We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 April 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a one night stay , we couldn't fault anything. The room was wonderful, very clean with ipod dock, flat screen tv and dvd player. It was also the little things like the umbrella and hairdryer that you don't always get in the best hotels. The breakfast was excellent. We will be returning.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovesgoingonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2010

A fantastic review thank you for taking the time to write it and we hope you visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,649 - 1,655 of 1,721 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

Found the hotel without problem and parked up at rear, within 6 feet of the door to our room which was a seperate building to the main hotel and reception. The room (The Hideaway) was lavishly decorated and furnished with all one would need in a room and more besides and is one the best rooms I've stayed in. Large TV in lounge area, large TV in bedroom area and TV built in above the spa bath. Ipod dock is a great idea as well, especially as you can pipe music into the bathroom whilst you soak in the spa bath.
Location is excellent with a 2 minute walk into Bowness and the lake. We had breakfast in the main part of the hotel, although we could have had breakfast in the room. The service was excellent, friendly and the food was great. Local produce used and you can tell.
The owners were chatty and very welcoming and nothing seeme to be too much bother.

Highly recommend and would definately visit the Cranleigh Hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeithCMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2010

Thank you for your feedback on The Hideaway. If you do stay with us again have a look at The Sanctuary. Great feedback hugely appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2010

I treated my partner for his 30th birthday to a short break in the Lake District and we stayed in Room 10 - Suite with a jacuzzi & balcony. The hotel was definitely the highlight of our trip, we actually looked forward to going back to our room in the evening! The experience was everything we could want and more - the hotel is just a few minutes walk away from the restaurants, pubs & shops in Bowness, the breakfast was delicious and generous, the staff friendly & helpful - just fantastic!

This hotel was more expensive than our usual style, we usually travel on quite a strict budget - but in saying that we definitely got our moneys worth. There were some lovely touches to our room, like the heated floor in the bathroom, the luxurious tolietries, the mirrored TV in the bathroom, the large TV in our room and extensive DVD collection available.

If you can afford to stay in this hotel it's definitely worth paying th extra - or if like us it's a special occassion and you want to push the boat out - you will not be disappointed!

Special thanks to Tony & all the other staff members who made our trip so enjoyable! Keep up the good work, and we'll definitely be back to see you again!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nichola_McC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

My husband and I had a wonderful romantic three nights at the Cranleigh and we couldn't have been happier. The room was beautiful, and had a huge soaking tub, which was perfect after a day of hiking. The staff was really friendly, and you can have a nice glass of wine in front of the fire in the evening, before you head out to dinner. It's a very short walk into the heart of Bowness, and Tony, the owner, recommended some fantastic places to eat (really - best food I've had in England outside of London!) and an adorable several-hundred-year-old pub that we really enjoyed in the evenings. We loved it. I hope to go back in the summer some time, and will definitely stay at the Cranleigh again!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaLinda67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2010

Thank you very much for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you again at The Cranleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

We stopped here in the Hideaway suite for 2 nights after our wedding in January. Can't fault it the room was lovely. It's located close enough to the town with some nice little shops and plenty of choice of where to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katsb76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2010

Thanks for you feedback. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you both again soon. The Cranleigh team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2010

Me and my husband went to the Cranleigh on the 11th Feb for 2 nights.

Hotel...
The staff seemed nice, you cannot check in until about 3pm but we arrived early and our room was ready from 2pm.
The food is lovely at Breakfast, the dinning area is really clean and you can get as much toast and tea/coffee as you require. Everything available for breakfast... toast, yoghurt, fruit, oats, salmon, veg and meat full cooked breakfast, porridge, fresh juice, fresh coffee and tea.
Internet access available throughout the hotel.
Good location - only about 3/4 mins walk from the center of Bowness and the Lake.
Car park at the front and apparently some spaces at the back too, we had no problem parking at the front but we did arrive early and didn't need to move our car for the 2 days we were there.
We used the spa facilities at the Old English (free pass from the Cranleigh Reception) and we had such a laugh going in and out of the different rooms (sauna, steam room & ice room). It has a lovely pool with views over the lake.

Bedroom...
We stayed in room number 5. The room was perfect. It was clean, everything was brand new and the bed was so comfy!
The bathrooms at this hotel are amazing.... I can't think of anything better than after a lovely cruise along the lake and a nice long walk around Windermere to return back to this hotel and climb into the hugh bath and watch a bit of tv before you go out for a nice meal.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who fancies a nice break away with their partner, in a beautiful room, good location and nice food. Perfect for a special anniversary or birthday too. We will be back and hope to book either the Sanctury or Hideaway. We have e-mail the hotel to say thank you for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_L_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2010

Thank you very much for your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the facilities we offer all our guests. We try very hard to exceed expectations and provide you with a first class experience in an excellent location. Hope to see you again soon. All the best The Cranleigh Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2010

We booked quite last minute, a getaway for my 30th birthday. We prebooked our room, which was really nice as you knew exactly what you were getting.
When we arrived and checked in, our room wasn't in the main building but the one next door. We were shown our room, lovely. Everything was exactly like it were meant to be........ until i went to use the toilet and the seat fell off in my hand. This wasnt mentioned on check in nor when the member of staff showed us the facilities in the room! Did they know ? why didnt they mention it? What if they think we have done it and try to charge us for it? So i rang down to reception to tell them- They did know already, and it wan't going to be fixed until after our check out (full stop)- no apologies, no complimentary drink, nothing.
We had a lovely and relaxing stay, unless you wanted to use the toilet! The breakfast was really nice, and we left thinking that we would return.
I tried to book again for the september, it was my partners birthday, and we were planning to get engaged. I rang the Cranleigh and spoke to the hotelier, i wanted to book the Hideaway as it was going to be a special occasion (£240 pn B&B- or therabouts) I asked him if it was possible to book it just for one night as it was my (then) boyfriends birthday, he wasnt at all interested- i would even say abrupt, he seemed more interested in getting a multiple booking, and rather than pleasing a return guest or giving that we were in the middle of a recession! That said, i booked elsewhere (Hotel Du Vin- Harrogate) Which was beautiful, and they gave us a complimentary upgrade as it was for a special occasion. We have returned back since and have re booked to go a third time.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krissy1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Owner at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2010

Thank you for you review. We are happy you enjoyed the room you chose and can only apologies for the toilet seat. We had just refurbished 6 rooms and had experienced a couple of small problems with the toilet catches. These were ordered straight away and replaced as soon as they arrived. Your right you should of been offered some complimentary drinks and if you stay with us again I will make sure you are. In response to you trying to book the Hideaway. Almost all accommodation providers in the Lake District offer a minimum 2 night stay a weekends. This is because we are a tourist destination not a city where the majority of business is done during the week. Our busiest times are weekends. The only time hotels and guesthouses will offer one night is if they are very quiet or need to fill gaps. For example a room is booked Thursday and Friday night and is free Saturday. Thanks for the recommendation on the hotel in Harrogate we have not stayed there yet and will this year. All the best the Cranleigh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,471 reviews
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#4 of 20 in Windermere
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,963 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £120 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, Rooms Suites and Boutique Houses. All perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District.Each Individually designed with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International multi award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing