We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranleigh Boutique
Nearby Hotels
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$180
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$240
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$278
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$248
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Linthwaite House(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
White Lodge Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveller rating
1,454
213
78
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,454
213
78
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingair spa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictlake cruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,221 - 1,226 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Cranleigh last week (Dec 2012) and really didnt want to leave! Everything about this hotel is lovely, the rooms are Devine and the maid service is brilliant, the rooms were always made up beautifully and the little extra touches like turn down chocolates and bath robes just made it feel ultra luxurious!
The Breakfasts were unreal, fresh fruit salad, cereal, pastries and continental meats were just to start....you then had an offering of freshly made bread (walnut and honey was my favourite!) followed by toast and a selection of hot breakfasts including, eggs benedict, full English, smoked salmon, porridge etc..
To top this off, the staff were all delightful and exceptionally helpful...they even have restaurant menus for all the local restaurants so you can scope out where you want to have dinner without leaving your hotel room!
All in all a fantastic hotel and one we will definitely be returning to next year!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012 via mobile

Friendly and helpful staff and lovely modern rooms. It really was a home away from home. It's close to the lake and all shops and amenities. Breakfast was also nice. I wouldn't say it's cheap but it's not overly expensive. Will stay again recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ollierogers7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Great hotel with lovely staff, especially Eleana the receptionist, she was knowledgeable to have a chat with, very efficient, helpfull and nothing any problem to her !

Rooms are very well appointed and comfortable,. We were shown round the Sanctuary ,, looks great !!

Breakfast choices were good. My partner especially enjoyed the big plate of porridge before his big breakfast ::))). Nice girls serving up breakfast to.

Small lounge area with cozy fire burning, nice for a coffee or drink on coming or going from hotel. Bowness 2 min walk down hill and yes we shall return again hopefully in Spring. Would certainly recommend to stay here if u are in the area.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatarsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

Heard about the Cranleigh by a work mate, so checked it out and decided on a short December break. We were not disappointed in the least! Friendly staff who go the extra mile, little touches that made it special and worthy of its 5*. Room 7 was the room we chose, as it was cosy and had a lake view, in part. Champagne and chocolates greeted us on arrival. Super breakfast too, especially the porridge! Lovely coffee by a roaring open fire after a challenging shopping day was welcoming. All in all a great little treasure of a place right on our doorstep. (We live 35 miles away!!) Hope to have a return trip next year!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shemich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed at the Cranleigh for one night in December 2012, recommended by my sister and brother-in-law. The hotel is beautifully decorated, we stayed in Room 9, which did not disappoint. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean, the spa bath in the bathroom was amazing and the television in the bathroom was a lovely addition. Breakfast at the Cranleigh was a lovely experience, the menu choice was impressive and the staff from the moment we arrived at the hotel to the moment we left were outstanding. We will definitely be using this as a base each time we visit the lakes and will be treating ourselves to 'The Hideaway' next time. We would recommend the Cranleigh to anyone and have already persuaded a number of friends to book for a trip early next year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Williams654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews