We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfully relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hazeldene Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2009

We have just returned from a weekend at Hazeldene. The hosts, Lesley and Paul, were very welcoming and friendly. They referred to us by our first names during our stay which we thought was a lovely touch and made such a change from some big impersonal hotels we have stayed at. This was our second visit and we were not disappointed. I was even impressed that they had kept my hairdryer in their lost property box after I left it on my first visit two years ago. We stayed in the four poster room at the front and it was very pleasantly furnished. The dimensions of the room were fine and we had plenty of space to move around. The car park is right next door and it was no problem getting our bags from the car.

The location is perfect and you are only about three minutes walk to the lakeside. There are plenty or shops and eating places nearby so you will be spoilt for choice. We had a pleasant meal at Robertos and also at the Angel Inn.

We will definitely be back to Hazeldene again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandaRella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

One star...max! A B&B with tired, outdated decor, owned by retired UK government bureaucrats who run their B&B like a highly regulated government agency with little attention to customer needs or satisfaction. Lots of rules! "Do Not" signs everywhere. Over priced. Breakfast served only from 8:30 to 9:00 AM daily. Breakfast room is not allowed to be used for any other purpose, such as gathering with family members. No parking available near front door to load and unload bags. Parking one block away from B&B. Shower system is barely operational with very low water pressure. Steep stairs. Not suitable for any persons with disabilities. Not rated by AA or other B&B rating organizations. Overall, low quality with high price.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 4EverOnTheGo5Star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2009

fantastic hotel, lesley and paul are so welcomingand cook a great breakfast!! would recommened to anybody and cant praise highley enough!!! we will be going back time and time again :)

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pauldicko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

just came back from a weekend away and couldnt fault this guest house. paul and lesley were very friendly and helpful.breakfast was just the job set u up for the day. room was lovely very clean would defo go back.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donkey123consett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2008

Our room had plenty of space as advertised and a lake view. However we were dissapointed with the bed, wirewove base - lumpy and uncomfortable. The hot water in the shower was difficult to use and luke-warm showers resulted. Having travelled for the past week in B and B establishments, the breakfast at Hazeldine is way below par. We were surprised at the glowing comments in the guest book complimenting the hosts on the breakfast! Very welcoming hosts but overall we didn't feel that this place was worth the money they charge.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DandAMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,511 reviews
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,169 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westbourne
The Westbourne
#8 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melbourne Guest House
Melbourne Guest House
#16 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#4 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazeldene Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazeldene Guest House

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £72 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hazeldene Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hazeldene Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazeldene Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing