We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good !”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good !”
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel is well located within walking distance of eateries and shops in Bowness. Each room is designed differently and suffice to say, quirkily quaint to be sure. Amenities-wise (the hotel has thought of every possible item that one could possibly need) and thrown in more to boot, including complimentary chocolates (yums!)

We stayed in several hotels on our trip to the UK but we enjoyed this one the most. Breakfast was awesome - really good with an excellent variety and well executed!

Service could have been warmer (staff wise) but the overall comfort of the facility and good breakfast saved the day!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Odette_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thanks so much for taking some time to review the hotel. The location is perfect for the local town and restaurants etc. It’s lovely of you to say that out of all the UK hotels you stayed in ours was the best – thank you.

We’re sorry you felt the service could have been better staff wise, we tend to get great feedback for the staff. I have tried to look into this further but we can’t recall someone from KL staying for sometime so I’m really sorry as I really cannot comment further other than to say we’re aware of this and thank you for your comments.

We’re glad the breakfast and the hotel provided the comfort you require and that we provided all and more of what you would want in a hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,368
    206
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,367
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This is our second time staying at The Cranleigh. This time was to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed in "room 10 the suite", which more than exceeded our expectations. Staff are very attentive and polite, and went the extra mile for our special occasion. The attention to detail is amazing and our stay was made very personal. Absolutely no complaints, other than perhaps the price of the rooms given todays economic climate. We have recommended The Cranleigh to family and friends and would again. Thank you to The Cranleigh team for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: rooms with an air spa bath are perfect after spending the day walking around the lakes
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Firstly Congratulations! It’s nice to know that we went the extra mile to help you celebrate your special occasion. It’s lovely to hear comments like ‘absolutely no complaints’ and ‘staff are very attentive and polite’. Thanks in advance for your recommendations and thank you for recommending us already to family and friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Despite getting off to a bad start due to a sudden tragedy in the family, we did decide to carry on with our plans and have a break at the Cranleigh. Are we pleased we did everyone was so friendly and helpful, the roaring fire just lovely especially as it was wet and windy outside !!!! Rooms lovely and cosy, staff even provided and extra heater. Breakfast was delicious and plenty of choice.
We will most certainly be booking again and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
We’re really glad you decided to come and stay at the hotel, it is perfect for a relaxing break and we’re glad that the hotel provided that comfort feel for you especially given the circumstances prior to your arrival. We hope to welcome you back in the future then as suggested and thank you very much for taking the time to review the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We went for our first wedding anniversary and stayed in room 10.
On arrival we were warmly welcomed, staff were very friendly.
The room was lovely with the balcony and private entrance and the bath was great.
Quick walking distance from pubs and restaurants.
The only down side we could find is the limited parking spaces at the front and no restaurant.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_S_20122012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and thank you for taking some time to place a review on the hotel.
We’re really pleased you were welcomed well and that your room was great too.

There is limited parking out the front of the hotel we also have spaces to the back and a spill over car park 2/3 minutes away should you come again and struggle to get on the front. Reception will be happy to direct you to the spill over should we have a particularly busy night.
We don’t really have the facilities for dinner I’m afraid what with us being a small hotel, the breakfast room although comfortable and perfect for breakfast isn’t really suitable as a nighttime restaurant. There is such a great selection of local restaurants so near too. We hope to welcome you back in the future and wish you all the best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We stayed here for our Wedding anniversary and although it is a very nice hotel, it didn't necessarily live up to our expectations. Obviously with it's awards and accolades it had a lot to live up to and there were a few things that would go against it in my opinion. Firstly, it is situated on a busy road, our room (Superior Room 11) wasn't the quietest unfortunately with it's only window being road side. The room was fairly small, especially when you have two cases and also, they were a challenge to get up the staircase! The bathroom was nice, well appointed and modern and the furnishings in the room were lovely and comfortable. The breakfast was very good and the DVD list was great to give you an option to view one of hundreds of films they stock. I imagine had we stayed in one of the 3 flagship suites, our feedback would be different. It is a lovely, new, well appointed hotel, convenient for a short walk into Windermere for a drink or bite to eat and nice and relaxing inside. We also had a lovely meal at restaurant recommended by the staff - Postilian.

Room Tip: Check which side of the hotel your room faces, avoid 'road side'.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Firstly let us wish you congratulations on your wedding anniversary. We’re glad you had a good break with us. It’s difficult isn’t it when you imagine a place and it then doesn’t meet that vision.
We have the videos on our website to try our best at displaying the rooms so that guests can see the room in full prior to booking. Although I know it’s hard on these videos to picture the room size. The Cranleigh is a small family run bed and breakfast / Boutique Hotel and due to the nature of the building we do have rooms which are smaller and some larger too and naturally the suites are more spacious which is reflected within the price of them also.
Thank you for your nice comments relating to the room furnishings, the breakfast and our convenient location to the town. This convenience comes at the price of being next to a main road into the town this is openly displayed to guests through maps etc, the road is relatively busy at peak times but it is probably worth noting too that the road is not the busiest road leading into the Tourist town and it does get much quieter at night. Thank you for taking time out to review the hotel for us we really do appreciate it and we hope to welcome you again in the future. All the best from the Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booked this stay to celebrate my wifes 50th birthday.. it was our first visit and I have to say it wont be our last. The hotel was fantastic,the staff couldnt do enough for us and very helpful.the breakfast choice was excellent and very good standard of food..location wise you cannot get better, just a few hundred yards from the centre and all the shops.restaurants and bars.we stayed in room 3 which is in the main building above lounge area to the front,loved the room,very stylish.it may not be the largest of rooms but more than adequate and would not hesitate to book it again.. we both had a fantastic time
ROB + MICHELLE

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frenchy9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thanks so much for your review; it’s nice to know we have gained a repeat customer from you and your wife and we’re so glad that you had a fantastic time especially with it being a special birthday for your wife.
We’re really glad the hotel, breakfast, location and the staff met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed here and had a great time. Room was nice and very quiet. Great view of lakes from our room. My husband had paid extra for candles, champagne, teddy and rose in the room. I hadn't expected such a good turn down service from such a small hotel!
The room was clean. We didn't use the spa at the other hotel. I'd stay here again. It was relaxing and romantic. They have loads of DVDs you can watch and a tv in the bath!

Room Tip: Room 12 is nice but no shower. You have a view of the lake from the room. Lots of stairs up to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrshsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking some time out to review the hotel. It’s lovely that you had the relaxing, romantic break that you were seeking. We hope to welcome you back to the Cranleigh and wish you all the best for the New Year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,831 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing