We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay is not enough to appreciate how fabulous this hotel is”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
“One night stay is not enough to appreciate how fabulous this hotel is”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed in the Cranleigh. I brought my other half away for his birthday and we stayed in the hideout boutique house. The house is full of glamour and style from top to bottom. The most impressive room was the basement (private bar and jacuzzi) we were gutted we had only booked one night as we didn't want to leave! The staff were wonderful, couldn't do enough for us and even gave us a free bottle of champagne as we had trouble working the technology when we first arrived. I will definitely be returning to the Cranleigh once again to experience the luxury and warm, friendly welcome from the staff, they can not do enough for you!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 722347clarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you so much for placing a review on the Hideout Boutique House, we’re really glad that you had another great stay with us. The house as you suggest does make you want to stay longer than a night there is so much to enjoy! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,358
    205
    61
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,352
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel, we previously did 18 months ago and were really impressed.
To be honest as nice as it still is I do think standards have slipped from the previous stay.
This time we stayed in room 14. As nice as it was for the price of it I expected more.
The room was far too hot, even with the windows wide open and the fan that is supplied in the wardrobe. I dread to think what it will be like in the summer! The problem was that there was building work going on across the road at another hotel. This started really early and with the window open we were then up early too. Obviously this isn't the cranleigh's fault but maybe guests should be made aware of this.
The bathroom smelt very odd, quite drainy at times. Not great when there is a lovely spa bath in there that you want to enjoy.
Other minor things which surprised me in comparison to last time. The bathrobes were frayed and tired, carpet coming away in places, bathroom door wouldn't shut properly.
However it is still a very good hotel. The location can't be beaten, breakfast was lovely and staff all very pleasant just seemed the detail wasn't quite there this time. Would I stay again...maybe not.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking sometime to place a review on the hotel. We’re really sorry that you weren’t as satisfied as your previous visit to us. Your comments have been passed to management. It’s a shame as we were not aware of any issues during your stay and we would have tried our hardest to rectify them for you as we hate to have guests’ unsatisfied. We can only apologise that the robes were not up to standard, they should not have been put within your room and the same for the noise from down the road it is distracting we agree but this unfortunately is out of our control.

Should you decide to stay again in the future we would love to have you and we would try to rectify your change of impression, please do advise us if you do book again.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The Hideout Boutique House is marketed as the best place to stay in the North of England, but it doesn't quite hit the mark, and isn't worth the price tag.

I'm not saying we didn't enjoy it, and there were certainly lots of plus points and features you don't find in other places. It's good, but it's just not quite THAT good...

From the marketing and price, I was expecting excellence, and I've paid only slightly more and got that at other places in England. However, there were just too many niggles at the Hideout to justify the price, eg:-

1) Penny pinching on the continental breakfast provided - especially if staying for more than the 1 night (we stayed 3) - e.g., previous reviews highlighted the problem of single servings of cereals when the 2 of you may want the same - management responded that this had been resolved - so why was it the case on our stay? C'mon, fill the fridge and overdo it on the cereals, etc. for £500+ per night!?

2) Minor but irritating technical issues with the gadgets - e.g., ice machine broke down, Netflix needed iTunes account (not provided), Apple TV kept shutting down, etc. - everything should be checked between guests to ensure it works

3) Spa bath took ages to fill, barely enough hot water to fill it, comedy moments with the flow of water causing the waste plug to rotate/empty bath whilst trying to fill it, etc.

Having said all that, it was still a nice chilled out place to stay and better than a hotel. It's just that we had very high expectations that weren't quite lived up to.

Hopefully the feedback will be taken on board by the management, so I'd say it's worth a try if you want something out of the ordinary in the Lake District, especially if the niggles are resolved.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff_in_Sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Thank you for taking some time out to place your feedback to us. We’re really sorry that you found there to be niggly bits to your stay. Management has been made aware of your comments and we will most definitely take them on board as we do all.
I’ve discussed your stay with the hotel manager. I’ve been informed that you requested no house keeping throughout your stay to the receptionist on check-in, during stay-overs housekeeping ensure that any toiletries or cereals are topped up daily if wanted. We’re sorry that there wasn’t enough on check-in to last you through the 3 days of your stay and we will take this feedback on board for future bookings. Of course the hotel also offers you breakfast as advised but we do appreciate that you should have enough during your stay in the Hideout, it’s just a little hard to judge sometimes which is why house keeping would have benefited your stay. We will ensure that the communication is clear on this to guests in the future so to avoid any further issues.

Regarding the technical difficulties you have mentioned it’s a shame that we found out about these after your stay, as reception would have been able to rectify them for you.

We’re glad that you still had a chilled out stay with us and we take your feedback on board, please accept our apologies for any expectations that weren’t met. We hope to welcome you back to the area in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Earby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in Luxury Room 14 on the 24th April, The receptionist was very friendly and offered to carry our bags to the room. On arrival in the room, there were complimentary chocolates on the bed along with rose petals (not paid for, so a very nice touch) also a huggie bear on the bed with a story about adopting him (very cute) and a Cranleigh rubber duck (nearly brought him home with me!). The bathroom was amazing, with separate shower and air spa bath with a TV at one end. The room was immaculately clean and could not fault anything. It was a lovely day, which did result in the room getting very warm whilst getting ready but there was a fan available in the room. That evening we ate at Porto restaurant just a few minutes walk from the hotel, the food there was amazing and I would highly recommend it, there were many other restaurants just a short stroll from the hotel aswell. When we arrived back at the hotel, the mood lighting had been switched on, the room tidied and more chocolates on the bed! We ordered a film and bottle of champagne to the room, which were delivered within minutes, nothing was too much for the receptionist and she was always happy to help. The bed was extremely comfy and although building work was going on across the road this did not disrupt our stay at all. The breakfast was lovely again nothing too much hassle for the staff. Overall a fantastic place to stay with lovely added extras, superb place to celebrate. The following day we made use of the Spa facilities nearby, a lovely way to finish our break.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becca_Ciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
What a lovely all rounded review, thank you so much for taking the time to write this. We’re really glad that you have had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed all that the rooms and facilities offer, friendly service and the added extras also . We wish you had taken the duck, we have ordered some extras this week so that our guests can start a little duck family!! We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this surprise for my husbands birthday. Loved the room, and the added touch of the TV at one end of the jacuzzi bath. We of course fought for the best end. Breakfast was good.
The short walk into Windermere took us all of a couple of minutes.
Great location. Loved it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Many thanks for sharing your stay with us. We’re really happy that our hotel matched your expectations and that we could be that special place to celebrate your husbands birthday. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
159 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

We've just had a wonderful short break at the Cranleigh hotel and it was perfect for our romantic weekend away.

When we checked-in the greeting from the receptionist was warm and friendly. The hotel is very nicely decorated with quality furnishings.

We stayed in room 11 which is in the annex building just a few metres away from the main hotel. The room was very nicely decorated to a high standard with a good sized bed, plenty of storage, wall mounted tv in the bedroom and a fabulous jacuzzi bath (with hand shower and flat screen. tv). On arrival the bed was scattered with rose petals and a small box of very nice chocolates. These were replenished every day.

The breakfast on both days was superb. We ordered different a breakfast each morning and each course was cooked perfectly and very well presented. Top quality!

The hotel has free parking and is located approx 300 metres from the town centre and lake. Residents can use the free spa at the old English hotel in town but we didn't get chance to use it.

Overall, this hotel is excellent. Two nights in the superior room was £350 and although this may appear expensive, spending the extra money really made the weekend feel extra romantic and special. I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, the decor, the staff and the quality of the food and service. Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Clarkiefrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking some time to review the hotel. We love your statement “I cannot speak highly enough of this hotel, the decor, the staff and the quality of the food and service. Highly recommended. You will not be disappointed.”

We’re really pleased that you had a romantic stay with us and that we could help create special memories.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Had heard lots of very good things prior to booking so very much looking forward to the stay. We stayed 2 nights on a deal where we had champagne waiting in the room (luxury room 14) on arrival and a free huggie bear, very nice! I was very happy with our stay and there were a number of positives, namely:

Very nice breakfast and stff more than happy to let you mix and match items!
Excellent staff service at breakfast and very helpful receptionist who advised us on walks. Also nice touch to have a courtesy call shortly after settling into the room and after we left
Room and bathroom were spotlessly clean- couldn't fault this
Spa bath and shower in room were amazing!
Nice toiletries which were topped up each day and lovely turn down service with chocolates left on the pillows with rose petals and complimentary filtered water much appreciated
Gorgeous views of the lake and we enjoyed the spa facilities at the nearby hotel
Very comfy bed

Only slight areas for improvement I could see (and I'm being picky here trying to find any!) were possibly more selection in in room drinks (my partner doesn't like tea/coffee so maybe some hot chocolate sachets and sweetener), blinds didn't make room fully dark when closed and possibly a mini fridge/mini bar in luxury rooms. Also check in was 3pm and check out was 11am and would have possibly preferred check in 2pm and check out 12pm so we could enjoy more of the room, especially for those staying one night only.

One downside for us was it was unfortunately quite hot in the room despite us turning the heaters off and the underfloor heating off so I had to get up in the night to open windows and we were then awoken very early on both days by building work in the hotel across the road, not the hotels fault I know but may have been helpful to prewarn us of this as they started around 7am and it was very loud. However, this did not ruin our stay and I would love to return and stay in one of the suites. Seemed a little expensive but good value on the deal so would definitely return again on an offer. Doing a great job!

Room Tip: Luxury 14 great as had shower and bath and view of lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klock12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks very much for placing a comprehensive review on the hotel. We’re really pleased that you were happy with your stay.
Your recommendations have been passed to management for review.
We ensure that all rooms have a fan within so that guests can remain cool on particular warm days and extra fans are available also although we appreciate that through the night you are very unlikely to come and request for this! Regarding the building work over the road we have spoken to the hotel since your review to reduce the impact on our guests. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,298 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,329 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing