We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 9 December 2012

The hotel friendly staffs were responsive and happy to serve. They were also knowledgeable and reliable.
They cleaned my room twice during the evening, and rose petals were spread each time. The privilege to use the spa from Old England hotel (which has a proper sauna and a warm swimming pool) was also a big plus.
The breakfast was served with fresh ingredient and taste was unrivaled.

I did not like their shower so much as the head was fixed to the ceiling and the water pressure was not very high. But this could just be my preference

Definitely recommended!

Room Tip: room I stayed (2nd floor) was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasogareyuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 10 December 2012
Thank you very much for your kind comments. We hope you visit us again soon.

For future guests:

As we write this we have a promotional offer on if you are a follower of The Cranleigh on Facebook. Take a look if you are looking for accommodation December 2012 or January 2013
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights 28th- 30th Nov in a superior room (room13). From the minute we arrived to the minute we left it was truly fantastic. Lovely warm greeting upon arrival making us instantly feel very welcome and pleased to be there. Our room was excellent and oh the bathroom...! I was so impressed with the little extra thoughts/additions right down to the little pots of 'essentials' in the bathroom. The location is superb and the town itself is delightful. Would highly recommend 'The Angel' pub for some Gastropub type dining and 'The Postilion' for a cosy/romantic restaurant meal.
Talking of food, the breakfast at The Cranleigh is awesome! Great to know its all locally sourced but ultimately the choice is great as is the fact that whilst they have a menu, they will make you any combination of the items on the menu that you wish for....and the organic bread/toast is just divine!!!
There was a power cut on our 2nd morning leaving them incapable of cooking our breakfast which is absolutely no fault of the hotel but they almost fell over themselves to apologise and to try and find a way to get us something to eat! Personally I felt sorry for them having to deal with the cold and try to prepare for the next raft of guests without any power/heating.
All in all a truly lovely break at a little rarity of a hotel that I will ensure I get to stay at again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sarah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights on the 4th and 5th of December, in the Hideaway suite.
This place is well worth the money. On arrival we were welcomed by friendly reception staff, and a blazing log fire in the lounge.
We were shown to the room, which is down some external steps, it has a private entrance, on to a small patio area, to the rear of the hotel.
The room itself is stunning, decorated to a high standard, with an extremely comfy sofa in the living area, and a huge TV.
The bedroom is nicely sectioned off with a mirrored feature in the centre of the room, the bed is huge and comfy, perfect after a long day in the Lakes.
The bathroom is beautiful, with a double shower, and a huge double spa bath. All with interesting light features and a tv over the bath.
The breakfasts were plentiful and really tastey. You can tell that quality products are used to produce the breakfast, and all delivered to the room by friendly staff, for no extra charge.
I received a complimentary bottle of champagne as part of my booking, which was delivered to the room within a matter of minutes of ordering it. A nice box of chocolates waited for us on our first day.

The room was cleaned to an exceptional standard, everything was thoroughly cleaned on our second day, we went out as the maid was arriving, and about an hour later I returned to the room to drop something off, and she was still there working away. The effort that must go into keeping this place ship shape is extraordinary.

The hotel is in a perfect location for the lakes, about 2 minutes steady walk into the main town. Loads of different pubs, bars and restaurants are within the same distance.
The whole stay was perfect, I can't think of anywhere with the same character and appeal as the Cranleigh.
We will definitely be going back at some point!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyDurant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

My fiancé booked the hideaway as a last minute surprise and it was absolutely stunning.we will definately be staying again! The attention to detail is second to none to make your stay as pleasurable as possible.cant wait for the return visit!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockstar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Great location close to the lake and town, with lots of good eating places and a good pub opposite. We were in the adjoining building which maybe is a disadvantage as it feels a bit out of the hotel. VERY comfortable soft and huge bed, VERY whizzy bathroom with coloured lights under the water of the bath, jacuzzi, inbuilt TV in the wall at the foot of the bath. Liked the novelty of it but all the controls could be a bit stressful if you are seeking a low-tech experience. Great breakfast with wonderful porridge and duck eggs/asparagus etc or other options. Seemed to be a hotel with lots of under 30s couples staying there when we were there but the staff were very friendly and welcoming so we relative oldies didn't feel too out of place.

Room Tip: Go for a room in the main part of the hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alison22Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 December 2012 via mobile

What can I say about the hideaway?..lovely room and features, decor fab, jacuzzi bath was to die for. Service with a smile and breakfast delivered to room was quality. Will we be back?..I think so! ..wish it was sooner!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Three-Jumps-To-Go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

My now fiancee and I stayed here as part of an Itison offer, which was unbelievably good value for money. We found everything about The Cranleigh just right. The central location, understated but classy decor, friendly and accommodating staff, lovely breakfast, complimentary tea and coffee and the beautiful extra touches (including the turndown service with rose petals and chocolates, the option of a DVD library, access to the pool and spa at the nearby hotel and the drinks service to your room). We got engaged in our first of two nights and the champagne ordered to our room when we arrived back at night was a lovely way to finish off a very special day. We will be back to the Cranleigh there is no doubt about it! We would totally recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Couldn't comment about other rooms but Room 4 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlsgwandEdAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing