We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sanctuary is lovely”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Sanctuary is lovely”
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed three nights in The Sanctuary. From outside it doesn't look much - a cottage in a car park. But inside it is very well fitted out - take your iPod and play your music inside and around the private hot tub. The atmosphere is set with subtle lighting and quality fittings. Breakfast is delivered to your room and a decanter of sherry is complementary. The only strange bit is that there is no door to the bathroom. You can't see into it, but it was still strange having to use the toilet without closing a door. Good job there is a waterproof TV there with good sound.
This is a romantic room - good for special occasions. Would recommend.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkshireLouloubelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we're glad that you would recommend The Sanctuary for special occasions. The suite is one of our favourites and definitely one of the most popular. We take your feedback on board in relation to the door and we will look into whether to add a door on. The style of the suite and the wow factor of the bath is all quite unique and having a door there would remove the open plan style and possibly remove an element of space. Thanks though again for your feedback like I said we do take it on board and we will discuss this. We're glad you saw the room as being romantic as we feel also feel it is, it's such a stunning space and definitely a hidden gem.

Thanks again - The Cranleigh Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

I booked the Escape Suite for my boyfriends birthday. It was AMAZING! On checking in...the staff were lovely and welcoming. The suite itself could not be faulted! We went to Hooked in Windermere and the staff booked us a taxi no problem at all. Bathroom was amazing! Bed was lush! 50 inch tele on the wall...tele in front of bed...tele in the bath room! Twin shower...mood lighting in the bath. Could not fault it! Thank you so much for making his birthday wonderful!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2308kh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013 via mobile

We only had time for one night as my fiancé was only home from Sierra Leone for one week and we wanted somewhere special.the hideout is pure indulgence for grown ups who just want a few hours of luxury away from their hectic and frantic lives as parents,carers,workaholics or whatever! We loved our time there and will be sure to return very soon. :-)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rockstar43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at the Cranleigh for 2 nights on the 28th and 29th June for our 4th Wedding Anniversary with my sister and brother in law.
We stayed in Room 4 it was a lovely room very quiet, fantastic en-suite and a very comfy bed.
My sister stayed in Room 3 that also was a very nice room.
The staff were very friendly on arrival and at breakfast time too.
The breakfast was very nice, plenty to chose from off the menu.
The Cranleigh is well situated for easy access into Bowness.
We will definitely come back and stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: Room 4 is at the back on first floor and very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARMOSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed here for a short three day break after our wedding, from the moment we walked into reception we were given what can only be described as the 'Cranleigh' experince. The receptionist welcomed us, checked us in and showed us up to our room, explaining where everything was and how everything functioned, even offering to book us a table at a local restaurant as we were a little late on arrival. We stayed in room 6 (all the rooms look amazing) which literally had no expense spared, spa bath with TV (and waterproof remote!), LED lit shower, king bed with quality cotton bedding and luxury throw, the room decor was very full-on but done with class and Ideal for a three day stay. There was also tea and coffee making facilities and a well priced mini bar (UK bar prices, not OTT normal room bar prices).
We opted for the 'Because i love You' deal which was running, which included, Champagne on ice, rose petals on the bed, handmade chocs and a teddy bear for the wife - it all was delivered perfectly! Beds are 'turned down' for you at night with a chocolate on the pillow, their attention to the little details make this place something else!
Guests are given wireless entry keys to the room and the hotel after 11pm which worked flawlessly, as did the library of over 100 DVD's which you simply request from reception and have delivered to the room!
Breakfast was another quality affair with great choice, local ingredients, quality pastries and coffee to match.
We also got passes to the nearby Spa (100m walk) which was great in the afternoon for a swim. Finally, all of the above is complemented by a team of staff who are on top of their game, informative, polite and always pleased to see you, and genuine nice people.
The Cranleigh is not cheap - but why should it be? We paid £500 for three nights, i'm not rich, but i cannot think of anything I have purchased recently which has given me better overall value for money. Its a once or twice a year special place to go to for a couple of days where you can experience surroundings, food and service which is I would honestly argue up there with the best you can get. That said, they always have special offers and promotions through the website which is well worth visiting.
The owners clearly know their marketplace, and get it spot on, just check out their website or facebook page to see what other say too - If you have an occasion to celebrate The Cranleigh will tick all your boxes. We both cant wait to return in the winter to do it all again!

Room Tip: Room 6 was amazing, if your lottery numbers come up go for the 'Sanctury' ot 'The hideou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingham UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013 via mobile

Staying at the Cranleigh Hideout in June 2013, we can easily say this is one of the most enjoyable hotel stays we have had, the Hideout is a maze of fun and enjoyment within a luxurious surrounding, we enjoyed it so much didn't leave the property for our full stay even though Bowness is one of the best places in the UK, we only left to enjoy the superb breakfast which is second to none, I now understand what quality really is - try it, you won't be sorry - many thanks to all staff who made our stay so memorable.....

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IanandShelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

An excellent stay. The rooms were fantastic, upgrading to the luxury room was worth it, as the bathroom was amazing! Breakfast the next morning was included and was fantastic....you would expect to pay£25-30 in a restaurant fora breakfast of that quality. The staff we're brilliant, very efficient but friendly! We actually had a laugh! Will definitely br going back next time we're due a treat!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wozzaSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,808 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing