We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in england!!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best hotel in england!!”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Me and my partner stayed at the cranleigh on sunday 3rd july after winning a free night on facebook and would love to go back again! The hotel was fantastic and cannot, in my opinnion, be faulted. It was so easy to get to and find. Check in was effortless and the room was ready and waiting for us when we got there, despite the fact that we were early! We stayed in the sanctuary room which i have already recommended to friends and family-it was fantastic. Everything was so clean and staff so friendly and happy to help. The outdoor hot tub was pure luxury- it felt as if we were abroad for the night! There were many great resturants within walking distance which were very hard to chose from! We retuned from out meal to a bed that had been turned down- with chocolates on the bed and cold bottles of water. It seems that the attenion to detail that had been displayed was second to none. Breakfast was delivered to the room in the morning which was fantastic. We were sad to leave and could have easily stayed a few more nights! We will definately be returning again soon! A fantastic hotel!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,682 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,391
    207
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
28
1,386
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
bolton le sands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

Staff friendly helpful & courteous. Breakfast brilliant, The sanctuary - Wow! Can't fault it we will be back again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickmoore11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2011

My husband & I recently returned from a 4 night break at the Cranleigh - the standard of the accommodation was excellent, the staff friendly & helpful & the breakfast superb! Would highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Armson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you had a great stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

The Cranleigh was very over rated and the previous reviews were very misleading.

We were in room 16, which was always hot and stuffy and quite cramped. The view was out to a car park and the back of an old run down hotel.

Spend your money more wisely by investing in a more classic Lakeland B&B.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank WorldGlobetrotter_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. I have spoken to my management in detail about your stay with us. On checking out of The Cranleigh after your four nights with us you were asked the question "was everything ok?" to which your response was "everything was fine apart from next time we stay we will book a room at the front of the hotel so the sun is not on the room". Therefore your dissatisfaction with The Cranleigh was not expressed at this time or any other time during your stay.

I am aware that you thought the room was too hot and that you could not turn the towel rail off in the bathroom (the moment you mentioned this to us we had someone come over and turn it off for you, all bathroom rails have their own thermostatic control that can easily be turned on or off). They are duel fuel towel rails which means they have the ability to be on in the summer when the rest of the heating is off. This is for the customers convenience so that the towels are dry and nice and warm when you have used the bath or shower in the room, most customers see the benefit in this.

You have graded us 2 out of 5 for service and which is clearly inaccurate. I have also looked at your profile on Tripadvisor and you have placed 5 reviews, 4 of which you have had negative experiences and 1 of which you had a good experience at somewhere in the Lake District that is not highly thought of. You mention that people should look for a more classic guesthouse, if this is what you were looking for, I don't understand why you booked the Cranleigh as we are a modern luxury guesthouse and would certainly not fall under the category of classic which is clearly shown throughout our website. May I suggest to you on this occasion you have chosen something that is not to your taste and have unfortunately responded with a negative review on Tripadvisor which I believe to be unfair. We do hope however, that next time you visit the Lake District you find your ideal accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A fabulous 2 night break with my wife to celebrate our Silver Wedding. It couldn't have been better. Friendly and helpful reception, amazing room, great breakfast. We will be returning. Thankyou Cranleigh.

Room Tip: Check out the web site, all the rooms look amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2011

we stayed here for our first anniversary, which was a surprise gift for him. From the moment I booked the superior room and room 18 sanctuary suite, the hotel manager provided the best and most personal service i have ever experienced. The emails were written individually to me and not just a copy and paste job, and they helped me arrange many surprises for my boyfriend as we were staying there for our 1st anniversary. On arrival i was reassured that all my arranged surprises were lined up and all staff were aware that he knew nothing of these and wouldn't find out. Our superior room 15 was wonderful, full of gadgets and luxury and perfectly clean. The sanctuary suite 18 was the big treat of our stay there and the only way to describe this amazing suite is OUT OF THIS WORLD....an absolutely perfect romantic suite, and like nothing I have ever experienced. Well worth the money I paid and the surprises i had planned were all ready for us returning to the hotel in he afternoon. The manager was also aware of surprises that were planned for me and didn't give anything away so i was also treated to my treats that I wasn't expecting. If you want luxury, perfection and romance this is the hotel for you.

Room Tip: superior room, but the sanctuary suite - AMAZING!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SJTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
We thank you for your amazing review. We pride ourselves on providing the best service we possibly can and are constantly focussed on exceeding customers expectations. If there is anything we can do to make your experience even better at The Cranleigh we will. It was a pleasure looking after you and we hope to se you again sometime soon. The Cranleigh Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2011

My husband booked us into the Hideaway at the Cranleigh as a surprised night away for our honeymoon. It was breathtaking! Absolutely divine! The room was gorgeous and the decor was really modern. The Hideaway itself was superbly designed and had everything you could want. A huge TV in the lounge area which also had a mini bar, ice bucket, lemon/lime slicer & tray, DVD player & magazines. The sleeping area had a huge bed with the most exquisite dressing table and mirror (I wanted to take them home!). There was also a DVD player in the sleeping area. There is a free DVD library of over 200 DVD's too! The bathroom was my favourite part with a double shower encased in glass and a double spa bath with mood lighting, pillows and a tv on the wall! It was perfect for the occasion. We were out in the evening and when we returned to the Hideaway, the staff had done a turn down for us. Basically, tidied up the Hideaway, changed towels we'd used and restocked anything we had used. They also left a complimentary bottle of water on each bedside table. We ordered our breakfast to be brought to the room at 9.15 and it arrived on the dot! Perfectly cooked and everything was still hot. The staff were so lovely too. We didn't want to leave! We will definitely stay at the Cranleigh again and try out another suite - hopefully the Sanctuary.....

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eastwoods2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 10 July 2011
Thank you for such a wonderful review on The Cranleigh. The Hideaway suite is one of the most popular rooms and has all the extras. We hope you do come back and try out The Sanctuary. The Cranleigh Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing