We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed at the Cranleigh on 17th April for 2 nights. We arrived too early for check in, but the reception staff were more than happy to look after our bags while we had lunch in the village. When we returned to check in, our bags had already been brought to our room which was a nice touch, as was the chocolates and Huggie bear. Our room was perfect for us, the bed was incredibly comfortable and the bathroom underfloor heating and waterfall shower was fantastic. We ordered room service which was value for money and speedy fast! The breakfast the next morning was delicious, the staff friendly and efficient. We then went out for a walk to Brant Fell where my boyfriend proposed! On return to the hotel, they had candles, rose petals and champagne waiting in the room, which topped off a perfect day! The staff were so nice! We then walked over to the spa, which was nice but a bit small as it was a busy Easter weekend. I cannot think of a single thing to complain about at the Cranleigh. I've already recommended it to friends and family and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Oh how lovely! What a great review, thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay with us. I think we’ll use this within our marketing. Many Congratulations to you both. We thank you for all of your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back for many more happy memories in the future.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed 15th April for 2 nights. This hotel is faultless, the staff can not do enough for you and really lovely. The room was absolutely gorgeous, we were in room 7 which has recently been decorated, its very classy and modern. The bathroom was fantastic with the spa bath along with TV! On arrival we had a bottle of champagne in the room as we booked 2 nights with an offer, and each night our bed was made with chocolates on the pillow - which I loved! The breakfast was delicious. The location is ideal just a minutes walk to the village with lots of restaurants and little shops, and of course the lake. Overall I honestly wouldn't fault a thing, the hotel is luxurious and the staff are lovely, and I would recommend to anyone in need of a special treat. Thanks for an amazing stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Charli P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thanks ever so much for taking some time out to place a review on the Cranleigh. It’s great that you found the hotel “faultless” this makes us proud and gives us the knowledge that we’re all doing our jobs well. Thanks for giving us great feedback on the hotel breakfast - a regular Brownie point winner for us and the staff of course too.
We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Firstly I would like to Thank all the staff at Cranleigh who went totally out of there way to give us a great experience. The suite we booked was perfection, so clean & very modern. Great location minute walk to shops, restaurants, spa, bar ect. Lake view & very close. Loads of activity around lake eg renting boats, trips ect. We had breakfast in bed in the morning which was spot on a specially as I am a Vegan & they catered to my eating requirements. I would 100% recommend this fabulous hotel :)

Room Tip: The bigger the better :p
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you very much for passing on your thanks, we’re really pleased that you had the experience you deserve! It’s also great to hear you were more than satisfied with the breakfast given your specific dietary requirements, we try our best to accommodate everyone.
Thanks for your recommendations and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here on 12.03.14. It was supposed to be a nice romantic break away but it turned out he had to have an operation on his hand that morning so we didn't arrive until late at night. The receptionist when we got there was so helpful after we said he had had an op that day and went out of her way to help us upstairs. She recommended a lovely place for us to eat as we were starving. The room was stunning. There was champagne waiting for us (although my partner was still a bit woozy, I really enjoyed it!!) and there were petals on the bed along with a box of gorgeous luxury chocolates. Huge bathroom and the shower was amazing. The spa bath was lovely and my boyfriend thought the idea of having a TV in the bath was amazing!!! The breakfast was wonderful and there was plenty of it. We were due to go on the lake cruise but my partner didn't get much sleep as he was in pain with his hand and so we decided to go home earlier than expected and so we also didnt have chance to use the spa facilities but this is at a McDonald Hotel down the road so no doubt it would have been delightful. This was a wonderful treat for us and I will most certainly book again. I have also liked their page on Facebook which has details of offers and competitions! Well worth the add!!
Thank you again x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you very much for your review, we hope your husband is well and truly on the mend. We love to referral to Facebook also as we do have a lot of information on there and of course the competitions!
We’re really glad you had a comfortable break despite everything and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Kind Regards
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Such a luxury place to stay and attention to detail on service and finishing touches. :-) the staff were so lovely. We stayed in room 16, amazing. Loved the mood lighting in the bathroom. The beds are large and very comfy. Breakfast was cooked fresh and excellent quality. Highly recommend anyone to stay. A beautiful romantic place

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we’re really pleased you had a luxurious stay and we thank you in advance for your recommendations.
Hoping to welcome you again to the area.

Best Wishes
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our second visit in two years was as memorable as the first visit. The room was well furnished and extremely comfortable despite the bathroom being a little on the small side for a larger person. Everything you need in the bathroom such as shower gel, body lotion, shampoo, conditioner etc. is provided. The staff are really welcoming and helpful whenever the need to interact arises. The breakfasts are of a high stanndard.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadTravelDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
Thanks for your lovely words, we’re really glad that we exceled on your return visit as much as your first and our breakfast and rooms were to the high standard you deserve!
We hope to welcome you back again to the hotel in the future.

All the Best
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for somewhere romantic to stay for our 25th wedding anniversary. We looked on the net for hotels in the lakes, and came across The Cranleigh. We were originally going to book room 10 but then we saw the escape suite, although it was more expensive we thought as it is our 25th we should splash out a little. When we got there we were not disappointed with anything. Champagne and chocolate on arrival (ordered in advance) very friendly staff and the room was better than expected. The carpet in the room was really thick and soft. We loved the fact that there was a divider between the bed and the lounge area. The spa bath was gorgeous and the double shower was wonderful. I told one if the staff that I would love to live there. We had the option of having breakfast delivered to our room but decided against it. The service was excellent. If we ever go to the lakes again I would definitely book The Cranleigh. Five stars doesn't give it justice. Highly recommended.

Kevin and Lisa Foreman.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cageyeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 17 April 2014
We love your statements “when we got there we were not disappointed with anything” and “Five stars doesn’t give it justice”. Thank you very much for taking some time out to tell us about your special occasion – Happy 25th wedding anniversary! We hope to see you again in the future should you come back to the area.

Kind Reagrds
Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing