We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very charming and peaceful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Very charming and peaceful stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2011

We stayed one night at room 8 and the owner Tony gave us a lovely welcome and was very helpful. The room was very clean, the garden was a very nice experience and the breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Windows of room 8 opens out to the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We are pleased that the guest found the room nice, we have some deluxe rooms as well which we hope they might try in future. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    73
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
24
229
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Had a really lovely weekend at the fairfield, really quiet and peaceful. Had a lovely welcome by Tony the owner. Stayed in room 7, small but ok for a weekend, you don't spend much time in side when you are in the lake district. Breakfast really nice, found the staff polite and helpful. Really good choice by Tony for a good viewing point to watch the airshow. Hope to stay again sometime. Fantastic weekend, made even more so by the welcome we had at the fairfield.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barton996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
We as a town are very fortunate to have such a fantastic air show each year, and I am mor ethan happy to share my experience of teh various vantage points, and I have tried most of them. Thanks and Regards Tony.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hessle
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

When we arrived we was greated by the owner who made us feel very relaxed, he congratulated us on getting married and told us about the airshow that was on that weekend and the best places to go to get the best view of the planes.
We stayed in room 2 which we loved, their was rose petals all over the bed and a bottle of champagne waiting for us. It was a very cosy room and very peacefull just what we needed after a very busy two days from our wedding.
Breakfast was very tasty and staff was very efficient we quickly had tea,coffee and our cooked breakfast fetched to the table.
The fairfield loction is in an amazing location just a short walk to get into the centre of town. Their is a very big hill to walk up to get to the bed and breakfast but i just got my new hubby to push me up it.
When i got home I realised i had accidently left my hairdryer, the owners was quick to ring me and get it posted back to me straight away.
We loved the little touches such as the rose petals and the champagne, it made us feel speacial after our wedding. I would recommend this place to couples who want to stay somewhere they can relax and feel very welcomed.

Room Tip: Room 2 was very cosy and quiet,the room itself is not a big room but very nicely decorated and furni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jsutherland21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, 17 October 2011
Having couples just married stay with us is a one of the delights of this work. We try to provide appropriate special treats, and It is great to see couples as they start out on their lives together .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

Arrived and were pleasantly surprised to be given a free upgrade to superior a Room by the very welcoming owner.
The room and bathroom were spotless with lovely finishing touches and the gardens and guest facilities throughout were fantastic (free internet, living room, DVD`s, books on surrounding area, bar).
Located just a couple of minutes from Bowness centre the Fairfield offers a perfect getaway retreat in a tranquil setting - we`ll definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastock77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, 24 July 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the peaceful setting that we have. Sometimes it surprises us that we can be so close to the bustle of Bowness village, yet be so quiet. Thank you for your comments, we hope to see you again soon. Tony & Liz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Didn't have any problems during our stay. The room was lovely with excellent views over the garden. The spa bath was a treat and we spent a lot of our break in there with a good few bottles of wine! Breakfast was lovely, and there was a lot of choice. The location is superb, only a short walk down into town. It is up a very steep hill but it wasn't a problem for us. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 with the four poster bed and a spa bath, it was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ns2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

when we enquired about staying here i explained i had mobility problems and used a wheelchir, i askedif it was up a hill and was told there was a different route into Bowness that was not too steep- believe me it is!!! The shorter hill is very steep the longer one is quite steep but niether are suitlable if you have any mobility problems. Yhe access to the hotel is via steps and there are steps inside even if you are on the ground floor. I felt the owners just wanted a booking and were not accurate about their location.

Mobility aside the room was tiny, dated and not very clean (dirt on the radiator and dust on the floor) the mattress defineately needs changing the spring is just below the surface. The hotel also says it has a bar but this is a locked cupboard of drinks and you are asked to only contact the night staff if it is an emergnecy only, we returned to the hotel at 10pm and could not get a drink- i dont think this is late but I also didn;t feel i could contact the porter as an emergency !
The positive is the breakfast was ok

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

We stayed for two nights and could not have been made more welcome. The rooms were very clean and beds comfortable. Breakfast was a real treat!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB1084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this review, 24 June 2011
We are so pleased that you had a great experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Thanks. Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#6 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#3 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
5.0 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#22 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lonsdale House
Lonsdale House
#14 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
0.3 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#19 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Property: Fairfield Garden Guest House
Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing