We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd stay at The Cranleigh since July 2013”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Widnes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3rd stay at The Cranleigh since July 2013”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Fantastic stay again at The Cranleigh our second time at The Escape suite as well as our other stay at The Hideout Boutique House .. The Cranleigh really stands out to me as being the best place to stay at as a couple for the fantastic hospitality, the modern decor and furnishings as well as the mood lit air spa baths with TVs and the fact its an adults only break! ..
on this occasion me and my partner also had chance to make full use of the to free spa passes inclusive of our stay at the MacDonald old English spa which was perfect as the weather was a bit rainy !....
i definitely recommend to those couples looking for a romantic break away as well as a fantastic service with a smile :)... we will be back again!... (please see photos sent )

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachaelhampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,378
    207
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
26
1,376
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked to stay for 1 night as a short break and a little time to relax, we stayed in room 12 which is lovely, the bathroom is great although we did have a little trouble with the controller for the bath, the jacuzzi kept turning on all by itself! We were luckily enough to be able to stay for a second night but had to change to room 2, which was smaller but just as nice.

Breakfast was really good both mornings, my fiancé was a big fan of the boiled duck eggs with asparagus!

Overall we really enjoyed ourselves and hope to return in the near future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank northsouth86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Cranleigh, it was superb. We stayed in room 3 which, whilst not the biggest, had everything we could wish for. The chocolates, rose petals and Huggie bear were very welcome after a long journey, as was the complimentary prosecco before we went out in the evening. The room was spotlessly clean, everything has been thought of, loads of sockets, great lighting and a proper hairdryer! The staff are very friendly, breakfast is excellent, all freshly made to order.The hotel is just up the hill from the lake and there are plenty of places to eat within a few minutes walk. Only one very small critiscism, the bed was a bit too soft for us but that's just a personal opinion.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daphne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked a luxury room (no 16) for a two night stay on Sunday evening. Our room was very contemporary and beautifully decorated as is the rest of the hotel. The reception staff were very efficient and extremely helpful, no task too small. Breakfast was also lovely with plenty of choice including vegetarian options. The bathroom was also very luxurious with a spa bath and small flat screen TV mounted at one end. I particularly enjoyed the spa bath and mood lighting - a lovely way to relax at the end of the day. My ONLY critisicm was that the room had no air conditioning, but we got around this by using the electric fan that was provided in the room.

The location of the hotel was perfect, less than a five minute walk to the lake and abundent restaurants. I would recommend the Bodega tapas bar and Village Inn restaurant (food was amazing).

We would love to come back to The Cranleigh at some point, maybe next time we will think about booking a suite (as we felt the luxury room was a little on the small side).

I would definitely recommend The Cranleigh to anyone looking at staying in Bowness-on-Windermere.


  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This was our third weekend break at The Cranleigh...as excellent as ever! We love this place hence we have continued to return. The rooms are lovely, spa baths amazing and the little complimentary touches (rose petal heart, chocolates, proseco) for our anniversary were lovely. The staff cant do enough to help and are always very friendly. Breakfast is gorgeous, lots of hot & cold choices and they will always cater for your choice even if its not on the menu. The complimentary use of the spa at the hotel down the road is also great, fantastic facilities and the spa treatments are just amazing. Location is also brilliant, 2min walk to the main village centre. Can't say enough positive things about it, we will continue to return for weekends away :-)

Room Tip: Going for a room with the spa bath is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsB4891
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed here a couple of nights ago, the property itself is amazingly clean and very inviting, there is lots of technology to play with and keep you entertained.However one issue I found was everything we tried to select on itunes was not available, and when we tried to purchase we needed a password which meant we could only listen to music that was already on the system, Also the system is limited on how loud you can have it due to neighbours which are joined to the property next door, I also think it would of been a nice touch to be provided with a complimentary bottle of champagne or even procesco. The mini bar was stocked well with 4 different spirits but unfortunately there was not many mixers, It would of been much better if we had of been given large bottles of coke and lemonade rather than some little mixer pouches.
It would of also been nice to have been given the option to cook our own breakfast rather than having to go to the main hotel. Overall we enjoyed are stay very much but I have to say its not worth £500 a night, and I am not sure why we paid full price on a Tuesday night when it said from £425, overall i would stay again but not for £500, sorry!! Also i would not class this as the most romantic place in Britain, its more of a bachelor pad and a fun night..

Room Tip: Take more drinks and mixers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bobcat300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Stayed the night in the escape suite to celebrate our recent engagement and was impressed from the moment we arrived. Everything about this hotel is wonderful. We even got a phone call the day after we checked out to ask if we had a safe journey home. Never had that before and we have stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,345 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,380 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing