We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Faultless get away"”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary, and couldn't have picked anywhere better. We used one of the offers available (2nts, bottle of fizz & a lake cruise) and thought it was good value. From check in to check out we were made to feel welcome by the very helpful staff. The room (2) was spotless and the service at breakfast was faultless. We made use of the spa which is only a small stroll away, and it was very relaxing for the both of us. Love to stay again in the near future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks very much for taking some time out to review the hotel. It sounds like you had a lovely relaxing break with us, which is great. Hopefully we’ll be able to welcome you in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

798 - 804 of 1,729 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2014

The cranleigh boutique is a beautiful hotel, we were made to feel extremely welcome and valued from booking to return home. The rooms and all areas were immaculately clean and stunningly decorated.
We will definitely be staying again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morpeth2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thanks for taking some time to write a review on the hotel. We’re really glad you were happy with your stay and that you thought the hotel was beautiful, we most definitely will look forward to seeing you again too.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here for one night in room 9 and it was great from start to finish. Room beautiful, service fantastic, nothing was to much trouble. Made use of the spa at the nearby macdonald hotel, went first thing in the morning and had the place to ourselves. Couldn't have asked for more. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you for your lovely review. It’s always nice to hear comments like ‘nothing was too much trouble’. That’s a good tip that you give regarding the Spa as sometimes it can get busy with guests and it’s always wise to maximize your enjoyment whenever possible! We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Recently stayed at the Cranleigh and, as per the majority, thought it was superb.
The two houses combine to make an impressive setting and look the business.

Check-in was smooth and we were shown to our room (14) in the property next door - first impressions count and they delivered a great experience in terms of friendly staff and room appearance.

The facilities, staff, service and property are great - the only niggle or two is the expectation built prior to the visit. You do feel from the website and advertising that it will blow your socks off, however, while very very good it didn't quite achieve that.

To be fair this is probably due to our personal feelings - for the full price paid we expect there to be no issues or concerns but after a few hours we did comment. These were relevantly minor: the mood lighting is nice but not useful when trying to shave or apply make-up
perhaps the addition of sky/ cable tv to increase channels
on our second night we did hear a little noise from other roooms.
It seemed the room was still recovering slightly from a bath water leak from the room above in the previous week - again only small but not expected.
The lovely continental breakfast to the room would have been good as we're not really morning people but that option is not available.

The Cranleigh location is brilliant, literally a few hundred metres away from the village centre. Bowness is a lovely place and lake Windermere is outstanding.

Overall I rate the stay as very good, we would like to return but would probably do so using one of the Cranleigh's offers to reduce costs and improve the value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bobdenis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your review. We’re really pleased that we made a good first impression with you and that the staff, service, room and location all supported your review to a ‘very good standard’. I’d just like to take a second to apologise for the few minor issues with your stay. Being a girl I know full well when it comes to putting your make-up on lighting is crucial! We’ll take a look at this to see if there is anyway in which we can improve it.

Sky Tv is something which we have looked at previously, currently our extensive list of DVDs seems to tick those boxes - this is such a brilliant addition to the stay but thanks for suggesting and it is something which we will bear in mind.

We’re sorry that other guests’ noise levels impacted on your stay, we try our best to minimize this but naturally in a guesthouse this isn’t always possible. If we are made aware or notice such noises we certainly act upon them and can only apologise for any noise after.

There was a leak caused by previous guests prior to your stay however this was repaired immediately for your arrival and is possible that this was recovering as you suggest.

We’re really pleased that as a whole the hotel matched a very good rating for you and we would really love to welcome you back in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014 via mobile

Where do you start! This hotel is five stars and after staying you can appreciate why!
Was a little more expensive than we would normally pay, but as my 30th birthday treat my fella had booked 2 nights in room ten, and it was perfect!
Got there late Saturday, no where to park at front or rear, but where shown where to park at the neighbouring hotel only minutes walk away, brilliant!
We're shown to our room on check in, lady on reception lovely, showed us how everything from underfloor heating to air bath worked, told us times of breakfast and reception being manned, informed us of places to eat and if we wanted reservations to ask her and she would book it! Very helpful!!!
The room was beautiful. My fella had paid extra for chocolates and champagne! All ready and waiting for me!
The mini bar in the room was reasonably priced, which did surprise me!
Breakfast was nice, a choice of cooked food, even though there wasn't much cereal choice, (but that's just me being picky!)
So local to everything you don't need to use the car once!
All I can say this is the place to stay. Loved every single minute of it and can't find anything bad to say about the place, the only thing that was off putting is the next hotel was having work right next to our room and woke us early (not a hotel fault!) so I cannot mark it down!
Amazing staff, so polite and helpful, the house keeping we saw when we returned was lovely, chatting away to us as she was cleaning bless her, telling us where was best to eat!
I have high standards when it comes to customer service and all of you at cranleigh are doing an amazing job hence my five stars
So keep up your hard work guys!!!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Gemmie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

First and foremost Happy 30th Birthday! It sounds like you had a great stay with us, which is super! We’re really glad you thought the service to be helpful and the room beautiful. We’re quite pleased too when we get comments about the mini bar as we try to have this area lower priced for our guests.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Upon learning that I was being taken to the cranleigh for my birthday I was extremely excited, having seen reviews and photographs & following them on Facebook I knew I was in for a treat but nothing could prepare me for how truly stunning it is! We stayed in the sanctuary suite which is pretty much your own private bungalow complete with a beautiful fireplace, sumptuous furnishings, spacious glass bathtub and outdoor hot tub!
Upon arriving we were greeted in a friendly manner and given a glass of prosecco to enjoy in front of the open fire, the staff gave us lots of information about the local area and were only too happy to recommend places to eat or drink. We were also give a full tour of our suite to enable to use all of its features fully.The whole place smelled deliciously warm and cosy, and I was truly in awe of my surroundings. We chose not to even leave our suite as we had everything we could need, from the reasonably priced mini bar fridge to the Bose surround sound system. We wanted for nothing at all and loved every second of our stay.
Pictures, as beautiful as they are, can't capture the essence of the sanctuary suite, you feel at home instantly but in a way that a celebrity might live surrounded by beautiful luxurious items.
Breakfast was again fantastic with such a wide choice of local foods and having it brought to and served in your room was that added luxury, inkeeping with the whole theme of our stay. We felt sad to leave but it was a memorable experience that we would only too gladly repeat. We have even bought the same reed diffuser so that our house smells the same. Cannot recommend it enough for a special weekend or a romantic break!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sleepybaybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. It sounds like you had a brilliant stay with us in the Sanctuary suite. We love that it was a memorable stay which you would “only too gladly repeat”. It’s super that you will be reminded of your stay through the smell in your home on a daily basis too. Thanks for your recommendations, hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went here on a two night stay, on the 'fizz and sail' offer. Champagne on ice upon arrival and a ticket for a cruise on the lake. Have to say it's the best few nights away we have had in a while. Staff were lovely! Breakfast was delicious! Couldn't fault anything. The room was fantastic with the spa bath with tv (which the boyfriend enjoyed whilst football was on) comfy bed and the chocolate covered strawberries I ordered were there ready when we arrived. DVD library which had lots to choose from. Would definitely recommend this to anyone reading these reviews and have told all my friends. To finish off, we had booked a spa day and they let us keep the car there whilst we went for the day which was perfect for us! Well worth the money with service that was the best! Will be going back

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Becky Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2014

That’s great news that your break was the best few nights away you’ve had in a while. We love it when guests have a fabulous time with us, it’s all about making memories. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
477 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
3,005 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £120 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing