We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night with my husband. I won a competition on Facebook and included was a bottle of champagne, handmade chocs and rose petals on the bed.
Thankyou cranleigh we loved every minute :-)
The room was lovely and I especially liked the jacuzzi bath with tv.
The staff I encountered were all friendly and proffesional and couldn't do enough for you.
The person who owns this is spot on with staff training and customer service.
We ordered a few dvds to watch from the complimentary DVD library and they were delivered in what seemed like 30 seconds.
For a lovely romantic break you would be hard pressed to beat this place and I for one will be returning at some point in the near future!
Book and you will not be disappointed!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank helena c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
We love your review – thank you! “Book and you will not be disappointed” that’s great of you to say. We’re genuinely happy that you had a lovely romantic break away with us and we thank you for all of your support on Facebook. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, all the best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    205
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,352
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 February 2014

My partner and I stayed in the 'Sanctuary' as a suprise treat between Christmas and New year before she is due to give birth in February. We could not fault a thing - the staff were polite and helpful, the suite was fantastic, the breakfast (served to the room) was especially good and well prepared.

We have both been to Bowness previously and it did not disappoint. Obviously it was cold and a bit wet but still nice to take a wake down by Windemere, and as always the local restaurants and cafes provided good service, atmosphere and food. With the weather not being great and a night in the local bars out of the question we visited the cinema and although small was a good spot!

Certainly got me n the good books and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
That’s a lovely surprise break for your partner; we’re not surprised it got you in the good books! It means a lot to hear that at those special times in your lives we can deliver to you and “not fault a thing”. All the best for you and your partner, we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We were looking for a couple of days in the Lake District to celebrate my birthday and after a bit of internet trawling came up with the Cranleigh, which offered bed and breakfast, but unlike other hotels included a cruise of lake Windermere, free use of a nearby spa facilities and a bottle of prosecco, for virtually the same price. Having now experienced it, we can say it did offer value for money - the service and breakfast was second to non (and we have stayed in supposedly superior hotels.) We took the free boat to Ambleside and did a short walk of Stock Ghyll and had a thoroughly enjoyable day. Unfortunately the Cranleigh does not have a resteraunt but having experienced the local quisine we can recommend the Angel Inn. We also found the parking at the hotel excellent and an easy walk into Bowness for shopping, restaurants, spa etc. Recommended.

Room Tip: As with everything in life it's personal choice and a compromise - the deco in room 8 suited us...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SAH66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time out to place a review on the hotel and for choosing us following your Internet search there is a lot of choice out there especially in the area and it’s great that you found us value for money and “the service and breakfast second to none”. Thanks for your recommendations; we hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Stayed here after reading other reviews on here and just felt I had to add to what others have said.

Don't waste your time looking at any other hotels, simply stay here, you will not be disappointed at all, it's simply perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you! Your review is excellent, I think we’ll share this as some point within our marketing. It means a lot to hear the passion within a review and it shows that we delivered beyond your expectations and this makes us happy, happy, happy! Hopefully see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We stayed at the Cranleigh on Sunday 26th January having won a free night in a luxury room with a promotion they regularly run on Facebook.

We arrived in Bowness and found the hotel straight away as it is excellently located off a side street right in the centre. We were greeted by a very friendly, professional member of staff who promptly showed us to our room which was next door (the hotel is in 2 houses), The room was beautiful and they had left us rose petals, a greeting letter and box of chocolates on the bed. We had also won a free bottle of champagne and this was already chilling for us. The room was extremely well presented and clean and the bathroom was fantastic, with a spa bath with mood lighting that changed colour and a tv at the end of the bath.
When we returned to the room after our meal on the night, they had turned down the bed and left us chocolates on the pillow.
The Cranleigh doesn't do evening meals but this isn't a problem as there are loads of fantastic eateries within a short walking distance. There is however, a lounge to chill out and they have a drinks menu from beers, wines, spirits, tea coffee and soft drinks.
There is also a spa that you can use a few yards up the road that does a vast array of treatments.
The breakfast is served in the dining hall and is absolutely delicious. Everything from cereals, fresh fruit, yoghurt to a full cumbrian cooked breakfast, eggs benedict and so on.
We would definately stay here again without a doubt and I can see why it has been voted No 1 on tripadvisor. Book with confidence! Thank you to the Cranleigh for a perfect chilled night away.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury room 16 however the hideaway suite or the sanctuary look fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivLodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thanks so much for your comprehensive review and for all your support on Facebook; it’s great that you had “a perfect chilled out night away”. You describe everything so well. We do get a few comments disappointed that we don’t do evening meals but when you have such a wide selection of local bars and restaurants only a stone throw away it isn’t really a problem as you suggest.
Thank you for suggesting, “book with confidence” too. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallasey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

My partner had booked well in advance for us to stay at the Cranleigh, we stayed in the Sanctuary suite this comes complete with its own private hot tub, stunning yet modern bathroom with glass bath and tv and power showers.
I can only describe our stay as fantastic, staff where polite and helpful, room was stunning and breakfast was fit for a queen :) I cannot wait to go here again.

Room Tip: Any room will be perfect :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review. It’s hard not to be impressed with the Sanctuary Suite and it is great that your stay was fantastic from the staff to the breakfast. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, all the best the Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

"Outstanding staff, beautiful retreat"
Not long returned from a night away at the cranleigh boutique, which could not have been more perfect! my boyfriend picked the hotel as a surprise for my 21st, the room was presented to a very high standard and spotless! Evan made complete with champagne on ice, petals on the bed, birthday balloon and cake. We stayed in room 12 and the highlight for me was the jaquzzi bath with a TV build into the wall :) from the window you could also see the lake. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to help, when we went out for a evening meal we returned to chocolates on the pillow and the duvet rolled back, a very special touch. The hotel is set in the ideal location with the lake, shops and restaurant all a short walk away.
We would both highly recommend this hotel, If you book in here a very special stay awaits you.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you for taking some time out to place your lovely review, it sounds like you had a fantastic birthday surprise! Happy 21tst! Brownie points for your boyfriend! Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back in the future. All the best, from all of the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,772 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing