We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6th stay in this wonderful hotel”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We first visited the Cranleigh in 2012 and have just returned from our 6th stay. Once again a wonderful 3 day break. The room, staff, breakfast and service, as usual, were faultless. To top it all the weather was fantastic. Thanks to everyone at the Cranleigh for another totally relaxing break in the lovely Bowness in Windermere. We will be back.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms at the front of the hotel as rooms at the back can be hot in the height of summe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 714 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2014

Stayed in the private "hideout house" which is a 5-10 min walk from the main hotel. From the outside didnt look all that but was amazing inside. Fully teched out withe the ipad on the wall controlling well - everything it seemed - and ipad docks in the rooms. The TVs have execllent stock of blue-ray dvds and the hot tub is ridiculous - massive and luxurious. Well stocked fridge for brekkie and also the breakfast at the main hotel was excellent.

Had one minor gripe with the wifi and downloading of netflix but remedied very quickly and chap that came out very helpful.

All in all very sumptuous with everything yuo could wish for. Romantic and quiet - buts shops and amenities just minutes away,

Couldn't comment on price as booked by the Mrs as a surprise but I'm guessing not cheap - at all - but worth it from what I can tell. Lush!

Room Tip: Cant comment as hideout only option but the kitchen is excellent and has all the mod cons you need...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

My partner booked a 2 night break here for my birthday , lovely hotel I will just say room 7 was a bit smaller than we had expected but bathroom was very well equipped with toiletries and the tv was a bonus . Breakfast was good and staff were very helpful .
Didn't think it was actually worth the money thou and they really do need to invest in air con , so hot at night made it very difficult to sleep .

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Crumm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and whilst the rooms are delightful and by far the best I have stayed in they are very expensive for what they are. Lovely hot tub in bathroom though with a tv to watch also. Brilliant location a five minute stroll to lake windermere and the centre of bowness on windermere.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BethanyA3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just returned from a two night stay for a quick honeymoon break. We stayed in Luxury room 6 which is at the front of the hotel and is very quiet. The hotel lived up to our expectations but I would add that whilst the room was very well done, it was quite a bit smaller than I was expecting and the biggest issue for us the temperature in the room (no air conditioning) which made sleep very difficult when you consider we stayed in the middle of a heat wave.
Having said the above, nothing can detract from the quality of the place and boy were the breakfasts amazing. Location is excellent (really excellent) and the staff were very nice but sill professional. Would definitely stay again but would pay more attention to the weather first...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank chumpySunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Luxury by any standards. A bit on the expensive side but an experience to be tried at least once. The hideaway is superb with its own jacuzzi and the whole room is simply sumptuous. The glass bath is something else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 22david55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here as part of an anniversary weekend away. We did not find that the property matched up to the glowing reviews previously written. The front desk staff were laid back and far from helpful. Our standard room was hot, tasteless and noisy. I've had better breakfast at the Holiday Inn. I'm afraid I saw none of the famed luxury of hospitality that has been previously written about.

Room Tip: Try a room in a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank zchat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £120 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing