We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The perfect "mini moon"”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect "mini moon"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

We had a planned a 2 day, 1 night stay in Bowness and we were very excited given the reviews and pictures of Cranleigh before we arrived.
We arrived an hour earlier than planned and was given the warmest of welcome by reception who allowed us to check in early, which was great as the weather was dreadful.
We were shown to our room and given a detailed explanation of how the gorgeous air spa bath works, we couldnt wait to try it! After approximately 30min in our room, reception gave us a cortesy call, which was great as we did have questions about the facilities and also wanted to rent a dvd from the extensive library.
As it was our "mini moon" we were blown away with the added extras and the personal touch that was given to us during our stay.
The attention to detail, the quality of the finish and not to mention the staff in our opinion is 5*. We will deffinately only ever use this hotel when in Bowness and we have already recommended to our friends and family!
Amazing!
Thank you Cranleigh for making our stay so special :-)

Room Tip: The superior rooms add that little bit more of luxury and the air spa baths are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMarks81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, what nice comments to hear. We’re really happy that we could make such a special occasion memorable for you both and that you thought the service and the standard of the rooms were the 5* experience you deserve! With thanks of course for your recommendations to your family and friends and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

All the Best
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,643 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,360
    205
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,354
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Catterick, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the cranleigh very nice hotel with fancy features and very clean. Our room was a bit small and you could here the guests in the room next to us and also the tv which they seemed to keep on all night. Bathroom was lovely with heated floors and fancy lighting in the bath no shower though. Breakfast was fairly average but nice. The staff were helpful but it seemed a bit forced and not very genuine.
We were told we would have champagne and Chocs in the room but only got champagne no Chocs so a bit disappointed. Overall a nice stay but not sure it was worth the quite pricey amount we paid.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thanks for taking some time to review the hotel, we’re pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you did get the luxury feel from the features that the hotel has to offer.
I believe you were staying following a late booking and therefore there was limited availability regarding the room choice. I’ve spoken with the hotel manager and I believe that you received all that was part of the March Madness offer, which you booked. We’re glad you did have a nice stay with us and thank you for choosing the Cranleigh and wish you all the best.

With thanks
Emma Dickinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a couple weeks back celebrating me and my wife's 2nd wedding anniversary.
I booked on line, room 16. Upon arrival we were able to check in a lil earlier which was great.
Upon entering room, champagne on ice, strawberries dipped choc, rose petals and a box o chocs all in the room waiting.
Room was clean and comfortable. The spa bath with mood lighting was excellent. Heater floors also which was a nice touch.
Reception booked us a table at porto. Excellent restaurant. And an amazing fire place in the main building. Breakfast was good

Another thing, the receptionist was amazingly friendly.

Definitely will be back some time

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Del99uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time out to review the hotel, we love your title from the review "what more can I ask for". Happy Wedding Anniversary to you and your wife also, we hope to welcome you back to the area and the hotel in the future.

All the Best
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We were attended to by Elena who was very nice and friendly, check-in was smooth. Booked Luxury Room 9 and the room was cosy and lovely, on the top floor and had little windows that offers peek into the Lake. Great for couple. The hotel also provided extras in the room that delighted us! Bed was very comfortable and we had a good sleep. Jet spa bathtub was cool. Hotel location is just 3 minutes' walk to the lake and city area, which is great. Went to the nearby spa but unfortunately it was fully booked, hence, advisable to book early next time. Gym looks good too. Last but not least, breakfast was lovely and the coffee was very good! Had a very enjoyable stay with my husband.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KimmyLim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review. It sounds like you had a super comfortable stay with us.
Yes it is definitely advisable to book treatments at the Spa prior to arrival as they are very popular and likewise with the Spa facilities there are certain peak times too so booking a Spa pass is also recommended; Reception can help with this in future. Thanks for all your kind comments, we’re really happy that you had a “very enjoyable stay” and we hope to welcome you back in the future sometime.

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

The Hotel was lovely, perfect place for a romantic weekend. Breakfast was really nice and I was really pleased with vegetarian options. Even though we didn't have much choice as there was only one standard room left to book, still... it was absolutely beautiful! I will definitely go back there and recommend it to everyone!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adriana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you for taking some time to review the Cranleigh. We’re really glad that you were pleased with the vegetarian breakfasts; we try to accommodate all dietary requirements so this feedback is most welcomed.
Thanks in advance for your recommendations and we look forwards to welcoming you back in the future.

With Thanks
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

Just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at The Cranleigh. The staff were friendly, the rooms superb,(we stayed in Room 8)Our package included complimentary champagne and chocolates ~ what more could a girl ask for! The food is yummy with lots of choices (nice for people who don't just want full English)All in all a fabulous hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y4yvonneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review, it pleases us that you had a “wonderful stay” at our hotel and that you had all you could wish for in order to make your stay memorable and enjoyable. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

All the Best
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southsea, hamshire
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just returned from a weekend at the Cranleigh, it was really wonderful, from the minute we arrived and were welcomed by the lovely Michaela and allowed to check in early we knew any of the previous negative comments which had been posted should be taken with a large pinch of salt ! It's so centrally located, plenty of free parking, a gorgeous roaring fire in the lounge and superbly appointed rooms, our bathroom with spa bath and separate shower was gorgeous. The breakfasts are plentiful and tasty, the staff are all very polite & helpful. We bought some wines with us which they happily chilled and served us in the lounge ( at no extra charge ! ), local restaurants were recommended and didn't disappoint (Porto & the tapas Bodega) even though the hotel was quite full you hardly saw anyone until breakfast time, I would totally recommend the hotel for a cheeky little weekend away to treat yourself, the beds are so comfy you won't want to leave. Well worth every penny!

Room Tip: They all look great, rear facing ones have partial views of the lake, we opted for a road facing roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JO B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Thank you very much for writing such a nice and comprehensive review. It sounds like we ticked the boxes for you, which makes us more than happy!
We love your comment “I would totally recommend the hotel for a cheeky little weekend away to treat yourself, the beds are so comfy you won't want to leave.”
We thank you in advance for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back to the area and the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,301 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,777 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing