We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - The only word to use for this Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic - The only word to use for this Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

My husband and I actually made it on our 3rd attempt to have 2 wonderful nights at this Fabulous Hotel. It is everything it is marketed to be, wonderful rooms, outstanding breakfast and just those little added extra's that mean so much. We arrived on 1st November to be greated by the most courteous of receptionists. Not only was she welcoming and had that friendly smile, she also helped take our luggage to the room, as she could see I was struggling with walking due to recovering from a broken leg. We were shown our room - Superior Room 11, and shown the most amazing spa bath (which I took great pleasure in enjoying on numerous occasions) we were told that when we were ready there would be a complimentary glass of Prosecco waiting for us in reception, what an amazing touch. I then discovered chocolates on the bed with rose petals, again, just an added extra, but this is what the Cranleigh is about. We have had the great fortune, of staying in top hotels all over the world, including the world famous Waldorf in New York and I have to say that none of them compare to the Cranleigh. All hotel staff are courteous to their clientele but the Cranleigh goes that extra mile. A Message to the Manager - you must be very proud of your staff their etiquette and they way that your clientele are looked after is spectacular, this is from Reception to the staff at breakfast.

We cannot wait to visit again, this Hotel should be on the top of everyones list to visit. I hope that everyone reading this review and who stay at the Cranleigh, enjoy themselves as much as what my husband and I have done. Well Done to everyone, your Hotel is the TOPS. Almost forgot, after your stay, they actually phone you to make sure you had a safe journey home, Amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Weston203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write a comprehensive review for us. It means so much to hear you compare us to the likes of the Waldorf and to insinuate that we are better is such great feedback! We are very proud of what we have created hear at the Cranleigh and the staff are exceptional. It’s always lovely to hear good feedback about them. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,353
    200
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
24
1,344
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (334)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Myself and husband stayed at the cranleigh for 2 nights for our anniversary this weekend .
We went with high expectations after reading all the excellent reviews and we were not disappointed .
Service amazing , rooms superb and location for restaurants etc is ideal .
We stayed in room 14 , was immaculate , loved the bathroom with great deep spa bath , we have never had so many baths in 1 weekend !
We arrived to a card , chocolates and rose petals on the bed , really lovely touch for a romantic weekend .
Everything was honestly perfect and we loved every minute. Breakfast delicious and great service again . Staff cannot do enough for you , michaela very helpful and welcoming and great with help for restaurants etc. Thankyou .
So yes we would definitely love to return here one day . Thanks for making our anniversary one to remember !

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazzalawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Firstly Happy Anniversary! We are over the moon that we made your special time so enjoyable. Thank you very much for all your kind comments, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in one of the luxury rooms, room 12.
All we can say is 'amazing'. It was the perfect way to spend our mini moon. We loved the bathroom, great spa bath and you could bathe with no lights as the bath had lights that changed colour, great addition to this.
We had a view of the hotel across the road and the lake which was great. It's a 2 min walk from the town, perfect. We used the pool etc, it's about 5 mins away, but that was no problem as it was a great amenity to have.
Very clean and well presented. There is one of the reception staff in particular that was very polite and friendly.
Thank you again for a fantastic stay. Will def come again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kcuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to place a review for us. It means a lot to us to hear your feedback. We’re really happy you made the most of the facilities on offer and that your stay was a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you again to the Cranleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

We visited Cranleigh for a four day stay for a rest whilst I recover from Chemotherapy treatment for breast cancer. We stayed in room 15 which had very nice decor and a very comfortable bed. The weathers was wet and windy but we did get out and about returning to our room late afternoon for a rest before dinner. We found the location to be very central with easy access to restaurants and pubs. The reception staff were very helpful and arranged a taxi for us when we went out for dinner further a field than the Town. Breakfast was excellent, the evening turndown service with chocolates was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out to place a review on the hotel. We hope the hotel was a good setting for some much needed restbite for you. You can never rely on the weather in the Lakes can you? We just hope that despite that you enjoyed your stay and may we also wish you all the best with your recovery.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Our second stay, we had a top floor superior double which was spacious and quiet. The staff were very helpful and gave us lots of tips, booked our restaurants and told us of places we would be interested in visiting.
We will return again!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
It’s always nice to hear when we have a repeat customer, it signals that we are doing a good job and pleases us that we are attracting customers back again. We look forward to welcoming you again, thanks for choosing us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We visited the Cranleigh for our honeymoon just 2 night stay in the suite, room 10. The hotel is lovely, the location is great but the room was a bit disappointing. I loved the spa bath, bath robes and slippers and had two lovely breakfasts. The room just seemed a bit smaller than I expected and a little tired. There was a chipped wardrobe, a missing handle off the chest of drawers and wallpaper patched up near kettle, at £440 for 2 nights and with the turndown package was £495, I was just expecting a little more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emhall26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time out to place a review on the Cranleigh. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your room. I have passed your feedback onto the hotel manager who has got our maintenance team involved. Thank you for despite this still awarding us an overall score of ‘a Very Good’. We hope despite this you had an enjoyable mini moon and wish you many more happy years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here last week for two nights. All we can say is WOW! Could not find fault with this hotel. From the staff booking in and throughout our stay, who were very friendly and helpful, to the room which was out of this world.
Very clean and beautifully presented with petals on the bed, chocolates and a teddy. Room was quiet and the bed very comfortable.
Hotel is in a great location within easy/short walking distance of numerous shops/bars/cafés and the lake.
Also made use of the nearby spa facilities which were very good.
Can't recommend this place enough, huge thanks to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ben2891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a great stay and made the most of the Spa facilities too. Thanks in advance for your recommendations. We hope to welcome you again in the future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,743 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing