We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in good location”
Review of Cranleigh Boutique

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cranleigh Boutique
Certificate of Excellence
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent hotel in good location”
Reviewed 22 February 2011

The Cranleigh is a great hotel located a few hundred yards from the centre of Bowness. We stayed in room 5 and it was very clean and comfortable. I would definatley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank db_teamextreme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,659 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,369
    207
    66
    15
    2
See reviews for
25
1,368
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sedbergh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2011

Stayed last year in the suite, complained on leaving but no oppolgy or discount i even left my number to get them to ring me but they never did left a comment on there facebook page but they just deleted ( why would they not get in touch with me?) the suite was lovely decorated but was not impressed with being interupted in the morning at 8.30am by a man to clean the hot tub why cant he do it when you check out? Very overpriced and very noisy as it is next to a back road. Took us ages to find out how to use some of the think ie sound sytem fire place and tv as the lady that showed us to the room didnt explain them to us. My partner had the worst night sleep ever as it was a hot night and the was no air con, When we told the receptionist she just said did you not look in the cupboard its in there we thought it was a heater. (they could of told us when they showed us to the room) anyway rant over wouldn't go back and as i only live 20miles away people from here wont go there either. sorry people but if you had got in touch with me to at least appoligise i may have been a different story. Wouldnt recomend

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lad1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Stayed in The Hideaway for 2 nights, absolutely fabulous sums the quality of the room, service & breakfast. Very close to Bowness and all the restaurants and shops. Looking forward to returning in a few months, 10 out of 10!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWinterbottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I will keep this review brief. This is an amazing hotel! I went with my girlfriend and we loved everything about the weekend. We stayed in room 14 and it is a fantastic luxurious room! The breakfast was delicious and we were both extremely full after it. The hotel has a roaring fire in the reception room when you go in where you can go and sit in front of which is lovely. The staff are all very friendly and make you feel at home. The location can't be beaten, about a 1 minute walk to the centre and 2 minute walk to the lake! We visited the Spa (2 minute walk) and this was good also! I really couldn't find fault and would we come to this hotel again, you bet we would!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheshireGreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2011

Came across the Cranleigh by accident when searching for hotels in Bowness - the website wasn't on the first page of search results - but very glad to have found it! While the room we stayed in was quite small, in the annex to the main building, there were lots of facilities packed in - dvd player, tv in the bathroom, bubbles and lights in the bath - very plush! The only thing missing was a small fridge in the room to keep your drinks chilled, with all the other mod-cons I'd have expected this, and it's unfortunate the hotel didn't serve alcohol through it's room service when returning to the hotel after a meal out. Also be very careful not to drop jewellery down the sink in the bathroom, there's no plug in the sink as it's ultra-modern, and unfortunately the owner at the desk seemed utterly disinterested in showing me any concern after losing an earring down the sink (lost points here in my rating!)

Lots of choice at breakfast, and the serving staff were very friendly and helpful. Only drawback is the rear car park is quite tight for space, only made worse when 4 wheel drive owners park over the lines, so it's best to arrive early if you have a car.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaR29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2011

From the initial contact when we tried to book the stay(we had been given a voucher which proved hard to redeem),we found the staff indifferent.We arrived 15mins early and could not go to our room. There were two other couples also waiting. The pool and spa is at another hotel in the town and there is limited access to it. The cost of £148 for a small room with nice fittings is excessive.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jazz057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hudson101, Manager at Cranleigh Boutique, responded to this review, 26 January 2011
Thank you for your comments and we are sorry to hear that your stay with us at The Cranleigh didn't exceed your expectations. We strive to make sure all of our guests receive first class service from reservation through to departure. Our normal check in time is 3pm and even though we try to have all the rooms and suites ready before this time sometimes this cannot happen if we have been fully booked the previous night so if the arrival time is before 3pm we sometimes cannot show you to your room until then. With regards to the pool and spa facilities this is stated on our website to be at another hotel within walking distance from the Cranleigh and we are one of a limited number of guest houses in the area to be given use of the pool and we advise all of our guests to book and reserve passes for the spa so that you can visit when you want.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

We stayed at the Cranleigh for 2 nights the first week of January for my boyfriends birthday. It was a great choice - very cosy and the traditional style downstairs with the modern style rooms and ensuite was just perfect. We stayed in Room 4 and the pictures on their website are what you actually do get. Cosy fluffy towels and bathrobes in the bathroom - nice touch and heated floor mmm. The stand alone shower was nice also - makes a change from stepping over a bath to get into the shower as is standard in most hotels still. We would definitely recommend this guest house to anyone travelling to Bowness - it definetly deserved the 5 stars. The girls on reception were great also - always pleasant. Breakfasts were tasty and a nice selection - not the regular. You could even get a a dvd for the quiet rainy nights and there was a hell of a selection not just a few - delivered to your door.... All in all, a great find and we'd definitely return. Perfect position for getting into the village - it was so close to all the pubs, restaurants and the lake - fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maresaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
1.3 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,332 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,838 reviews
1.4 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cranleigh Boutique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cranleigh Boutique

Property: Cranleigh Boutique
Address: Kendal Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#10 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cranleigh Boutique 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury Boutique accommodation, perfectly located in the Heart of the English Lake District. 23 Individually designed rooms and Suites with features including: private hot tubs, super sized air spa baths, free Wifi, free car parking, and access to leisure and spa facilities. Adult only accommodation. International award winning accommodation, completely unique to the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Cranleigh Boutique reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cranleigh Guesthouse Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
Cranleigh Boutique Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing