We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love it!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We went for our wedding anniversary last July. We loved it! Even checking in was a pleasure - we were taken to our room (9) which was a nice touch - you usually get told the way & no more. Right in the eaves, it certainly had plenty of character. The staff couldn't have been more helpful & thoughtful. There were chocolates in the room upon arrival & everything we asked for was no trouble at all. We had taken the bikes for a leisurely ride out - though once we found Strawberry Bank it was anything but!! The bath afterwards certainly helped!! Breakfast was brilliant - how the staff managed to remain calm when there were so many guests is beyond me. We are returning in March & can't wait!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Public Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Ooooops - we've made a slight human error!

This review relates to the "Perfect 40th Birthday Treat" Review and vice versa!

First and foremost – Happy 40th Birthday! Secondly, what a lovely surprise for you! We’re glad you liked the extra touches to the service which we deliver and that you thought the room was beautiful also. It’s always so nice to hear that we have helped guests have a lovely stay especially when there is a celebration! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,728)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

815 - 821 of 1,728 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

We returned here for Valentines weekend and it was excellent as usual - a fantastic haven of luxury and romance with friendly and helpful staff (nothing was too much trouble) - the champagne was on ice when we arrived, the rose petals were scattered on the bed and as previously - the mattress on the bed just cuddles you to sleep. The choice at breakfast is varied for all tastes but to be honest I just can't resist the Cranleigh Breakfast - a proper full English breakfast cooked to perfection. One small bonus is that unlike most establishments in Bowness, parking is right out the front of the hotel - which apart from being very convenient (especially when its raining) is also free !!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2014

Thank you very much for reviewing your valentines’ weekend, it sounds like you had an excellent stay. We’re glad that you thought, “nothing was too much trouble” that insinuates to us that we couldn’t have done any more for you and we love to hear feedback like this.

It’s great that you have noticed the positives to our car park (that we offer all guests a space is a luxury we are proud of) though our spaces are either to the front, back or on our spill over car park but all close by and yes they’re all free for use by our guests.

We hope to welcome you back again soon, all the best.

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Just returned today from a wonderful 3 night stay at the Cranleigh. This is our 5th visit since 2012 and we chose to stay in room 9 this time, a beautiful 2nd floor room excellently presented. All staff were as always friendly, helpful and very approachable. A delicious breakfast was served every morning. My husband works long hours and when we leave here we both feel completely and utterly relaxed. Once again a faultless stay at a fantastic hotel . We can't wait to return in the summer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

How lovely that you have been so many times since 2012, it’s great that you can leave the hotel fully relaxed and ready to tackle the world again after your stay. Thanks as always for your nice comments on the staff and it’s great that your making your way round the rooms. I think Room 9 is my personal favorite! We look forward to welcoming you back in the summer.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

It was a last min decision to rescue my Wife and get away to a Lake District Bolthole in Bowness because When the day to day becomes a chore and colleagues wear you down , We needed to step back and re-energise and revisit ourselves.
Tripadvisor was consulted and within a short time the Cranleigh Boutique was booked for two nights instead of one (better deal and well recommended) Wowed by the luxury rooms and Bowness Charm (even on wet February weekends).We headed there late friday evening , and everything was just perfect, from the turned down bed , Red petal heart, chocolates and chilled Presceco, the decor stunning and glitsy bathroom with TV , our rejuvenation had begun , Saturday we arose to a Hearty house breakfast with attentive and polite service , the morning was spent walking and browsing the shops and refreshments (Hole in T wall) , we sought out the Spa Facilities which provided further relaxation opportunities with the pool,steam room and sauna , we melted and rejuvenated overlooking Wonderful Lake Windermere from the poolside.
just need to decide when we will return ?

Thankyou Cranleigh Staff
Well done you deserve every credit for a top stay and experience B-)

Room Tip: The rooms to the rear overlook the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheStantons2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2014

Thanks for taking some time to write a review on the hotel. It’s great that you consulted TripAdvisor initially and in turn having had a lovely stay came back to let others know too. Thanks for all your kind comments on the breakfast, service and rooms too, it means a lot to know that our guests can relax so much with us so much so that they want to plan a return on leaving. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Me and my fiancee booked to stay here for to nights from the 11th Feb, We arrived and were shown to our room. fantastically presented and clean.
Breakfast each morning was great, plenty of variety but for me the Eggs benedict is a must.

All staff we spoke to were friendly and helpful with any query.

We enjoyed it so much we booked an extra night and.....We will be back!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartC1912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thanks ever so much for taking some time out to review the hotel. We’re really glad that you had an enjoyable stay - so much so you decided to stay another night with us! We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Booked a stay on the 11 February 2014 although the weather was wet and snowy the Cranleigh certainly made up for it we stayed in the Sanctuary a nice separate building with bedroom (massive) Bathroom and private hot tub! The decor as expected was luxurious and divine with all the amenities expected. This is a perfect get away for couples wanting quality time the staff are pleasant and can get anything you require the breakfast is of a good standard with a good choice. i will definitely recommend and will be returning.

Many thanks for our wonderful stay Mr. Perkins

Room Tip: The Sanctuary is amazing!!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leslie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Sanctuary suite and for your recommendations in advance too. We’re super happy that you had an enjoyable stay with us. What a romantic treat, as you suggest it is perfect for quality time away together. We look forward to your return to the Lakes.
Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in the Sanctuary Suite for 2 nights. Our stay was perfect from the moment we arrived, friendly staff, spotlessly clean hotel and room and great location just a couple of minutes from restaurants in Bowness. Comfy bed, warm gas fire, enormous bathroom, private hot tub, I couldn't fault anything. Yes, the Suite is expensive but it's well worth it!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AideMemoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Great, thank you for another brilliant review for the Sanctuary suite! It’s nice of you to let other travellers know about the benefits of paying that little bit extra for one of our suites. We’re really happy that it matched your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to the Lakes at a later date.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,994 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £121 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing