a bonus. So relaxing. Beds were turned down each evening and chocolate mints left on the pillow as well as little glass bottles of water on the bedside tables. Such nice touches. Breakfast was very good with a full menu and a choice of cereals fresh fruit and yoghurts. Service was prompt and unobtrusive. A beautiful place. Quiet area but shops and restaurants are nearby. Would highly recommend and hope to visit again soon.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ayrfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing