We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of luxury & indulgence”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little bit of luxury & indulgence”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My husband & I stayed at the Cranleigh back in February (2013) and we had a fabulous time. The room was stunning and decorated to a high standard; the petals on the bed combined with the chocolates and champagne was such a lovely and generous touch. The spa bath was extremely relaxing also and aided the romantic atmosphere. The staff were so warm and welcoming through out our stay. Their knowledge of the local area was a real asset. Breakfast the following day was exquisite. Would highly recommend to anyone, the Cranleigh definitely delivers on style, warmth and indulgence!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Wow thanks so much for placing a review from your stay back in February. It is always so nice to hear from people late on following their stay as it really does show that we had a lasting impression. We’re loving your descriptive words, I think we might even share this review with our social media followers. Thanks once again, have a fantastic Christmas and a Happy New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,681 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,390
    207
    67
    15
    2
See reviews for
27
1,386
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (339)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

We have recently returned from a 2 night stay at the Cranleigh after taking advantage of the winter escape offer.
Everything about this place is class, from the moment you walk in the front door you are welcomed by super friendly staff & the room was brilliant.
We stayed in room number 11 which was on the top floor of the building next to the main hotel. Lovely big comfy bed which upon our arrival there was rose petals, box of chocolates & and a teddy bear all for us, of and just a bottle of champagne in a bucket of ice aswell!!!!
The bathroom had all mood lighting and a massive spa bath, a real treat.
Each morning we had breakfast where you had the choice of numerous hot and cold food cooked to order.
The Cranleigh is literally a 2 min walk in to the centre of bowness, great location with private parking.
We will be back one day, thank you for a great stay.

Room Tip: We had room 11, don't pick this one if you don't like walking up two flights of stairs, grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mathew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
“Everything about this place is Class” – we love that part of your review! Thank you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review, it really does mean a lot. You covered all aspects; the rooms, location, breakfast, staff all so positively. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Have a fantastic Christmas and all the best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 November 2013

I really cant speak highly enough about the spa treatment there and the wonderful breakfast were second to none!!! Everything was perfect! Would absolutely stay here again and would heartily recommend it to anyone!Thks and we will be seeing you again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat GG V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thanks ever so much for taking the time to place a review on the Cranleigh. We’re really glad you had an enjoyable stay. We thank you in advance for your heartily recommendations and look forward to welcoming you again in the future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Where to start? This boutique hotel stands above the rest even from the outside! Ideally located by shops, restaurants, pubs and the wonderful Lake Windermere harbour. We were welcomed by the lovely Mikeala with a glass of Prosecco and sat in front of the roaring coal fire chatting away. She was extremely helpful and even lent me her phone charger! On entering the suite, via your own front door (excellent) you sink into the deep pile of the carpet and walk into the sumptuous living are. Extremely comfy sofa, table and chairs for with twinings tea chest etc, mini bar, ice, lemon & lime for drinkies. We were lucky enough to also have Champagne on ice :) Then you enter the bedroom area, with another TV & 2nd DVD player, huge deep and comfy bed, with the best pillows I have ever laid my head on! The bed was decorated with rose petals, hand made chocolates and a huggie ted. The bathroom was outstanding, twin spa bath with mood lighting, twin showers (1st for me!) bathrobes, slippers, beautiful toiletries, literally all you need bring is your lover! We picked up a Chinese from Me & You restaurant, our 3rd visit & superb. Reception provide plates etc and we enjoyed our meal in the suite, watching movies (also provided FOC) Following a wonderful nights sleep, breakfast was brought to us at 10am, perfect for those of us who really want to unwind together. Choice was outstanding, hubby had full English, I had eggs benedict. Reluctantly we had to say goodbye :( but then had 2 spa passes included to enjoy at hotel overlooking Lake Windermere. Nice swim, sauna, shower then coffee overlooking the lake. This one night break could not have been more perfect, well unless we stayed for longer! Truly magical place. Many thanks to everyone at the Cranleigh for a perfect stay, believe me you won't want to go out!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyinCITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 29 November 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your stay with us, it sounded perfect to us! You describe the suite fantastically it really sounds like you had a nice relaxing stay making use of all of the facilities from the bathroom to the Spa. We’re really happy you thoroughly enjoyed yourselves and we wish to welcome you back in the future. All the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Stayed here for two nights last weekend and what a treat! The location, service, quality of rooms and wonderful breakfast were second to none. Would absolutely stay here again and would heartily recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rejelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thanks for taking the time to place a review on the hotel, we’re really glad that you had a nice ‘treat’ break and that you liked all of what the hotel has to offer. Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

My boyfriend took me to the Cranleigh Boutique for the weekend. We stayed in Sanctuary 18 and it was truly wonderful! The suite was beautiful, lovely decor, the bed just swallows you up - it's so comfy and massive! The breakfast was out of this world (it was brought to our room - right on time). Everything was spotless. The hot tub was a great experience and very private. The room is really romantic and the hotel really go above and beyond to give you an unforgettable experience. They rearranged the bedding every night with rose petals and the huggie bear. The fire is perfect, the rug in front of it is lovely and warm! And the underfloor heating was great for those mornings. We both did not want to leave. The location is great - just 5 min walk from restaurants, the lake, shops. And the spa is lovely as well! You really are treated well with Cranleigh. They do anything they can to help and it's done so with pure enthusiasm - they love what they do. Definitely recommend!

Room Tip: Sanctuary 18 for privacy, intimacy and romance! You can be in your own romantic bubble
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Well it sounds like you had a fantastic little break away, excellent news! Thanks for taking some time to review the Sanctuary and the hotel. Your boyfriend deserves extra brownie points. The Sanctuary is a private romantic haven and we’re genuinely happy that you had the treatment as guests in which you deserve. Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for two nights in suite 10. Upon arrival we booked the romantic arrival package which included a bottle of champers which was great.

I really cant speak highly enough about The Cranleigh everything was perfect!

Thank and we will be seeing you again.

Room Tip: Suite 10 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you ever so much for placing your first review on us! It means a lot to us for you to describe your stay as ‘perfect’. Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we’ll see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
379 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,879 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,004 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing