We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing location, lovely hosts!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hazeldene Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing location, lovely hosts!”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We had a lovely time with paul and lesley at the guesthouse. location was perfect. The breakfast provided was one of the best i've had!! Definately recommend this guesthouse.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EllieJ13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    17
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
92
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bolton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2012

we have just returned back after staying at the hazeldene guest house,me and my fiancee had a fantastic time staying here,we spent two nights and we could not have felt more welcome,paul and lesley are very warm welcoming and friendly,the room we stayed in were very cosy and warm and had all the facilitys you could need. the guest house and room was spotlessly clean and the bed was very comfy.The breakfast was very good and very well organized,they do know how to run a fantastic b+b and it is a supurb location and a low price,we would be very happy to return back again,keep up the great work.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2011

A great location with free parking close by. On arrival we were greeted by Paul who was very welcoming. He told us about the area and was willing to assist with any request. The breakfast was to individual liking, with a selection of homemade jams and marmalade. Clean and tidy rooms. With a warm and friendly feel.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at the Hazeldene. The host Paul is
very friendly and made us feel welcome immediately. We found that Bowness was particularly busy the weekend we went and Paul was able to advise us on walks to find some quieter areas of town near the lake.,

Room 1 was big enough, the bed was comfortable. Everything is very well organised, Paul and Lesley have thought of everything. There is even an emergency wind up torch in the bedside table with instructions on use. Other little things like a small pair of scissors to help open the milk sachets for tea/coffee, just things to make life a little easier. The room was also well equiped with a hair dryer, iron and ironing board, the lcd tv had freeview available. The decor had been updated fairly recently, everything looked fresh. The ensuite was not the newest, but adequete and very clean.

Breakfast was an organised affair. You order your food via a menu card when you arrive and it is all ready immediately when you come down between 8.30 and 9. The breakfast room is quite small and if all the tables were full it would feel a little cramped in there, but for us there were just one or two other couples. The food itself was good as were Pauls homemade jams and marmalades.

Thanks Paul and Lesley for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alastair82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2010

very friendly couple who made us very welcome the minute we walked through the door.room was great,very clean and beautifully decorated.food was of an excellent standard also the accomodation is very reasonably priced and is great value for money. another plus was the great location...right near the main shops at bowness (although very quiet of a night time) and within walking distance of windermere.
we enjoyed it so much that we're returning in may this year and taking my kayak this time with the lake being so close.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank captain1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wood1wood1
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 October 2009

we stayed in hazeldean for two nights and could not find fault .it is a lovely guesthouse and is spotlessley clean.room 4 which we stayed in had a lovely view of the lake and was very cosy.we have been going to bowness regularly for a couple of years and have to say that paul and lesley made us very welcome.breakfast was freshly made and very nice.we will be going again at the end of november.we have noticed some people have complained that the parking is inconvenient we do not think this is the case as lots of b and b's do not have parking at all!! looking forward to are next stay . julia and alan

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wood1wood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2009

My second visit to hazeldene. Stayed in room 2 and loved it.

Beautiful lake view, 4 poster bed and big room.

Ideally located just 5 min walk from the lake and all the good restaurants in bowness just across the road.

landlords are welcoming, organised and have put alot of thought into there guests comforts.Which is rare to find in B&Bs nowadays.

Breakfast tasty and plentiful.

Loved little things from chocolates in the room to home made jams and homely atmosphere.

Private parking and wifi.

Cant find any faults and know where to stay for the next vists.....

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkhan1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#28 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#34 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Property: Hazeldene Guest House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing