We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cranleigh Boutique
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
The Burn How Garden House Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$189
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$184
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$238
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$411
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$398
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Lindeth Howe(Bowness-on-Windermere)
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Ryebeck(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Storrs Hall(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,769)
Filter reviews
1,769 results
Traveller rating
1,456
214
78
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
1,456
214
78
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsluxury roommood lightingair spa bathsanctuary suiteescape suitelip balmhideout houserose petalstortechampagne on iceteddy bearmy partneripod dockunderfloor heatingon arrivaleggs benedictlake cruise
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,218 - 1,223 of 1,769 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Me and my fiancé stayed in the sanctuary for a romantic mini break.
I was surprised at how friendly the staff were from arrival to departure! A true credit to the hotel as they couldn't do enough for us during our stay!
The room was outstanding!!!!
As soon as we arrived, there was champagne and chocolates awaiting with petals sprinkled over the bed to set the tone.
The heating and range of lighting was just right and added a very cozzy feel to the place.
The glass bath tub is amazing!! And best of all the hot tub outside was very swish with outdoor speakers to play your music from an iPod!!!!!
I was wowed at the choice of breakfast on the menu, as you could also have it in your room!
I loved every minute of being here and would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a relaxing weekend away!
It's close to the centre where we ate at some lovely restaurants and walked peacefully to the lake.
This is definitely a good choice of hotel for a romantic getaway for two!!!!

Room Tip: The sanctuary has a polite notice for noise after 11pm in the hot tub! Also parking can be a little tight at the back.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rafael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Myself and my partner spent 31st December - January 03rd at The Cranleigh seeing the new year in and also my partners birthday being new years day! This was our second visit to this guest house in recent months and believe me the 321.7 mile drive is very much worth it "haha".... firstly the staff are all very attentive and polite "your wish is there command" .... now to the reason we came back the room!! although this is not there top accomadation this is where we have stayed both times room 12, and take it from me its no holiday inn that's for sure! The bed is soooo comfy its made us buy another bed at home because of the dissapoinment of leaving that one when we returned! the bathroom is very swarve its literally as young man myself my sole ambition to have my very own room 12 bathroom just like that one lol! "please note there where two 50p sized holes above the spa bath in the ceiling which rather stuck out in such a nice bathroom (bit of filler guys come on!!) over all can't go wrong if anyone is reading this and likes a modern luxury retreat in the bowness bliss then this is the place to stay!




  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chadd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We booked in the week before for a couple of night stay at The Cranleigh over new year. We were very pleased to find the guest house is very close to the centre and we were lucky to get the last parking space (not sure where we would have parked otherwise?). The building is looks very pretty with some outside space should you get the weather! The lady we met at check in was great and we had a very warm, friendly personal welcome. I have to say that the staff are a credit to this guest house, always very friendly and efficient making you feel very special. We were shown to our room on the first floor (Room 2) which was a lot smaller than I had imagined and without a bath but the design and décor was beautiful and it had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have a large TV for a change! The chocolates were a lovely touch too. When we came down for breakfast on new years day the receptionist had some champagne waiting for us and breakfast was really delicious - again with very attentive, happy staff. we had to change rooms that day (late booking) but we were told just to leave our bags and the staff would move them. Our second room (15) was in the building next door and again small (in fact smaller than the previous room) but was very comfortable and the decor was swish. We had our DVD choice brought to our room and the staff fixed the wifi straight away when there was a connection problem. All in all this is a VERY nice guest house but just a little pricey for their small rooms. I would definitely return but I would book into one of their top spec rooms for a little more room. Thank you to all the staff for a lovely relaxing stay, much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room 2 and Room 15 are a little small.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank karen_newcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Stopped in Room 10 for 2 nights last week between Christmas and New Year. The room was fantastic, especially the double jacuzzi bath with wall mounted television. The location couldn't be better, being literally a 2 minute walk from the centre of Bowness. Breakfast was especially good and the staff were very friendly. One thing to note is that the Ipod dock doesn't support the Ipod Touch, so if you have one, perhaps take your own speakers. In short, a perfect luxurious stay and we will definately return.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulBrown615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Room 10, one of our suites is a very popular and loved room here at The Cranleigh.

We have some great New Year offers on our Website. If you are looking for a luxurious place to stay in Bowness near to The Lake The Cranleigh is the ONLY 5 stay GOLD accommodation provider in the area.

The Cranleigh is affordable luxury at its best. Search The Cranleigh or click the link to our web site at the top of this page.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Great hotel, perfect for a romantic get away. I stayed in room 12 a few weeks ago, the bath is amazing :D The room was immaculate and the staff couldn't do enough to help. Breakfast was delicious too, definitely going back soon :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you for your great comments. We are pleased to hear your romantic stay with us was to your liking. Hope to see you again soon.

18 individual rooms to choose from. Number 1 on Trip Advisor and located perfectly near to Lake Windermere. To see all our rooms and videos click on our web link above.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews