We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely weekend break”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Lovely weekend break”
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We booked a bank holiday weekend break in August 2009. The room was just like in the pictures was very modern with lovely mood lighting in the bathroom. The breakfast was superb with very professional staff throughout our stay. Only a 5 min at the most walk into bowness where there are fantastic places to eat.
Only snag is the car park - there is limited at the front of the hotel, however they gave you a pass for another private car park, where the spaces are VERY tight especially if the weather is cold and icy i wish you look!
Overall a lovely week end many thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to our car parking, we have 14 spaces to the front and rear of the Cranleigh and 6 allocated spaces 200 meters away on a private car park. The cranleigh has 18 rooms therefore we are able to accommodate all our guests. We believe we are fortunate that we have as many spaces as we do because parking in Bowness is at a premium and almost all other accommodation providers in the immediate area have a constant battle to provide their guests with car parking. We understand that the icy conditions experienced recently have been difficult for everybody and have done our best to keep our spaces free from snow and ice. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This has got to be one of the best B and B`s i have stayed in, from the excellant rooms to the friendly staff, its allways a pleasure to stay, and look forward to out next break there

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We have recently returned from staying at the Cranleigh and cannot praise it enough. We stayed in the Hideaway which is a room/suite at the back of the hotel. The room was beautiful, fabulous huge bed in which we had the best nights sleep, an amazing bathroom with a huge spa bath with mood lighting (ideal for sharing!!) and a double shower and a TV. There was a lovely lounge area with a 50" inch plasma TV, mini bar, sofa and DVD library. We had breakfast delivered to our room each morning which was of an exceptional standard and filled us for the day. We had also requested champagne and chocolate dipped strawberries on arrival which were a lovely treat. the hotel is about a 5 minute walk away form the town centre and the lake and although parking is limited at the hotel there is ample parking at a nearby hotel. There is a huge choice of restaurants nearby and if you like tapas then the Bodega is the place for you. Nothing was too much trouble at this hotel the staff were friendly and always there to help. The only problem we had with this hotel is the fact that we had to leave. Can't wait to go again!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobandNat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2009

We stayed 5 nights in the Sanctuary at the Cranleigh. It was absolutely fantastic. The staff were all friendly and attentive to our needs. It is ideally localted, near all the bars and restaurants and the lake. Apart from not having a view of the lake itself, we would say it is perfect and can't wait to go back. Definately worth paying for to make that special event extra special.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BecksterLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2009

The hotel is in a great location in Bowness, 1 minute from the lake and the town full of bars and restaurants. Our room was beautifully decorated, the bathroom was very well equipped with a great shower, it was cleaned every day and the water, biscuits etc replenished every day. The only thing I would say is having 42inch plasma screens in the room can cause slight noise problems if people turn the volume up! Breakfast was lovely with a good choice of options and the staff serving breakfast and on reception were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2009

What a fantastic place to stay! When the review said a 1 minute walk from the lake I was a little dubious! But the location was absolutely spot on. Literally 1 min from the lake and centre of Bowness. The hotel was lovely. High quality rooms with superb service. We will defintely be coming back.

Lyns & Pete

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 31 October 2009
Thank you for your fantastic review. From all at The Cranleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Myself & my husband stayed for the second time at The Cranleigh, and this time stayed in room 5 to celebrate my husbands very special birthday. We stayed for 3 nights & had the most fantastic break. Tony is so helpful & welcoming - he had assured me that i had made a good choice in booking Room 5 & he was right. The room was super but the icing on the cake was the bathroom! The television in the bath was just an expierence i will remember for ever! The attention to detail at The Cranleigh is superb, attentive friendly staff, delicious breakfasts & perfect location makes this the place i will save my pennies to get to again asap!! We have 3 little girls & have busy lives(like lots of parents) but staying at The Cranleigh served two purposes we recharged our baterries & we missed them ! We look forward to returning soon & many thanks & well done to The Cranleigh Owners & staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 31 October 2009
we are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and relaxed. We have two small children ourselves and have worked hard to create a Guesthouse that offers the facilities in a great location that we want on a break. Have you tried the sanctuary for the ultimate experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,807 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing