We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally Fabulous”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
cumbria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Totally Fabulous”
Reviewed 26 July 2011

My husband and I had an opportunity to have a night away without our two young children and wanted to stay someone very special for the occasion. The Cranleigh was absolutely perfect for a romantic escape, even if it was only for 24hours. We stayed in The Sanctury. As soon as you walk through the door you know you have arrived into luxury. The suite is beautifully decorated, extremely spacious and oozes comfort and opulence! We are not really hot tub fanatics, but after sitting on the
private terrace sipping champagne for a little while temptation got the better of us and we took a dip! The staff at the Cranleigh are extremely helpful, friendly and attentive. The champagne we ordered arrived within minutes, perfectly chilled! The Cranleigh breakfast was also fabulous! A freshly cooked breakfast with good quality ingredients and beautifully presented - excellent!
Whatever the occasion, the Cranleigh is definitely the place to stay in Bowness! We would recommend it for so many reasons, but principally because we recieved such a walm welcome, we had excellent service and our suite was simply gorgeous! It's also good value for money! We've paid a lot more to stay in hotels that were not as good as here! Don't miss out and Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wrigley41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    207
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,368
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2011

We booked this hotel due to the reviews on trip advisor and the great website it has which lets you choose the room you would like. Started great, after a long journey up to Bowness we had our bags carried up to the room for us. We happened to mention that we had got married the night before and within 10 minutes of settling into the room we had champagne and chocolates delivered courtesy of the hotel. What a wonderful surprise. Room was amazing with the most comfortable bed ever. Bathroom with the TV and jacuzzi bath was fantastic and brilliant after a day of walking. The Cranleigh is really well positioned and within walking distance of the Lake and town centre. Breakfast was delicious. We will hopefully be returning to The Cranleigh some day. Also if you like good food try Roberto's and Bodgea which are just down the street, food so good we are still talking about it now!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at the Cranleigh for 3 nights in June as part of our UK road trip .
The staff were friendly - even did some laundry for us. Breakfast was excellent, room was spotless, a wee bit smaller than I expected, but had everything we needed. There had been a fire at the spa location so weren't able to use those facilities which was disappointing.
The town and lake was 5 minutes walk away, great place for explorring the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yaksbunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

This was our 2nd trip to the Cranleigh and yet again we were not disappointed, lovely rooms, excellent service and wonderful breakfast, within walking distance to main attractions, near to many fantastic eating places, you can't go wrong

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jmdrummond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Have been to the lakes before and thoroughly enjoy being there, but the stay at the Cranleigh Hotel made this stay extra special. From the moment we entered the Cranleigh to the moment we left, the service was fantastic. the staff are so helpful and friendly and the room was beautiful and spotlessly clean. Everything had been thought of, from a list of places to eat along with phone numbers, to the bottles of water on the side table and chocolates on the pillow. the breakfast was exceptional with a good choice to suit everyone, even my fussy husband! Highly recommended, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambrettadoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I stayed in room 5 at the Cranleigh with my partner for his birthday. We have stayed at many b&b's in Windermere in the past but wanted something a bit more "special" and the Cranleigh was certainly that. On arrival the reception staff were lovely and friendly and showed us straight to our room. We had pre booked champagne and rose petals for the bed which added that extra special feel to the room when we arrived. The room was clean and well presented with a gorgeous en suite bathroom. The hotel is perfectly situated in the heart of the town with great restaurants and bars within walking distance. We had a great nights sleep in the most comfortable bed. Breakfast in the morning was equally as good with a great choice of menu and excellent service. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody wanting an extra special night away as the Cranleigh will certainly deliver this.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlemisslfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire, UK
Level Contributor
288 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 357 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

The good:- Centrally located, nice breakfast, clean.
The bad:- Firstly, the spa slot we prebooked was cancelled as the spa was closed due to fire. We were not offered the use of an alternative hotel. There never seemed to be anyone on the reception desk or answering phone when you needed assistance, we had to wait while someone came. Carparking at the front and back of the hotel is very limited. Overflow carpark in the Bellfield hotel behind is a good 200yds away and you have to carry bags up a hill. Hotel unwilling to let us have the champagne and chocs (prebooked package) when we wanted it, we were told they'd be delivered at 7pm (we were going out at that time and wanted them earlier). We had to wait until the next night for them to arrive at a more reasonable time. No fridge in room. We had room 8 and it was stiflingly hot - had to open windows and then it was like sleeping on the M1. Builders started banging early outside the front door (we were not pre-warned of this). No hairdryer. Thin walls between rooms, could hear neighbour snoring. No bath, only a shower. Nowhere to sit outside and enjoy our champagne (when we finally got it). All in all, there must be much better and cheaper places to stay (paid £200 for 2 nights inc champagne, chocs and plastic rose petals on bed). Would not recommend or stay here again.

Room Tip: Go to the Bellfield hotel behind, get a drink at the bar and sit in the beer garden that overlooks t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 21 July 2011
We are sorry that you haven't enjoyed your stay with us at The Cranleigh but glad you noticed our excellent location, breakfast and how clean we keep our establishment. `We are very proud of our team and their commitment to our customers. As per my email I have sent you we were very sorry that we were unable to send yourselves and our other customers to the Old England spa due to the fire that happened 3 days before you arrived, unfortunately this was out of our control and it was only a few days later that an alternative was found.
With regards to car parking, we do mention that car parking is on and off site which is about 200 yds away in a neighbouring hotel car park. Car Parking is limited in the Bowness and Windermere area so we are fortunate to provide all of our guests somewhere to park.
The reception is manned between 8am and 11pm each day and if we are not available it is due to helping other guests or other duties that the reception staff undertake. There is a bell on reception if our guests require assistance but you mentioned that you didn't see this initially.
The champagne and chocolates can be delivered anytime but when you asked when they would arrive (a time which wasn't suitable for you as you were going out) we offered you an alternative time on the following day.
Our website details all elements of the rooms including bathrooms and the amenities in the bedrooms, none of our rooms have fridges but all of our rooms have hairdryers and we could have made sure you had one during your stay. All of these items are checked on a daily basis to make sure they are in the room. Room 8 which is a superior room does not have a bath and again this is detailed on the website.
During your stay we had the front garden area landscaped with a new patio area for our guests to enjoy, unfortunately this was not available because the work was in progress so we apologise that you weren't able to sit outside and enjoy your champagne.
You mentioned the room was very hot and we do provide floor standing fans in all of our bedrooms and we could have brought another one if you had wanted.
Your 2 night stay was £199 including the champagne, chocolates and rose petals (which are silk not plastic) which I would think was very reasonable for 5* accommodation in the Lake District.
To summarise, The Cranleigh was not for you and we accept that. However if we can please 99% or more of our customers we believe we are doing something right. We have a consistent improvement programme in The Cranleigh where all our staff are involved to keep the
standards as high as possible these meetings take place every week.
Regards,
Emma Johnson, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing