We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loverly hotel but fire alarm in our room which was very annoying.”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Loverly hotel but fire alarm in our room which was very annoying.”
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Hi we stayed there for just 1 night in room 6 and the fire alarm must have gone off 5 time which you could imagine was annoying to say the least. We were there to unwind so were just relazing on the bed an every time the alarm went off they were knocking on the door so we would have to make our selfs decent. There was no apology but they were funny with us as if it was us setting the alarm off it was very annoying. Apart from that the hotel was wonderfull.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2010frauke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 August 2011
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the fire alarm disturbed you during your stay. Unfortunately we had a faulty sensor that had to be replaced. As soon as we were aware their was a fault we called an engineer out to fix the problem. We are happy to hear that you thought The Cranleigh was wonderful and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,377
    207
    66
    15
    3
See reviews for
26
1,375
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

A fabulous place. The cosiness of a B&B with outstanding luxury hotel faciilities. Breakfast was exceptional. Staff were excellent. Room facilities were faultless. We stayed for 2 nights to celebrate my birthday and had a wonderful time. Would love to return and would not hesitate to reccommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidayaddict23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Lovely clean, comfortable rooms. Well cooked breakfast. Friendly helpful staff. All the little touches that make a hotel somewhere you'd want to return to like DVD players in the rooms and (very helpful considering the weather in the lakes) umbrellas in the rooms for guests to use during their stay. Couldn't fault it at all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limerick
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

This is an excellent place to stay. Its very central with lovely rooms and a great breakfast. Within walking distance of loads of restaurants. The staff and manger were excellent and very wecoming and accomadating. I definately hope to go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandraBLimerick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We stayed at The Cranleigh for four nights following our wedding and it couldn't have been more perfect. We had booked the Hideaway, but on arrival were upgraded free to The Sanctuary. This room is absolutely amazing, so many special features, such a relaxing atmosphere and as it is separate from the main hotel feels very private. The hot tub was a real treat! The breakfast was excellent, lots of choice and was delivered to the room every morning at a time of our choosing and the evening turning down service, we thought, was a lovely touch. The staff were extremely friendly and very helpful, not that we had many queries as there was ample information in the room about all the services and features. We hope very much to stay at The Cranleigh again in the near future.

Room Tip: The Sanctuary is a lovely quiet and private room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SweetBee79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 August 2011

We had 4 lovely nights at the Cranleigh,we had picked Room 15 but were upgraded to Room 16 with a lovely Jacuzzi bath with integrated T.V on the wall. Friendly staff,immaculately clean rooms with very individual themes in each room. Turn down service in the evening with a bottle of water and a wee chocolate on your bed was a really nice touch.As for the breakfasts,where do I start? Very friendly,attentive staff,nothing was too much trouble.My husband loved the Full English breakfast every morning,again immaculate presentation and very quick service.
Only minus was the lady in the room next door using her Jacuzzi bath from 11pm until midnight on our last night! Overall,a brilliant short break,we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EdinburghMarion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwynedd, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

Having decided at the last minute to spend a night away, the Cranleigh did not disappoint!! Having looked at various options on where to stay, I am so glad we decided on the Cranleigh.
From the minute we arrived we were impressed. Check-in was as smooth as can be and we were escorted to our room. Having chosen a luxury room from the impressive in-depth videos on their website, the room was as wonderful as it had looked on the video.
Had a lovely meal out at a local restaurant which had also been recomended by the receptionist. Returning to the hotel we took advantage of their impressive DVD collection (an added bonus!!). Breakfast was relaxed and both food and service was great.
Have stayed a few times in Bowness over the years, but will definitely be returning to the Cranleigh in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oatsy186451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,343 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,853 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,378 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing