We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had heard good things about this hotel last year and then we got the chance to go and stay there last weekend. We were not disappointed! The warmth greets you when you walk through the door with a blazing fire so it was very welcoming as were the friendly, helpful staff too. Room 8 was very comfortable with everything you could possibly need, a very large, comfy bed, chocolates on your pillow, rose petals, a spotless bathroom, wonderfully quiet so we had a very relaxing and romantic stay. The breakfast was excellent with just about everything you could ask for and the staff were very helpful with any requests. It's only a couple of minutes walk to go out to eat so it's very convenient and for all the tourist attractions too. We couldn't really fault it and liked it so much we are planning to go back in a few weeks time for another romantic break and we can't wait. Well done to all at the Cranleigh - we'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 8 was lovely and quiet but if you don't like stairs it may be better to go on the floor bel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lizwhitenlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you very much for placing a review on the hotel. It sounded like you had a great stay with us, which is brilliant. We love it when reviews state, “we couldn’t fault it”. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, if you need any help with planning your next trip then feel free to contact reception T:015394 43293. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,720)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

876 - 882 of 1,720 reviews

Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Cranleigh and would say that the service experienced whilst we were there was truly exceptional. Firstly a huge thankyou to Mickaela who was always there with a lovely smile to greet us and couldn't be any more helpful. All the staff here are extremely courteous and friendly such is the case at breakfast.
Room 5 was beautiful and I might be stealing some of the decorating features!! The food is wonderful, hotel is spotlessly clean and smells lovely. The added extras in the rooms make all the difference and this clearly is a hotel that stands out from its competitors.
We shall certainly be returning in the not too distant future and would commend the management for employing such wonderful staff :)

Room Tip: Room 5 was beautifully furnished, great bathroom, a little noisy at breakfast time but not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dresm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for describing the service you received as “Exceptional” and for commending the management team too. It always pleases us to hear positive feedback about the staff and it looks like we excelled in other areas too. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Both my wife and I wanted to go away for a relaxing weekend break in the UK and have never been to the Lakes, so i booked the Cranleigh based on the reviews, photos and it's location.

The experience from beginning to end was absolutely fantastic, the welcome from the reception staff upon arrival was very warming. All the staff (reception, breakfast etc) were extremely friendly and very helpful, offering advice on where to go, where to eat etc. We stayed in room three which was beautifully decorated and excellent facilities. The spa across the road was amazing and well worth a visit

Cant wait to go back for another relaxing break.

Room Tip: Recommend room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bharj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to place a review on the hotel. We’re genuinely happy that you had an “absolutely fantastic” stay with us. Thanks also for commenting on the Spa facilities too. We’re glad that you thought the complimentary addition to your stay was amazing and that you had the relaxing break you deserve! We hope to welcome you again in the future, thanks a lot for choosing us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I have just spent a wonderful weekend in the Cranleigh Boutique Hotel with my beautiful wife, it was so romantic. The rooms are beautiful and the staff are so friendly. Such a relaxing weekend in the beautiful setting of Bowness-on-Windermere. Will definitely be going back in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the superior room which is at the front of the house which had a little bit of traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulsylvias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind words, we’re very happy you and your wife had a great stay. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed here for one night in room 16 on the ground floor in the 2nd building. The room is exactly as shown on their website. It is less than a 2 min walk into the centre of town and no more than 5 mins to the lake. We did arrive early on a very wet, grey and cold day and were told our room was not yet ready and that we were more than welcome to sit in the lounge near the fire and have a coffee or if we felt like going for a walk we could and that the room would be ready by 3 (this did not bother us at all as we had arrived early and I have seen some others negative comments). We decided to go into the town centre. When we got back where we were shown to our room and everything was explained to us (maybe a little to quickly). The bed was comfortable and the room well heated. Breakfast was nice but the service by the girl with the coffee and toast was a little frosty. You can see a little of the lake from the window but not that much.

Room Tip: Wee stayed in room 16. You can see a very small portion of the lake ( small corner) but dont expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thewolf20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We take all feedback seriously both positive and constructive and can assure you that we will be monitoring the staff at breakfast, we do usually get great comments relating to the staff and the breakfast so we are surprised by this however please note thanks for highlighting to us it means we can monitor more closely. We hope you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in room 12. It was so relaxing, we had a lovely jacuzzi bath with lighting effect in the bath, felt luxurious.
All the staff in the Cranleigh worked really hard to make our stay enjoyable, and were all very friendly and polite.
The breakfasts were lovely, and the rooms felt really nice.
Little touches such as complimentary glass of Prosceco, chocolates in the evening really made you feel special. It was more expensive than other places we have stayed at, but it was worth the money.
Being able to use the spa was an added bonus.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank curlynirvana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time out to write a review for us. It means a lot to hear great comments from out guests. We’re really happy you enjoyed your stay and the added little touches made you feel special. We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

To be honest, I didn't pick this particular "room" to suit my tastes. It was a belated big birthday present for my husband. I myself prefer shabby chic/country twee for a Lake District break. My husband likes modern, contemporary with all the mod cons, and boy - did this deliver!

The hideout isn't on the main Cranleigh site, but a short drive across town. As we approached I panicked, thinking "where on earth have I brought him?". A bland, edge of village housing estate, without so much as a glimpse of lake or fells (except as you are driving away from the house). But don't let that put you off.

As you enter, the sheer luxury of this place becomes obvious with your first step. Feet sinking into carpet so deep you could bounce on it. A bedroom which would look at home in "Gracelands" with the most comfortable bed I have EVER slept in, and a tempting glimpse down the spiral staircase of what lies beneath.

Knowing what was downstairs, I wanted to keep the best till last, so I ushered my husband upstairs into the lounge/kitchen/diner. Champagne on ice as requested and a big grin on my husbands face when he saw the huge TV and 3D glasses. He loved the modernity of the place.

I finally took him down the spiral staircase, which was mood lit "romantically" and watched his face as he took it all in. Enormous spa bath, monsoon shower, home cinema, cocktail bar, iPad controls for all gadgets in one place. Techno heaven! To say he was like a kid at Christmas was an understatement.

The service by the staff was superb. We did have one small issue with the bathroom, which the lovely manager Emma came to deal with immediately and without fuss. The breakfast (we chose to have continental in the hideout) was excellent and well thought out.

Overall, I would highly recommend a stay here, especially if (like my husband) you or yours likes high spec luxury with gadgets galore.

We hope to go back and try some of the other rooms in the Cranleigh in the near future. The sanctuary suite has my name written all over it!

Thanks Cranleigh team for creating such a perfect environment to celebrate in!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CumbriaGirly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Wow your review is great! Thank you very much for this, we will probably share this with our social media followers. We are very pleased that you and your husband especially (as it was his birthday gift) enjoyed the luxury and offerings of the Hideout Boutique. It makes us feel pleased to say the least - that we are attracting the people who will love the experience the most, the people the Hideout if perfect for! It really is a perfect environment as you have suggested especially if you like modern high spec environments, lush Boutique design and pure relaxation. Thank you once again; we really do appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,470 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
455 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £119 - £161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing