We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anniversary surprise”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2011

wow. stayed in the hideaway for one night for our anniversary. The room lived upto expectations, the web site did the room justice. Attention to detail and service from the staff was fantastic, they couldn't do enough for you. I would recommend this hotel for anyone wanting a romatic break in style, if you want to spend that little extra it is well worth it. The location of the hotel is spot on with a small amble into the centre. We will definately be looking to return in the future. Only minor grumble was there is no window to open in the hideaway as it is situated on the lower floor, with patio doors as your access.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MRJOEL70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,717)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,717 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

 My fiancée and I stayed in Suite 10 at The Crainleigh Hotel and absolutely loved it!    The hotel is Ideally located - two minute walk from the village and lake side.  The room was fantastic, tasteful decor, jacuzzi bath with tv in the bathroom, iPod docking station, dvd player.  We really did feel like we we're being looked after by the staff from the minute we arrived and breakfast was delicious - just what you need to begin the day.  This was our first night away together without our 15 month old Son and we wanted to stay somewhere that was just that little bit special - the Crainleigh certainly meet our needs - Luxurious.   Definitely recommend. Can't wait to go back. :)

Room Tip: Recommend suite 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaDomski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

The Cranleigh bed and breakfast is great for a romantic weekend. It is a B&B bordering on a hotel. But, when you stay for 10 days, you start to notice things like: No hooks on the doors in the bedroom, which would have been useful to hang clothes on as there was little space to hang clothes. The receptionists were always welcoming and helpful, and when I mentioned the hooks I was told they were being done, and that they would make our room a priority - it never happened. The Italian bathroom appliances are very chic and watching TV in the bath was a sloth's delight!! In my view things that would make a big difference are:
1. A bidet in the bathroom
2. Flexible shower to compliment the 'drench' square fixed shower
3. Small fridge to put the 'free' water and £9.50 small box of hand made chocolates in.
4. Room service offering light snacks.
5. Hooks on the doors.
6. I am sure that shampoo and bath/shower gel are the same, but the restock we got was all shampoo, conditioner and body lotion but no bath/shower gel. attention to detail is so important to relaxing.
7. We started off with two flannels in our room, then, one flannel then no flannels and then had to ask.

The rooms were cleaned well except my partner found an old rose petal under the bed and remarked that it was 'paper'. They do a turn-down service each evening and leave a bear you can buy on the bed at £34ish, a complimentary choccie and a small bottle of water. The luxury turn down (which we didn't have includes the box of chocolates, a bottle of champagne and the bed sprinkled with rose petals for c£52) and I think the rose petal my partner found was from a previous luxury turn down. The cost for our room worked out at £130 a night.

Breakfast:
Breakfast was good except the service could have been better.
Attention to detail:
1. When more toast is required the butter situation needs to be checked too.
2. I do not like people hovering over me with my hot breakfast waiting for me to finish my grapefruit. I felt hurried.
3. On more than one occasion we had to help ourselves to napkins on other tables as ours was missing - this also applied to butter.
4. When I asked if they had 'Marmite' we were given two small jars of marmalade.
5. The juice choice could be improved with the offering of Cranberry juice. (Cranleigh Cranberrry?)

The hotel is well positioned and within easy walking distance of the centre of Bowness, pier for ferries etc.

Just a quick bit about the 'spa'
The Olde England Hotel spa
"The good thing about staying at the Cranleigh is that you get admission to the spa at the Old England hotel on the lake. Here we spent a couples day being pampered (I wouldn't recommend a manicure there, the beautician wasn't paying enough attention to my nails, and the first thing she did was cut my little finger between the nail and skin with the emery board. which made it bleed (and hurt like hell) and the 'Jessica' polish only stayed on 3 days). The weather was glorious, and so we took our lunch on the terrace overlooking the lake. The bar inside the Olde England hotel was a bit stale. The food was good."

Room Tip: Room 14 was fine with a huge bed, not in the main building but next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qixu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

It was our first visit to the Lake District, the scenery was outstanding,truly beautiful and the icing on the cake was staying at the Cranleigh. All the rooms were trendy,modern,spotlessly clean and comfortable.The staff could not do enough for you, they were friendly,helpful,cheerful and we couldn't wait to get back to the lovely log fire after a full day out. It was a truly memorable experience,the breakfast was delicious and it was home from home. We have stayed in a great number of hotels both in England and abroad and this beats them all on all counts. The staff in our eyes were the best on the planet-so we've booked again for next year. Michaela, save some logs for us!!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

We stayed at the Cranleigh for one night for a birthday treat.Everything about the hotel is first class, from arriving with the helpful staff to the beautiful decor of the whole hotel.The room was well equipped and very luxurious.
Only two minute walk into Bowness is ideal for shops, bars and restaurants.
Without a doubt wouldn't even look for another hotel in that area as everything was perfect.
Would definetly recommend to family & friends.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Very well decorated room, modern with big screen tv. Very clean, we went out for a meal and staff re-cleaned the room ready for when we got back later in the evening which was great. Very friendly an helpful staff. Would definitley stay there again and plan on visiting later in the winter. Great location for visiting Windermere as it's right on the doorstep

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philcook1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

We visited Bowness and The Lake District as part of our two week tour in August.

We really enjoy it.

The hotel is compact for the size of room and we were expecting more for the amount we paid for the size but being from Indonesia using pounds is expensive. There was not bath tub but i think confusion from the booking website say have it. The cupboard smell a bit damp and not very big.

The hotel staff could not be more welcoming, one of the staff even talk in Indonesia language to us and this was so much of a suprise I even tell my friend now about this. Even put Indonesian coffee and drink in our room.

The area have many thing to do and we enjoy this lovely place.

Thank you especially Antony for all your help when we stay and for advice.

Kartika Jakarta.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kartika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £119 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing