We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B experience.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazeldene Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Having spent the last 12 months staying in hotels with work I was really pleased to find this lovely guest house, 5 mins walk to the lake, bars and restaurants. Paul & Lesley know how to treat their guests with a really personal touch. The breakfast, with Pauls fantastic home made jams and marmalades, was absolutely gorgeous. We stayed for 2 nights and will definately return and stay at the Hazeldene again (-:

Room Tip: Room 4 is quite large with a lovely view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 23 May 2014

We booked with Paul and Lesley at the Hazeldene on a recommendation from some friends. We were not disappointed. Paul and Lesley are great hosts,very friendly,welcoming and informative..... Nothing is too much trouble. The room we had was immacutly clean and well presented with all you needed in the room..... Iron and ironing board,fan,tea/coffee etc. The breakfast was excellent on both mornings with excellent service provided by both Paul and Lesley..... As well as entertainment by Paul, very good fun. I can thoroughly recommend the homemade jam made by Paul,I bought a jar of the rhubarb and ginger to bring home with me it was that good. Thank you Paul and lesley for a very enjoyable stay,we will be back.

Room Tip: We had room three right at the top of the house at the front of the building,great room and no worri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meryl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

just returned back from a 3 night stay at this guest house i must say the hosts of this guest house are very hospitable and really down to earth, anywhere you want to go Paul as the answer for you even print you directions if needs be the breakfasts were very good set you up for the day good quality food and cooked well, the rooms are very well equiped with all you need even an iron and board which you dont find in many places the rooms are clean as is all the guest house will be going back there in the future.

Room Tip: the back room over looking the lake the quietest but our room was over the road but that was ok .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This was the first time we visited Windermere and the experience was well worth the visit. Would not hesitate to go back again. Fantastic view from room 2. Paul and Lesley were fantastic hosts, nothing too much trouble for them. The room was large and comfortable. The perfect get away. A big thank you to both Paul and Lesley for making the experience of the Lakes so memorable.

Room Tip: Fantastic view from room 2 situated at the rear of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

This was our first stay in a b&b and I wouldn't hesitate to go back. We had the smallest room which was big enough for us, well equipped and modern. There's a review on here about there being no fridge in the rooms - it's a b&b, not a hotel! Paul & Lesley were amazing hosts, full of kindness and information. Nothing was too much trouble and they were very welcoming. Breakfast was fantastic and we left full each (do try the homemade jam/marmalade, especially the rhubarb and ginger).

The b&b is very clean and quiet, so much so we had no idea about Barney the dog until he greeted us one morning on our way out. He is a real softie, make sure you give him a cuddle if you see him :-)

The parking is secure, but down a short steep hill which looks worse than it really is.

We will definitely stay here again, top marks all round!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hazeldene last weekend and agree with the good reviews on here. Paul and Lesley were very friendly and welcoming. The rooms were really clean and the beds were very comfortable. The location is fantastic, with just a short walk to the Lake. I was a little worried about the parking after reading a couple of reviews on here but it's nothing to worry about as it's at the back of the guest house and nice and private, away from the main road. Breakfast was tasty apart from the beans, only because I prefer heinz and these definitely weren't. I also liked the fact that you could fill in the tick list for what you would like for breakfast the next morning and leave it on the desk in the hallway so then it's ready quicker so you're not waiting for ages. The orange and whiskey marmalade was yummy and I even bought a jar to take home. We would definitely stay here again and we are thinking about going for New Year too. See you soon Paul and Lesley.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 with a view of the Lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pamji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Stayed at the Hazeldene for three nights. Location was perfect, only a short walk to the shops, cafes/bars and to the promenade. It is immaculately clean and the breakfast very tasty. The hosts Lesley, Paul and Barney are very friendly and welcoming. We will definitely return. We stayed in Room 2 which was large and had a fab view of the lake. Great value for money. Parking was easy too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aphrodite_0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
138 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#17 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bay House Lake View
Bay House Lake View
#3 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
New Hall Bank
New Hall Bank
#23 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#28 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £71 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing