We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hazeldene Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not long arrived back from a wonderful 2 nights and 3 days at Lake Windermere. We were looking for a simple B&B that provided good value for money and the Hazledene exceeded our expectations. Directions by car were emailed to us (including a map) and were extremely clear and easy to understand – effectively there is only one main road from Windermere to Bowness so getting lost is almost impossible! Parking is a 1 minute walk around the back of the building off the main road. Arriving by train is also simple if you have the ability to read signposts. Head towards Bowness and walk in a straight line for 15-20 minutes and the Hazledene is situated at the Bowness end of the lake on Lake Road, just a few buildings down from the charming original 1920s cinema. It’s hard to resist watching a film there.
The Hazledene is after all a B&B but does that very well indeed. Breakfast was excellent and was far superior to the greased up slop served in many higher priced hotels. Bacon was grilled to perfection and, thankfully, nothing was fried except for the egg, which was spot-on. I had scrambled egg which was equally as good. Golden toast complemented a variety of home made preserves. Our favourites were the Plum, grape and brandy, Apricot and Amaretto and Strawberry and Apple. Fruit juice was fresh and the coffee was fragrant. After the 7 years or so of perfecting his art I’m confident Paul would certainly dish up an appetizing vegetarian option if requested. Muesli, Cornflakes or Branflakes were available as a lighter option.
Paul and Lesley’s attention to detail has ensured that simple things are done extremely well and that has made a difference, down to the scissors that accompanied the in-room hot drinks selection! The rooms are actually larger than the photos would suggest and are about the size you would expect in a period property – not huge. In room 4 this more than compensated for by the stunning view of Lake Windermere and its changeable cloud formations. The shower room and toilet were more than adequate and the pressure in the shower was good. Really didn’t find the need for a fridge in the room as there are so many options on your doorstep it’d be pointless staying in. We found good quality restaurants on each evening.
If you’re the type of person who wants to sit in around a lounge then it’s not the place for you. However, if you want genuine hospitality in a quiet, relaxing environment, that is spotlessly clean and retains some of its old world charm, the Hazledene provides the perfect backdrop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KerryC04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    16
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
3
91
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

I will say this, we got off to a rough start with this place... when I read the reviews, I saw how people mentioned it was close to the high street, pubs and restaurants. So when we left the train station we decided to walk, but didn't realise there was a difference between the Bowness-on-Windermere high street and the one closest to Windermere station. The guest house is about another 15-20 minutes walk past Windermere high street, but is literally right on Bowness-on-Windermere high street, which we actually thought was better anyway as we could also walk along the lake after dinner or while having a coffee in the afternoon.

I also didn't realise there was a certain check in time. This is a guest house, a b&b, not a hotel so they don't have a "reception" desk. And you need to arrive between certain hours in the afternoon or let them know otherwise (which is understandable), so make sure you do this ahead of time. Sorry Paul :)

Breakfast was great each morning, felt like a family meal and the vegetarian sausages were delicious, not to mention the homemade jams!! My partner didn't like the pork sausages, so maybe opt for the veggie option ;) We both left full and satisfied each morning!

Our room was tiny, but we checked in last and had the smallest room. Wasn't really a problem though in the end, but there is no lounge to hang out in, so its either out in town or your room. . It would have been nice if there was a DVD player in the rooms maybe for when it rains or if you want to have a quiet night in. Also you don't get things like a fridge or ice if you bring in drinks or wine glasses. Though there was coffee, tea and hot chocolate which we enjoyed. And there is a cool old cinema (very cheap, about 6 pounds) down the road which we went to and had fun.

We also did a tour with Supertours which we enjoyed and they picked us up direct from the house. Also, if they are able, Paul or Lesley may offer to give you a ride back to the station which was amazing for us, much appreciated!!

Obviously not the same as a full service hotel, but all in all, not a bad place and definitely a very nice couple and accommodating hosts.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePointPMQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Just stayed here for a few nights for my partners birthday. Having never been to the lakes before we found Hazeldene to be in a great location for exploring the area.
On arrival we were greeted by Paul who was lovely and told us about the area.
The B&B was spotless and our room was cosy and comfortable. We did overlook the road which wasn't a problem as the windows were adequate enough to block most noise. Excellent added bonus of having a fan available came in handy in the hot weather.
Breakfast was yummy and ample enough for us.

Keep up the good work guys, we will definitely be back for another stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We Stayed at the Hazeldene B&B in July 2013 on our honeymoon.
The owners Paul and Lesley are welcoming,warm and friendly nothing was too much trouble for them during our stay.
The room we had,had a lake view it was spaciou,clean and comfortable and the added touches enhanced the room.
Breakfast was well presented and very tasty.
Hazeldene is not far from Lake Windermere but like most of the property's on this road is built on an incline.
I cannot fault the Hazeldene and we will be returning again.I would definetely recommend this to family and friends

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with IKnowUK

Helpful?
Thank Kuri63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2013

our first vist to guess house was may 15 2009 this guest house was very homely and friendly and welcoming and a fab brekfast which has now improved as paul makes his own jam which is fab to i would highly recommend this B&B to anyone wanting a very enjoyable break very high in cleaness very friendley and steve and i would not stay else were in bowness we were there this year from 24 to 26 0f june 2013 for our silver wedding anniversay and could wish for more thank you for making our stay in you guest house very special to me and my other half

Room Tip: room 2 has a stunning sunset view as well as the lake its
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Stayed on a four day break, had room 2 which had excellent views across the lake. This bed and breakfast is clean and well run by Paul and Lesley, nothing is too much trouble. The breakfast is excellent and Paul always has time for s chat to discuss what to see and how to get there. If in the area again we will have no hesitation in going back

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillsguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013 via mobile

Having read some of the other reviews on this B&B I'm at a loss as to what people's expectations are when they book!

For a low cost B&B it ticked all the boxes and more. Paul and Leslie worked hard to ensure our stay was a pleasant one, which it was. Good location 5 minutes walk from the lake, free parking (a rarity in Bowness), decent breakfast all made for an enjoyable 2 night stay.

Stayed in room 3 which overlooked the main road, but windows adequate enough to keep out most noise. En suite bathroom clean and not a bad size. Plenty of milk, tea and coffee and the little extras that you don't always get at a B&B which were an iron and ironing board and a fan (very useful!!!).

Parking at the rear of the property, easy to find.

Thank you Paul and Leslie, you've got the balance of budget and service just right. We will be back

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Darlojay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Number 80
Number 80
#26 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#4 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Westmorland Inn
Westmorland Inn
#15 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#33 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Property: Hazeldene Guest House
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing