We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 40th birthday treat!!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2012

With my husbands 40th birthday being so close to xmas (16th dec) we wanted to getaway somewhere relaxing but stay in this country..The Cranleigh was the perfect choice!

We arrived early and wanted to explore bowness so hoped the hotel would let us park our car as check in wasnt until 3pm. We entered the hotel reception to a wondefully cosy fire and friendly reception staff, we were told our room would be ready at 3pm and that we could park our car right outside our room as we had booked The Sanctury...excellent! On arrival at the room one of the hotel staff escorted us to our room to show us around...on a cold december afternoon the fire was welcoming, music playing and mood lighting set the tone. This room is wonderful! Huge tv, bose surround sound, a bathroom to die for and outside the hottub ready and waiting. The hot tub was just the right temp and we sat there drinking champagne until dark. The hot tub has a canopy over it so even if it rains..or snows as it did in our case its not a bother. We planned to go out in the evening but we didnt want to leave so ordered a takeaway (the Cranleigh doesnt have an evening restaurant) and hopped back in the tub.

Im quite picky when it comes to beds and bed sheets but i slept really well and the pillows excellent! Breakfast was delivered to the room and this was amazing, my only complaint was that the full breakfast did not come with toast..and that is my only complaint of the whole stay!! This place is truely wonderful! My husband did say id excelled myself this time...finding an excellent gem! i hope to return to the cranleigh one day, just to drink champagne in the hot tub whilst the snow is falling. Thankyou Cranleigh!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sooziefloozie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,740)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,387 - 1,393 of 1,740 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay for my husbands 40th . Will definitely go again. Stayed in room 6 , lovely decor , spa bath with tv all mod cons . Staff were so lovely and helpful . Champagne delivered to room was lovely , breakfast fantastic . Couldn't find a single fault with The Cranleigh .

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dougall01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

What a hotel we always come to windermere and usally stay at Michelin rated hotels but now we have found this hidden gem we will always stay at The Cranleigh.Staff, rooms, service all wonderful and couldnt believe the value for money, cant wait to come back.

Room Tip: We stayed in room five and it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andymac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

The only 'But' we have is the noise from traffic at the front of the hotel, very noticeable as we needed to keep the window open to cool our room through the night.
Issue is the road noise from the street outside. If we stayed in the summer when the rooms are warmer and the roads allot busier we would ask for a rear facing room.
Appart from that thanks for a great weekend my wife loves her new Huggy Bear!

Room Tip: Road noise is an issue especially in busy summer months, consider a rear facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Lovely room, lovely staff, lovely breakfast ...simply beautiful!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We had a two night stay in room 11. First class accommodation, very clean and very well presented. The bed was extremely comfortable and the bathroom was an absolute delight. Breakfast was fabulous. Location is excellent, 2 minutes walk from the centre of Bowness. Parking was good, staff were very polite and friendly. We will definitely be going back. It is without a doubt a real touch of luxury.
It is more of a guest house than a hotel as I consider a hotel to have a restaurant and lounge bar. But it is a very up market Guest House.
The Spa at Old England Hotel (2 minutes walk) is very good but it can get busy. I recommend the ICE room!!!
Overall a magical experience, the best accommodation I have stayed at in the Lakes!

Room Tip: Room 11 is on the 3rd floor of the second building accessed via 2 flights of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The Cranleigh offers boutique style accommodation with yummy, filling breakfasts and excellent staff who seek to take care of your every need. With a 5 minute walk to the restaurants, shops and the lake The Cranleigh also offers the perfect location.
This was our second stay and it won't be our last,

Room Tip: All great although room 5 can expereince a little noise from the kitchen in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
503 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,037 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £128 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing