We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding in every way, 5 star plus.”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Outstanding in every way, 5 star plus.”
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We stayed in rooms 12 and 16 at the cranleigh and they were beautiful, spacious, outstanding rooms. We had a king-size bed and the bathroom had a lovely spa bath. The rooms were immaculate, the breakfast and the choice that came with it was amazing. The staff were the most friendly and help people you would wish to meet. This place is far more than a 5 star hotel and I strongly recommend a stay here, we will most definitely be returning.
It is ideally situated for taking a boat trip on lake windermere, shopping, visiting the beatrix potter experience and dining out in some amazing restaurants, one in particular is highly recommended, an italian called villa positano.
Everything about the cranleigh and were it is situated is perfect.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachcdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    207
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
27
1,386
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

Great location, lovely room, great staff. The attention to every detail made our 2 night stay fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitecat17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We stayed for five nights. We were worried about the weather but we need not have. Our deluxe room had all the cozy facilities even for a rainy day in. We enjoyed the breakfast especially the fresh cut fruits which were delicious. We chose the vegetarian breakfast which meant the same menu everyday but all in all this was ok.The staff were helpful, accommodating and efficient. We liked the choice of restaurants near by and the use of spa facilities although we could not avail of the discount: did not know we have to collect a code for the spa as we read later.The turning down service was a pleasant surprise. There are plenty of good shops and restaurants nearby which was good for spending the evening. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

What can i say, The Cranleigh is a perfect getaway for couples wanting to indulge in a romantic break. We Honeymooned in The Hideaway Suite last year and returned to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary last weekend. The room was still to the same high standard as last year, the staff were helpful and friendly, we couldn't have wanted more from our 2 night stay - apart from staying longer! The Cranleigh is certainly not the cheapest place to stay, however you get what you pay for and we think it's worth every penny. We will be returning for our 2nd anniversary next year, if not before!
ps: The breakfasts are fantastic! :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

fantastic surprise trip away for my birthday in the summer!
spent the evenings going out for dinner and drinks then heading back to our room and ordering a dvd and drinks.. how great is that!!!

The room was one of the more standard rooms - and even then it had everything!! the bathroom was amazing!

the breakfasts were lovely and the coffee was great.

well done to the owners, true gem!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ayr M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

Have just returned from a Weekend stay at The Cranleigh.
My wife and i were taken there by some close friends to celebrate my 70th birthday.

What a Hotel this was, perfect in every way. We stayed in Room 8 and we were not at all upset by this room.
It was clean, spacious full of information on what was available in the area with good advice on where to eat,drink and enjoy your stay.

The staff were pleasant at all times,helpful when they needed to be and in the background in case they were needed. The food was all and more you would expect with the best breakfast i have had in a long time.

Thank you to all at the Cranleigh for helping to make it a birthday to remember.

Room Tip: Just view each room on the website, choose your price and i am sure you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ro8orod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

We booked TheCranleigh for our anniversary having seen the good reviews and we were not disappointed. The room luxuriously furnished, comfortable and snug, the only critism would be the lack of wardrobe space. The bathroom was excellent with large shower, spa bath complete with tv to watch, the toiletries were of a high standard and replaced daily. A nightly "turndown" service made it feel like a luxury 5* hotel. I would definitely recommend The Cranleigh for that personal touch.

Room Tip: Check out the video tours although it's a tough decision they all looked fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollymist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing