We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of this world, an amazing luxury retreat!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Upon learning that I was being taken to the cranleigh for my birthday I was extremely excited, having seen reviews and photographs & following them on Facebook I knew I was in for a treat but nothing could prepare me for how truly stunning it is! We stayed in the sanctuary suite which is pretty much your own private bungalow complete with a beautiful fireplace, sumptuous furnishings, spacious glass bathtub and outdoor hot tub!
Upon arriving we were greeted in a friendly manner and given a glass of prosecco to enjoy in front of the open fire, the staff gave us lots of information about the local area and were only too happy to recommend places to eat or drink. We were also give a full tour of our suite to enable to use all of its features fully.The whole place smelled deliciously warm and cosy, and I was truly in awe of my surroundings. We chose not to even leave our suite as we had everything we could need, from the reasonably priced mini bar fridge to the Bose surround sound system. We wanted for nothing at all and loved every second of our stay.
Pictures, as beautiful as they are, can't capture the essence of the sanctuary suite, you feel at home instantly but in a way that a celebrity might live surrounded by beautiful luxurious items.
Breakfast was again fantastic with such a wide choice of local foods and having it brought to and served in your room was that added luxury, inkeeping with the whole theme of our stay. We felt sad to leave but it was a memorable experience that we would only too gladly repeat. We have even bought the same reed diffuser so that our house smells the same. Cannot recommend it enough for a special weekend or a romantic break!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepybaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a brilliant stay with us in the Sanctuary suite. We love that it was a memorable stay which you would “only too gladly repeat”. It’s super that you will be reminded of your stay through the smell in your home on a daily basis too. Thanks for your recommendations, hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

816 - 822 of 1,742 reviews

Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went here on a two night stay, on the 'fizz and sail' offer. Champagne on ice upon arrival and a ticket for a cruise on the lake. Have to say it's the best few nights away we have had in a while. Staff were lovely! Breakfast was delicious! Couldn't fault anything. The room was fantastic with the spa bath with tv (which the boyfriend enjoyed whilst football was on) comfy bed and the chocolate covered strawberries I ordered were there ready when we arrived. DVD library which had lots to choose from. Would definitely recommend this to anyone reading these reviews and have told all my friends. To finish off, we had booked a spa day and they let us keep the car there whilst we went for the day which was perfect for us! Well worth the money with service that was the best! Will be going back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

That’s great news that your break was the best few nights away you’ve had in a while. We love it when guests have a fabulous time with us, it’s all about making memories. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Great hotel, really friendly & helpful staff, epic breakfast, lovely area of the country to visit.

Really good pub & restaurants less than 5 minutes walk away. Linked spa is adequate. Definitely worth a long weekend visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DuncanRowlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for taking some time to review the hotel and for your recommendations also. We hope to welcome you back to the area in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Cannot express how much my wife and I enjoyed our stay. The Love you package was pre-booked and certainly made the right impression. A warm welcome from Elena and escorted to the room where everything was shown how to use including the underfloor heating in the Bathroom. Beautiful decor, wonderful spa bath and a great nights sleep.

Breakfast was outstanding and although busy service was attentive.

Made use of the Spa at the near hotel which is a nice free extra.

Cannot recommend enough

Room Tip: Based on saying in Room 12
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BHY12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks so much for writing a review on the hotel. It’s lovely to hear that despite busy peak periods our service was not affected and the breakfast was outstanding and you “cannot recommend enough” the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

We visit Bowness every year and always enjoy our break but staying at the Cranleigh has got to be the best yet!
From the moment we checked in we were made to feel special. We stayed for 2 nights and the surprises never ended. The room was immaculate and the staff couldn't do enough, especially Harry.
We had a great time on the boat trip with fantastic weather.
We hope Stephen has more great offers for the summer as we would love to come back and stay in the hideout.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

It’s fantastic to hear that your stay with us is your best yet! Such great feedback to receive – thank you. We’re really happy that you were made to feel special and we also would love to welcome you back in the future.

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I feel whatever has been said about this hotel more than adequately covers all the strong points. Really well thought off property with a very smooth arrival process and a great location. Don't expect views, but with the rooms so wonderfully done for a couples weekend, doubt you need to look outdoors. We were in Room 15 which was on ground floor and hence some noise from road. However with the great service and comfort of the room, a wet dreary day and night in Winderness was in deed made memorable.....

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZMR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the hotel, we’re really glad that the hotel delivered for you and it’s lovely to hear that the experience was memorable for you too. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Had an amazing time at the Cranleigh Hotel. Wonderful room and great staff.
Elena on Reception was very helpful showing us our room etc. The Luxury Room
14 was wonderful with great details, such as the LED lights in the Bathroom and shower,
under floor heating, TV screen at the end of the bath. The chocolates with the turn down service and the flower petals on the bed when we arrived were a lovely touch. Very close to all the great shops and restaurants and Bowness is a really lovely place. We really enjoyed the Bodega Bar (Spanish Tapas bar), they have a awesome selection of largers and Tapas. Would love to stay here again and would recommend to anyone.
Thanks Cranleigh for a very memorable few days.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Cathy,

Wow, 10 out of 10. That’s great – thank you! It sounds like you did have an amazing stay, which is brilliant. Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to make more memorable memories!

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
506 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,039 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,076 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £134 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing