We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Amazing”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Just Amazing”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We attended this location as part of our UK summer break and thought hat this hotel looked appealing and quiet modern. We were not disappointed both my and my partner upon arriving at the hotel were greeted by the reception staff who advised us that the parking at the front of the hotel was full but there was an overflow car park 2 minutes away, and this was not wrong the car park was secure and located a short distance from the hotel. We checked in about 14:45 and check in was from 15:00 I did ask the staff if we could have checked in quicker and they did say that it would not have been an issue. The staff on the desk were friendly open and very efficient when booking us in.

They took us to our room which was room 11, this was just perfect due to the weather being extremely hot the windows of the room were open and we had a view of the main road this was not an issue at all. The staff showed us round the room and all the features that were available. We then got settled in.

We did have a few extras from the hotel such as strawberries dipped in chocolate (very tasty), Champaign and a message in a bottle, as well as some extra chocolates. This was a nice touch and most enjoyable but is was at a cost to us which we had arranged prior to arriving, perfect if you are enjoying a romantic break. The hotel is located a short distance from the lake and it is more than possible to walk to all locations round the area and the staff will point you in the right direction I know they did for us.

Breakfast at the hotel was included in the price and I cannot fault this at all it was most tasty I would recommend the Cranleigh breakfast.

I found that with this hotel you pay for what you get the service is impeccable and if you wanted to spend more then your could have had different rooms and a totally different experience and this is what I found most appealing about the hotel, each room is different and offered each person/couple a unique experience for there room type.

I would recommend this hotel to any couples who are looking for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: If its hot ask for a fan for the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graham_marshall119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you very much for your comprehensive and lengthy review. We understand that it does take time to complete such reviews and we are therefore very grateful for the amount of time and thought which you have put into it.

The staff stand out as being great within your review which is brilliant as management train them to be as helpful as possible and as customer savvy as suited to the high end market and this evidently comes across.

We’re glad you enjoyed the additional extras which you booked with us, it’s nice that we can supply extra bits and that they make an impact to guests stays.

We thank you for your recommendations in advance as stated and we hope to welcome you back to the Cranleigh in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This is our 4th stay at the Cranleigh in 18 months and once again excellent hotel, service and breakfast. The Cranleigh is ideally situated for a short walk into the centre of bowness. Everything about the Cranleigh is just perfect and the weather in the lakes was beautiful. Can't wait to make a return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review, and we must also thank you for your continued custom and loyalty. We’re glad you class the service and breakfast as excellent, two of the most vital aspects to a good stay! The location is perfect for Bowness and we appreciate you staying so. Thank you once more, we look forward to welcoming you to The Cranleigh again in the future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

we stayed in room 11 , which was facing the main road , the room was on top floor , one other room next to us . The room was just like it showed on the web site a luxury double bed ( mattress was so comfortable didn't wana to get up ) the room had everything you need in it plenty of storage space , the tv at bottom of bed , with dvd player and i-pod/ phone docking station. The room was warm due to the hot weather , the hotel had placed a fan in the room for us which was great , we had this on during the night to keep us cool ( the fan was very quite didn't even keep us awake ) and a large bathroom , with bath and built in shower in bath to hose your self down and of course a jacquzzi in the bath , the bath was nice and deep so you can have a good soak with nice bubbles. the blue lights set the bathroom off , the wall mounted tv at the end of the bath was a double bonus
the staff were very helpful in any request that we made , soon as you rang reception they were at the the door with the requests . We asked them for idea of places to eat , they sent us to some great restaurant's
the hotel is in prime place , just 5 mins slow walk down and your at the lake side 2 mins walk and your at the first shop's. will defo be back !!

Room Tip: read the rooms info and go with what will suit yourself best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mark b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for us. We really do appreciate it. It seems that you had a great stay and it comes across that you really utlised what the room has to offer which is brilliant. We have experienced very nice weather lately. This has affected the heat levels within the hotel. As you recognise we have been making that extra effort to ensure that guests remain cool within the rooms. We’re glad that by providing fans we helped a little with this and that we positively affected your sleep quality! Thank you for advising how helpful the staff have been too, it’s great that the service is being delivered as one would hope, they are a credit to the hotel. Thanks for the room tip as that hopefully will impact on other guests’ stays positively too, hopefully we will welcome you again to The Cranleigh.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 July 2013

This was our first visit to The Cranleigh in which we stayed 2 nights for our honeymoon and it was exactly as expected and more!! We stayed in the suite room which was immaculate and had its own entrance and terrace area so lots of privacy with lots of luxurious and romantic touches. The staff and service at breakfast were great. Would definately visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you for your review, we’re very happy that we helped you make such happy memories for your honeymoon weekend. We wish you all the best for the future and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.


Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2013 via mobile

I stayed at The Cranleigh for my 18th birthday! It definitely made it a special memory. We stayed in suite 10 which i had fallen in love with as soon as id seen the picture! Room as described and lovely features like tv in bathroom and decking space outside the room. Great area, quiet but very close to the centre. Service was great and we had no issues at all! All staff are friendly and breakfast was great. We are looking forward to returning in the near future! We definitely recommend for couples on special occasion

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaAshley190821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed in room 3 for 3 nights. The room itself was small but well appointed and a touch of luxury. All fittings and fixtures were of an extremely high standard. The mood lighting added to the ambiance giving it that extra special touch.

Breakfast was great, all fresh and plenty of choice.

The staff were extremely helpful with all aspects of the stay.

The only downside is that it had no air con. Rooms were very, very warm in the height of summer, not taking away it was 27 degrees!

Great place to visit the lakes, only a 5 min walk.

Would thoroughly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 15 July 2013
Thanks very much for your review, it sounds like you had a nice time which is great. It has been particularly hot of late and we do agree with you in terms of the heat being a little uncomfortable at times within the room, we think that this is due to the size of the room, the old building and of course because it has reached 27degrees! We have a number of fans available at reception should you stay again and we would be happy to give as many as required to try and cool you down. We haven't really considered air con as a feasible option unfortunately due to the style of the building and the work involved to implement. Thanks again for your feedback however and your recommendations, we look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We arrived a few hours before official check in time so I popped in to reception to see if we could leave our bags in the hotel for security, whilst we went sight-seeing. The young lady (we found out later that her name was Eleanor) said with pleasure, but her body language and facial expressions left me in no doubt that she thought I was being a nuisance to her day. However, we were not alone, as there were already cases in the dining room, where we were directed to leave our luggage. I began to have doubts about the security of this arrangement as the cases would be visible from the street and there was free access to the property. My fears were confirmed when I had to pop back some ten minutes later to get something from one of our bags. I was able to walk back into the hotel, past an unattended reception and take stuff from my case. This could have been anybody taking anything from any of the bags which had been left!

When it came to official check-in time we were again greted by Eleanor and things did not get better. When asked for a contact number we gave our South African numbers; we explained that our phones have roaming and are on 24/7. Eleanor very strongly insisted that we supply UK contact numbers; her reasoning being that ‘it is easier for us’. I guess what she actually was avoiding saying was ‘it is cheaper for us’. Now I may be wrong, but my years of travelling and experience of the hospitality industry, have always led me to believe that the idea of ‘hospitality’ is that it is based around what is easier for the paying customer, not what is best for the organisation supplying the hospitality (or in this case hostility). Luckily for us we also had UK cell phones and handed over the numbers in fear of being put out on the street if we did not comply. Things only got worse when we were shown to our room. An endless monologue ensued from Eleanor, recounting the instructions to and virtues of, all of the gizmos in our room. At this point I really wanted to suggest to my husband that we just find somewhere else to stay, but he had gone into a dazed stupor of boredom as Eleanor was now in full flow of her sales pitch about the merits of the under floor heating in the bathroom and the self-cleaning bath, as well as the plethora of switches which apparently had to be mastered if we were to fully appreciate the glories of our bathroom.

On the subject of the room, the website is far better than the reality. We also made the mistake of choosing a room at the front; big mistake. With the window open the noise was overwhelming. Our room (5) looked like it had been entirely furnished with a quick trip to B&Q. They must have bought every gadget in the bathroom section and installed it in room 5, in an effort to impress. In the bedroom there was a chandelier that looked like a prop left over from Vivienne Westwood fashion show, but unfortunately en route to room 5 several of the parts had gone missing and nobody had bothered to clean it since it had been installed. I also wondered about the contradiction of this hotel being listed as best romantic and the reality of a 1.5 inch gap under the door, that not only ensured a distinct lack of privacy, but, that was also allowing a cold draft worthy of measuring on gale force readings. Perhaps the money for A/C had all been used up on the bathroom and this was a substitute?

There are two essential basics to a good hotel; quality of staff and cleanliness. So far our experience of the former had not gone well and now we were faced with the reality of the latter; the room was very dirty. The chandelier hanging over the bed was caked in dirt and there were very obvious dirty hand prints on the windows. Feeling very glum about our choice of accommodation we went out for dinner. Before we went to bed I pulled back the flat sheet and was horrified to come face to face with a vast accumulation of various previous guest’s assorted head and body hair, lying on the mattress protector. Perhaps I am old fashioned, but I do not want to share my bed with the body hair of strangers. Have housekeeping at the Cranleigh really never instructed their staff to vacuum the mattress protectors when they change the sheets?

Coming downstairs the following morning, we encountered one of the two redeeming factors that changed the Cranleigh from an initial very poor review and uplifted it to average; Harry. Now Harry is really somebody who ‘gets’ hospitality and belongs at the front desk. When I mentioned the dirty room, Harry seemed genuinely concerned as he apologised and, for a minute, I thought he was going to offer to go clean the room himself. Harry left us reassured that the cleanliness issues would be dealt with, and good to his word during the day the cleaning magicians arrived so that our room actually was a more pleasant place at end of day two. In actual fact, this interaction with Harry is probably the main reason we did not check out there and then. And then the second redeeming factor happened; breakfast. Breakfast at the Cranleigh is terrific. I cannot remember the last time I was offered a duck egg on a menu. Full breakfast, eggs benedict, duck eggs with asparagus, whatever we tried for breakfast it was excellent. Forgetting the fact that the staff does not ask you how you want your eggs cooked, breakfast could not be faulted. Well done to the chef, they are definitely on their game.

After the initial arrival day of horror the Cranliegh turned out to be an averagely pleasant stay. And this is my concern. It seemed to me that the hotel has received so many overinflated (in my view) reviews and accolades that it has dropped the ball. Apart from Harry and the breakfasts, this really was a very average stay in a pleasant but average boutique hotel. I have stayed in worse, but, I have certainly stayed in much better, therefore average. This is a shame because if they ensure that all of their staff are up to the level of Harry and, if they work with housekeeping to just keep the place clean and tidy, then they could definitely live up to the very good accolades that other guests have bestowed on them.

We left the Cranleigh disappointed as well as remaining perplexed as to why the shower in the B&Q bathroom to room 5 randomly switched itself on for a few seconds throughout the entire course of the weekend. Perhaps this was some kind of gadget that Eleanor forgot to brief us on?

Room Tip: If you want to have your window open pick a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katherine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 17 July 2013
We appreciate all feedback from past guests as naturally we understand that you can always improve individually and when delivering a service. We have noticed that we have two reviews in relation to your stay and we wanted to respond in one taking in feedback from both you and your partners’ reviews.

Your partner states “sometimes relationships just get off on the wrong foot” and we have a strong feeling that this impacted your stay. In terms of the first impression and your comments relating to the check in process as being ‘disastrous’ in particular relating to security issues and the request of a UK phone number we wanted to advise with the following.

The reception desk is occasionally left unmanned and the receptionists advise guests of this through adding a sign to the desk. We are a small family run hotel and at times receptionists are called to assist guests away from the desk.

We have CCTV that covers the reception area. We do have an area that guests can use (the dining room) but we do not have a locked area for such due to the size of the hotel and this is identifiable at the time of leaving your luggage. We take your feedback on board in relation to this and we will advise guests that luggage is left at their own risk but to further advise in relation to your view of the area being a ‘high petty crime’ area we are honestly one of the safest areas within the UK and hold a very low crime rate. At the hotel we have never had any crime issue in terms of theft. We do appreciate however that this is no reason to become complacent and your comments have made us think about how we can improve this area better.

Upon check-in we do request a contact number in case there should be an emergency. You provided a SA number and in turn the receptionists questioned whether you had an alternative or the viability of this number so to ensure that we could reach you in the given situation. Given that you had a UK number we do agree that the receptionist was right to take the UK number as a higher priority contact number out of the two so to ensure that we could reach you as soon as possible. The cost of the call I can assure you was irrelevant within the situation; it was simply for the ease of reaching you within an emergency rather than for the ease of the hotel staff or costing.

All of our rooms offer designer bathrooms, high-spec facilities and mood lighting and so to ensure that guests can utilise the facilities to their full potential we provide a brief yet comprehensive instruction on how to make the most of your room. We strongly believe that this is a valuable aspect of the check-in so to ensure that all guests are aware of what functions/facilities are available to them throughout their stay.

We appreciate the front side of the building is noisier than the back as that side of the hotel is road facing. The hotel is positioned within a small town as you know and there is light traffic as a result.

Thanks for highlighting that the light fitting had bits missing from it, it’s strange where the crystals keep disappearing to! We have ordered a new fitting to be placed on soon.

In relation to the comment of the breeze through the door we have not had this feedback before and we will take a look into this. This is a difficult one as we do get comments in relation to the room being over hot on occasions. Air con is not an option for the hotel due to the work involved to implement and the style of the old building.

We value all of our staff greatly and often get very good feedback for all our members including Elena, as such can be viewed on Trip Advisor. Within your review it seems Elena did not satisfy you. We can’t help but think some aspects of the review were a little negative towards Elena when she was doing as instructed by management i.e. ensuring we had the best contact methods for you within an emergency and also ensuring that you we aware of how to work all facilities within your room. We thank you for your feedback however as we strongly agree that first impressions count and we are monitoring staff intently particularly during check-ins and through feedback provided.

It’s great that you noticed Harry and that he had a positive impact on your stay and that the cleanliness improved within your room as a result of you speaking to him. We do carry out spring cleans where house keeping hoover the mattresses/covers and the light fittings also as well as a number of other additional cleaning tasks and this information has been passed to management so to ensure extensive cleans are carried out more frequently.

It’s great the feedback about the breakfast, something which we regularly get positive feedback on and again this has been passed to management to recognise the members of staff within this area of the hotel.

To finalise thank you for your feedback we take all reviews and feedback seriously and take your comments on board.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing