We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic romantic getaway”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had been together for 20 years on the 6th if May, so what better way to spend it in the cranleigh hideaway suite!!! I follow the Cranleigh on Facebook and I'm always amazed on how fantastic it looks. Well it definitely didn't disappoint!!! The room was amazing, the location was so close the centre of bowness. We used the spa facilities too and booked into have a massage their aswell. The breakfast brought to our suite the following morning was rather tasty too! Couldn't resist buying Huggy bear too as a reminder of our stay away!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charliewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing the Cranleigh after your stay. Glad you had an amazing time for your anniversary! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

747 - 753 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

My husband and I recently stayed at The Cranleigh after I won the Valentines Day Facebook competition and what a prize it was! We chose to stay in room 6 and I definately chose well! After being shown to our room by the lovely lady on reception who insisted on carrying my heavy bag we were greeted with champagne on ice, rose petals on the bed and chocolates and of course the teddy bear take home much to our daughters delight! The room was beautiful with a thick carpet that your feet sank into as soon as you walked in the door, a lovely big room decorated to the highest standard. The bathroom was huge with a tv at the foot of the jacuzzi bath and also a separate shower. The full English breakfast next morning was delicious and very filling with a choice of pastries and cereals also. The location of the hotel is fantastic with the lake and shops just a minutes walk away. Overall an amazing hotel with lovely, friendly and helpful staff it's just a shame we only stayed the one night! We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a relaxing luxury break away. Thankyou sooooo much!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you very much for taking some time to review the Cranleigh. Congratulations on your win, we’re really glad you had a brilliant stay with us. Thanks in advance for your recommendations also. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014

This is the second time my partner and I have stayed in the Cranleigh. I brought my other half away for his birthday and we stayed in the hideout boutique house. The house is full of glamour and style from top to bottom. The most impressive room was the basement (private bar and jacuzzi) we were gutted we had only booked one night as we didn't want to leave! The staff were wonderful, couldn't do enough for us and even gave us a free bottle of champagne as we had trouble working the technology when we first arrived. I will definitely be returning to the Cranleigh once again to experience the luxury and warm, friendly welcome from the staff, they can not do enough for you!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 722347clarky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for placing a review on the Hideout Boutique House, we’re really glad that you had another great stay with us. The house as you suggest does make you want to stay longer than a night there is so much to enjoy! We certainly look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With Thanks

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed at the hotel, we previously did 18 months ago and were really impressed.
To be honest as nice as it still is I do think standards have slipped from the previous stay.
This time we stayed in room 14. As nice as it was for the price of it I expected more.
The room was far too hot, even with the windows wide open and the fan that is supplied in the wardrobe. I dread to think what it will be like in the summer! The problem was that there was building work going on across the road at another hotel. This started really early and with the window open we were then up early too. Obviously this isn't the cranleigh's fault but maybe guests should be made aware of this.
The bathroom smelt very odd, quite drainy at times. Not great when there is a lovely spa bath in there that you want to enjoy.
Other minor things which surprised me in comparison to last time. The bathrobes were frayed and tired, carpet coming away in places, bathroom door wouldn't shut properly.
However it is still a very good hotel. The location can't be beaten, breakfast was lovely and staff all very pleasant just seemed the detail wasn't quite there this time. Would I stay again...maybe not.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hoob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking sometime to place a review on the hotel. We’re really sorry that you weren’t as satisfied as your previous visit to us. Your comments have been passed to management. It’s a shame as we were not aware of any issues during your stay and we would have tried our hardest to rectify them for you as we hate to have guests’ unsatisfied. We can only apologise that the robes were not up to standard, they should not have been put within your room and the same for the noise from down the road it is distracting we agree but this unfortunately is out of our control.

Should you decide to stay again in the future we would love to have you and we would try to rectify your change of impression, please do advise us if you do book again.

Best Wishes

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

The Hideout Boutique House is marketed as the best place to stay in the North of England, but it doesn't quite hit the mark, and isn't worth the price tag.

I'm not saying we didn't enjoy it, and there were certainly lots of plus points and features you don't find in other places. It's good, but it's just not quite THAT good...

From the marketing and price, I was expecting excellence, and I've paid only slightly more and got that at other places in England. However, there were just too many niggles at the Hideout to justify the price, eg:-

1) Penny pinching on the continental breakfast provided - especially if staying for more than the 1 night (we stayed 3) - e.g., previous reviews highlighted the problem of single servings of cereals when the 2 of you may want the same - management responded that this had been resolved - so why was it the case on our stay? C'mon, fill the fridge and overdo it on the cereals, etc. for £500+ per night!?

2) Minor but irritating technical issues with the gadgets - e.g., ice machine broke down, Netflix needed iTunes account (not provided), Apple TV kept shutting down, etc. - everything should be checked between guests to ensure it works

3) Spa bath took ages to fill, barely enough hot water to fill it, comedy moments with the flow of water causing the waste plug to rotate/empty bath whilst trying to fill it, etc.

Having said all that, it was still a nice chilled out place to stay and better than a hotel. It's just that we had very high expectations that weren't quite lived up to.

Hopefully the feedback will be taken on board by the management, so I'd say it's worth a try if you want something out of the ordinary in the Lake District, especially if the niggles are resolved.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jeff_in_Sheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Thank you for taking some time out to place your feedback to us. We’re really sorry that you found there to be niggly bits to your stay. Management has been made aware of your comments and we will most definitely take them on board as we do all.
I’ve discussed your stay with the hotel manager. I’ve been informed that you requested no house keeping throughout your stay to the receptionist on check-in, during stay-overs housekeeping ensure that any toiletries or cereals are topped up daily if wanted. We’re sorry that there wasn’t enough on check-in to last you through the 3 days of your stay and we will take this feedback on board for future bookings. Of course the hotel also offers you breakfast as advised but we do appreciate that you should have enough during your stay in the Hideout, it’s just a little hard to judge sometimes which is why house keeping would have benefited your stay. We will ensure that the communication is clear on this to guests in the future so to avoid any further issues.

Regarding the technical difficulties you have mentioned it’s a shame that we found out about these after your stay, as reception would have been able to rectify them for you.

We’re glad that you still had a chilled out stay with us and we take your feedback on board, please accept our apologies for any expectations that weren’t met. We hope to welcome you back to the area in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in Luxury Room 14 on the 24th April, The receptionist was very friendly and offered to carry our bags to the room. On arrival in the room, there were complimentary chocolates on the bed along with rose petals (not paid for, so a very nice touch) also a huggie bear on the bed with a story about adopting him (very cute) and a Cranleigh rubber duck (nearly brought him home with me!). The bathroom was amazing, with separate shower and air spa bath with a TV at one end. The room was immaculately clean and could not fault anything. It was a lovely day, which did result in the room getting very warm whilst getting ready but there was a fan available in the room. That evening we ate at Porto restaurant just a few minutes walk from the hotel, the food there was amazing and I would highly recommend it, there were many other restaurants just a short stroll from the hotel aswell. When we arrived back at the hotel, the mood lighting had been switched on, the room tidied and more chocolates on the bed! We ordered a film and bottle of champagne to the room, which were delivered within minutes, nothing was too much for the receptionist and she was always happy to help. The bed was extremely comfy and although building work was going on across the road this did not disrupt our stay at all. The breakfast was lovely again nothing too much hassle for the staff. Overall a fantastic place to stay with lovely added extras, superb place to celebrate. The following day we made use of the Spa facilities nearby, a lovely way to finish our break.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Becca_Ciaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

What a lovely all rounded review, thank you so much for taking the time to write this. We’re really glad that you have had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoyed all that the rooms and facilities offer, friendly service and the added extras also . We wish you had taken the duck, we have ordered some extras this week so that our guests can start a little duck family!! We hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind Regards

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

I booked this surprise for my husbands birthday. Loved the room, and the added touch of the TV at one end of the jacuzzi bath. We of course fought for the best end. Breakfast was good.
The short walk into Windermere took us all of a couple of minutes.
Great location. Loved it.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank YorkshireLass2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma D, Guest Relations Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Many thanks for sharing your stay with us. We’re really happy that our hotel matched your expectations and that we could be that special place to celebrate your husbands birthday. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

All the Best

Emma Dickinson
Community Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,456 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £119 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing