We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic - On The Expensive Side But Worth It!”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic - On The Expensive Side But Worth It!”
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I treated my partner for his 30th birthday to a short break in the Lake District and we stayed in Room 10 - Suite with a jacuzzi & balcony. The hotel was definitely the highlight of our trip, we actually looked forward to going back to our room in the evening! The experience was everything we could want and more - the hotel is just a few minutes walk away from the restaurants, pubs & shops in Bowness, the breakfast was delicious and generous, the staff friendly & helpful - just fantastic!

This hotel was more expensive than our usual style, we usually travel on quite a strict budget - but in saying that we definitely got our moneys worth. There were some lovely touches to our room, like the heated floor in the bathroom, the luxurious tolietries, the mirrored TV in the bathroom, the large TV in our room and extensive DVD collection available.

If you can afford to stay in this hotel it's definitely worth paying th extra - or if like us it's a special occassion and you want to push the boat out - you will not be disappointed!

Special thanks to Tony & all the other staff members who made our trip so enjoyable! Keep up the good work, and we'll definitely be back to see you again!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nichola_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,363
    205
    62
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,357
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful romantic three nights at the Cranleigh and we couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, and had a huge soaking tub, which was perfect after a day of hiking. The staff was really friendly, and you can have a nice glass of wine in front of the fire in the evening, before you head out to dinner. It's a very short walk into the heart of Bowness, and Tony, the owner, recommended some fantastic places to eat (really - best food I've had in England outside of London!) and an adorable several-hundred-year-old pub that we really enjoyed in the evenings. We loved it. I hope to go back in the summer some time, and will definitely stay at the Cranleigh again!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FloridaLinda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 24 March 2010
Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at The Cranleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stopped here in the Hideaway suite for 2 nights after our wedding in January. Can't fault it the room was lovely. It's located close enough to the town with some nice little shops and plenty of choice of where to eat.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katsb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 26 March 2010
Thanks for you feedback. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you both again soon. The Cranleigh team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Me and my husband went to the Cranleigh on the 11th Feb for 2 nights.

Hotel...
The staff seemed nice, you cannot check in until about 3pm but we arrived early and our room was ready from 2pm.
The food is lovely at Breakfast, the dinning area is really clean and you can get as much toast and tea/coffee as you require. Everything available for breakfast... toast, yoghurt, fruit, oats, salmon, veg and meat full cooked breakfast, porridge, fresh juice, fresh coffee and tea.
Internet access available throughout the hotel.
Good location - only about 3/4 mins walk from the center of Bowness and the Lake.
Car park at the front and apparently some spaces at the back too, we had no problem parking at the front but we did arrive early and didn't need to move our car for the 2 days we were there.
We used the spa facilities at the Old English (free pass from the Cranleigh Reception) and we had such a laugh going in and out of the different rooms (sauna, steam room & ice room). It has a lovely pool with views over the lake.

Bedroom...
We stayed in room number 5. The room was perfect. It was clean, everything was brand new and the bed was so comfy!
The bathrooms at this hotel are amazing.... I can't think of anything better than after a lovely cruise along the lake and a nice long walk around Windermere to return back to this hotel and climb into the hugh bath and watch a bit of tv before you go out for a nice meal.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who fancies a nice break away with their partner, in a beautiful room, good location and nice food. Perfect for a special anniversary or birthday too. We will be back and hope to book either the Sanctury or Hideaway. We have e-mail the hotel to say thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_L_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 1 March 2010
Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities we offer all our guests. We try very hard to exceed expectations and provide you with a first class experience in an excellent location. Hope to see you again soon. All the best The Cranleigh Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We booked quite last minute, a getaway for my 30th birthday. We prebooked our room, which was really nice as you knew exactly what you were getting.
When we arrived and checked in, our room wasn't in the main building but the one next door. We were shown our room, lovely. Everything was exactly like it were meant to be........ until i went to use the toilet and the seat fell off in my hand. This wasnt mentioned on check in nor when the member of staff showed us the facilities in the room! Did they know ? why didnt they mention it? What if they think we have done it and try to charge us for it? So i rang down to reception to tell them- They did know already, and it wan't going to be fixed until after our check out (full stop)- no apologies, no complimentary drink, nothing.
We had a lovely and relaxing stay, unless you wanted to use the toilet! The breakfast was really nice, and we left thinking that we would return.
I tried to book again for the september, it was my partners birthday, and we were planning to get engaged. I rang the Cranleigh and spoke to the hotelier, i wanted to book the Hideaway as it was going to be a special occasion (£240 pn B&B- or therabouts) I asked him if it was possible to book it just for one night as it was my (then) boyfriends birthday, he wasnt at all interested- i would even say abrupt, he seemed more interested in getting a multiple booking, and rather than pleasing a return guest or giving that we were in the middle of a recession! That said, i booked elsewhere (Hotel Du Vin- Harrogate) Which was beautiful, and they gave us a complimentary upgrade as it was for a special occasion. We have returned back since and have re booked to go a third time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krissy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 22 February 2010
Thank you for you review. We are happy you enjoyed the room you chose and can only apologies for the toilet seat. We had just refurbished 6 rooms and had experienced a couple of small problems with the toilet catches. These were ordered straight away and replaced as soon as they arrived. Your right you should of been offered some complimentary drinks and if you stay with us again I will make sure you are. In response to you trying to book the Hideaway. Almost all accommodation providers in the Lake District offer a minimum 2 night stay a weekends. This is because we are a tourist destination not a city where the majority of business is done during the week. Our busiest times are weekends. The only time hotels and guesthouses will offer one night is if they are very quiet or need to fill gaps. For example a room is booked Thursday and Friday night and is free Saturday. Thanks for the recommendation on the hotel in Harrogate we have not stayed there yet and will this year. All the best the Cranleigh.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
203 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2010

We booked a bank holiday weekend break in August 2009. The room was just like in the pictures was very modern with lovely mood lighting in the bathroom. The breakfast was superb with very professional staff throughout our stay. Only a 5 min at the most walk into bowness where there are fantastic places to eat.
Only snag is the car park - there is limited at the front of the hotel, however they gave you a pass for another private car park, where the spaces are VERY tight especially if the weather is cold and icy i wish you look!
Overall a lovely week end many thanks to all the staff!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggers21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 11 January 2010
Thank you very much for your comments and we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to our car parking, we have 14 spaces to the front and rear of the Cranleigh and 6 allocated spaces 200 meters away on a private car park. The cranleigh has 18 rooms therefore we are able to accommodate all our guests. We believe we are fortunate that we have as many spaces as we do because parking in Bowness is at a premium and almost all other accommodation providers in the immediate area have a constant battle to provide their guests with car parking. We understand that the icy conditions experienced recently have been difficult for everybody and have done our best to keep our spaces free from snow and ice. Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2010

This has got to be one of the best B and B`s i have stayed in, from the excellant rooms to the friendly staff, its allways a pleasure to stay, and look forward to out next break there

Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank StuAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
Linthwaite House
Linthwaite House
#2 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,800 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing