We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent mini Honeymoon”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a two night stay for a quick honeymoon break. We stayed in Luxury room 6 which is at the front of the hotel and is very quiet. The hotel lived up to our expectations but I would add that whilst the room was very well done, it was quite a bit smaller than I was expecting and the biggest issue for us the temperature in the room (no air conditioning) which made sleep very difficult when you consider we stayed in the middle of a heat wave.
Having said the above, nothing can detract from the quality of the place and boy were the breakfasts amazing. Location is excellent (really excellent) and the staff were very nice but sill professional. Would definitely stay again but would pay more attention to the weather first...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chumpySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,716)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 1,716 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

Luxury by any standards. A bit on the expensive side but an experience to be tried at least once. The hideaway is superb with its own jacuzzi and the whole room is simply sumptuous. The glass bath is something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22david55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here as part of an anniversary weekend away. We did not find that the property matched up to the glowing reviews previously written. The front desk staff were laid back and far from helpful. Our standard room was hot, tasteless and noisy. I've had better breakfast at the Holiday Inn. I'm afraid I saw none of the famed luxury of hospitality that has been previously written about.

Room Tip: Try a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank zchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

What a place!
We stayed in The Sanctuary Suite which certainly lived up to the name.
A romantic hideaway with a huge bed, every little detail taken care of and a gorgeous, luxurious, modern bathroom!
The hot tub certainly is the crowning glory of this room and definitely worth the extra cost, who needs use of the near by spa centre when you can cosy up in there with a glass of fizz!
We arrived on a wet miserable afternoon and that lifted our spirits immensely, nothing quite like a balmy 37 degree dip in the bubbles to cheer you up.

Service was impeccable, we weren't bothered once and everyone we came across was helpful, smily and looked like they loved their job

The facilities are second to none and every whim is taken care of by the attentive reception staff.

Breakfast was a highlight, just simply delicious. A credit to the hotel

Nothing beats a great nights sleep in a peaceful room followed by Eggs Royale and a coffee, just bliss.

A slice of luxury we were both sad to leave behind but will live with us forever, we're already planning a return trip.

Quite simply the most perfect place we could have picked for our first mini break, just excellent!

Room Tip: Stretch your budget and book a suite, the surprise of which one you'll get adds to the excitemen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lucie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2nts on a little honeymoon after getting married on 12th July. We stayed in room 11 which was just perfect! The little extras like the chocolates and rose petals in the bed just made it so so romantic! Each time we left the room we came back to a little box of chocolates on the pillow which was so thoughtful. Breakfast on both mornings was fantastic and the staff were brilliant. Will be planning the next trip as soon as we get home .. Can't wait to come back!!!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 1Claire1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the room with the terrace and it was lovely. The small touches like the air bath, chocolates on the bed, telly in the bathroom really make you feel pampered and special. The staff at breakfast were lovely and accommodating. And the breakfast was lovely . Thank you for a lovely stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank shazDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Me and my husband stayed at The Hideout for 2nights for our 'mini-moon' after getting married. The staff at The Cranleigh were really helpful. The Hideout is amazing and perfect for a treat,the breakfast, complementary items and box of chocolates were all great extras. 1 night would not be long enough, we can't wait to go back. Without a doubt the best place we have stayed

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzieDannyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,459 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,946 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £119 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing