We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly, well located delightful escape.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
-
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, well located delightful escape.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Spent a lovely 3 nights in early March. A very clean, tidy, friendly boutique hotel with charming well appointed bedrooms and bathrooms.

Staff are friendly and attentive, delicious breakfast and is very well positioned being only a short walk into Bowness.

We will be returning at a later date.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Will_Davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    200
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
24
1,344
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

Myself and my other-half can't speak highly enough of the Cranleigh. I read the reviews and had quite high expectations which were all exceeded. The staff all genuinely couldn't do enough for you and are all polite, friendly and professional. The room was spotless, bed was comfortable and had a lovely en-suite shower room. We stayed in a standard room (No 4) and had a view over to the lake which was a really nice surprise. The cooked breakfast was amazing too, nicely cooked not at all greasy and a good selection of cereals, pastries etc.

When we go back to the Lakes we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_Postie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed 3 nights in early March in Room 5. The room had the glam factor plus a super comfy bed and amazing bathroom. Despite normally being shower people, both DH and I were tempted by the spa bath and loved relaxing in it whilst watching TV (the shower was also good though - hot & powerful), The hotel ticked all the boxes in terms of room comfort, good service, tasty breakfasts, proximity to the lake/shops/restaurants & the little extra touches like champagne and chocolates. It is quite expensive, however so we probably wouldn't have stayed without an offer on.

The only downside for us was noise - not so much from other rooms as other reviewers have mentioned, probably because we were at the end of the corridor. But road noise was definitely noticeable and the other thing was that our room was above the dining room where breakfast was served so every morning we were woken up by cutlery & crockery being laid out & chatter. Admittedly, we are quite lazy on mini breaks and like to sleep in until 9am so this wouldn't be a problem for earlier risers but did mean we were woken up around 8.15am every morning.
I think it would help if the hotel added a room map/layout to the site as well as pictures of the rooms. This would enable guests to pick a room that was not front facing if road noise would bother them, or a room in the main building if walking outside to breakfast was a problem, or a room on the top floor if they didn't want to hear people above them etc

Overall we had a lovely stay and enjoyed spending time out in Bowness, on the Lakes and hiring Bikes (we actually got a few days of good weather). We would recommend Porto restaurant to eat at in the evening but book in advance as it is only small. Hotel is great but pick your room carefully and maybe call to ask them for advice if you want to know more about the rooms in advance.

Room Tip: Room 5 was a gorgeous room but it faces the front so does suffer from some road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hellcat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights recently with two friends. We had luxury rooms and really enjoyed the comfort, the ambience (especially the spa bath) and the complimentary champagne - just what we needed after a long walk on the fells. The staff were very friendly and efficient and made us feel "at home". The location was ideal for shops, restaurants and the lake and it was as intimated, only a two minute walk to the spa and pool. We will certainly be making a return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuchewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

I noticed this hotel on Facebook as it is well advertised on there, then ended up booking, so the Facebook advertising works well!

Good points -

Amazing breakfast - probably the best breakfast I've had in a hotel.
Bathroom very modern and clean
Good location, not far to walk to nearby shops
Near to lake
Nice and quiet hotel
nice big comfy bed and lovely bedding

The hotel is lovely, we stayed in a superior double room which was nice. I can't say It was amazing as I have stayed in better places.
If you are wanting pure luxury you must book one of the dearer suites, the Hideaway, Sanctuary or Hideout, as I imagine you will be totally blown away with the quality and will find it amazing. As we stayed in a more "normal" room, it just didn't have the wow factor... it was nice but wasn't anything special. You get what you pay for though and the better suites were far too dear for us.

All in all a nice place to stay though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelchick68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

Me and my wife stayed in the hideaway suite and all we can say is it was absolutely amazing from arriving the staff were first class nothing to much trouble, the suite itself was fantastic especially the spa bath was a very nice way to relax with a bottle of champagne. The hideaway was everything you expect and more dont hesitate to book it just do it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robson2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2013

Friendly, courteous staff; a stylish, well-appointed and very comfortable room; delicious breakfasts and a wonderfully relaxing atmosphere - The Cranleigh is a peaceful haven with luxurious extras. Location is an ideal base from which to explore and enjoy all that Bowness has to offer. Customer service is excellent - from booking through to follow up helpful information is provided and queries answered promptly. We would highly recommend The Cranleigh, and we will most certainly be making more than one return visit.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KKSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,287 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,746 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing