We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hotel! Had a lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel! Had a lovely weekend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

My boyfriend and i stayed here last weekend for his birthday, our room was so gorgeous! When we arrived the staff were very friendly and the lady helped take our bags up and told us how everything worked. We had room 3 and it was perfect, it was decorated so nicely, very comfy bed, big tv (you got to choose which dvd's you wanted from there library), the bathroom was lovely too, there is not one fault in the room at all! We asked to have the feather duvet cover changed and it was done straight away, our room was cleaned each day and we had a turn over each night. It is a 2 minute walk from the little town with restaurants, the lake. On our last day we thought check out time was an hour later than it was, the receptionist called and was so nice about it and gave us as much time as we needed to check out, they also called us to make sure we got home okay which was really nice of them. It has been the best hotel we have stayed in so far and it's definitely worth the money would recommend this to everyone! Thank you for a great weekend! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samantha2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thanks a lot for your review. We’re really happy that you had a positive experience with us and that you thought we were great value for money. Room 3 has recently been decorated this year and is one of my personal favorites too. Thanks for the future recommendations. Hopefully we will welcome you to the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    205
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,354
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

amazing would be the only word to describe this hotel!!!
bought a mini break for me and my partner we were blown away.
we stayed in the hideaway suite, everything was stunning.
the breakfast each morning was outstanding I have never been to a hotel like it.
recommend to anyone!!!
definatley going back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words on The Hideaway Suite. We’re super happy you had an ‘amazing’ time with us. We’re really glad that we exceeded expectations and happy that we have gained a repeat customer. Maybe we could wow you even more with the Sanctuary? Another personal favorite of mine. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is the perfect place to stay in Bowness. Ideal location for the town centre, friendly staff, fantastic breakfast, absolutely lovely room. Parking was easy, and even after check out we were allowed to leave our car whilst we spent the day at the local spa.

The staff were very helpful and able to provide lots of local info on best places to eat etc. The room was very hot, but it was mid July so beyond their control, and they provided a fan without having to be asked.

If you want a relaxing break in a first class environment then this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We didnt see the other rooms but room 14 was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scruffygirl2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you for your thorough review. It means a lot to us to get extensive reviews which cover not only the rooms but the location, facilities and food. It sounds like you had a comfortable and relaxing break which is brilliant. Hopefully we will welcome you to the Cranleigh again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

Next time my partner and I walk into a hotel room on our travels I fully expect us to look at each other and say " How lovely..but it's not The Cranleigh".

This is probably being unfair as Gem and I stayed in The Sanctuary with its fantastic bathroom, beautifully set out living area and private hot tub. The quality of these really are as good as the photos make them look and you really can imagine that you are a glamorous celebrity as you explore all the wonderful features in the rooms.

The real magic of The Sanctuary is implied in the name. The staff are so helpful and determined to make your stay special that unless you specifically ask for things (which appear in seconds) then you would never know they are there. So for the length of the stay you really do feel like this wonderful space is your personal sanctuary.

Is there any criticism I could make? Well maybe the outdoor furniture by the hot tub looks a bit tired...and that's it. But I really had the feeling I could have rung reception and told them this and an hour later I would look out to see brand new furniture in its place. Probably less thinking about it.

If you have a special occasion to celebrate then this is an excellent and memorable way to do so.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. It sounds like you had a great stay with us and that you fully embraced what the Sanctuary is all about. It’s a perfect getaway that offers complete privacy with the service of the staff on hand if you need them. I think you explained it perfectly. Thank you for your feedback in terms of the outside furniture this has been passed onto management. We look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the Cranleigh. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed here for a three day escape back in July. It was a fantastic stay from start to finish. We were welcomed by very friendly staff and a stunning room with jacuzzi bath. Absolutely spot on! After a nice film which we could borrow from the reception and a relaxing night we had an excellent breakfast with a variation of hot and cold food. The second day we made use of the spa which is just a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Again everything was to our liking. All in one, it was a perfect and unique trip which was worth every penny! Definitely recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. It sounds like you had an amazing stay with us. It’s such a nice amount of time to stay (3 days) to fully make the most of what the Cranleigh has to offer. It’s great that you think the hotel was worth every penny and that you would be recommending us – thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

Stayed here last week. Location is right next to the lake, and you can park in the hotels carpark which is a massive bonus.Amazingly friendly people made it a really comfortable stay. Breakfast is very good. Best thing about it was the free access to the Macdonald Spa. As it was raining we did a couples spa day which ended up with champagne and lunch on the terrace looking over the lake. Amazing

Room Tip: Our no.12 was good but remember no stand-up shower. Although you get a jacuzzi bath with a TV at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnGillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thank you for the feedback, its great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you had a very relaxing time utlising the Spa facilities too. Thanks once again, we hope to welcome you again in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crewe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We stayed in the sanctuary suite on a Sunday night for my wifes birthday and our 12th wedding anniversary, I loved the look of some of the other rooms, but having already stayed at hdv in York a few times as a treat I wanted to step up my game and go for something that my wife would not expect.
The room was spot on, tidy etc, lovely romantic little setting to unwind after a walk round bowness and some food and drinks in the Angel (this is worth of its own review too, lovely pub).
The hot tub was a first for us and was just brilliant, not everyone’s idea of indulgence apparently but it was for us, very clean, and that extra bit of a treat for my wife and i
Everyone was lovely, breakfast brought to the room was a great little touch too.
Only two very little negatives, and one was nothing to do with the hotel at all, not even sure if it was us doing something wrong, but there were not many channels on the tele? You kind of expect every posh room to have all the free view channels these days, and we enjoy sticking the more 4 music channel on when we go away but there was no music channel to watch just the radio station ones to listen too, told you it was little!
The second was the fact that I had hid the hot tub surprise from my wife for 2 weeks, I had asked her to take a bikini as the hotel had shared facilities to use a spa and that id like to make use of it for a change (we never do normally, but I got away with it) I was quiet please with this until we went in a shop, and were chatting to a lovely girl who said her friend worked at the hotel…”oh its lovly there…. They even have a room with a hot tub”……well the penny dropped about the bikini and that was that surprise ruined! Ha ha, still a perfect trip all rounded off by quality weather too!
Yes the price is high, but its unique, and well worth it for a treat.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greg c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Thanks a lot for your lengthy and comprehensive review, we’re really glad that the Sanctuary suite stepped up with your wife and matched your expectations. Perhaps the Hideout self-catering accommodation might suit the next big milestone event for you. It’s a shame your surprise was ruined by a a member of the public but it’s nice to hear that we are spoken about in a positive light out in shops all at the same time! Word of mouth is so powerful and we really try to give the best to our customers, so this is a positive for us.

We hear exactly what you are saying in relation to the freeview channels, the lack of channels is more noticeable to people like yourselves who have full access to the freeview channels at home. This is a regional issue and unfortunately has been this way for us in South Cumbria for sometime and it is unlikely to change due to the rural setting.

To finalise we’re really glad that you think the hotel is unique and that your stay was the romantic break you wanted. Hopefully we will welcome you to the Cranleigh again in the future.

Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing