We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic value, Excellent value and great surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Got back from Bowness a few days ago, the Fairfield is a great place to base yourself, close to all the many restaurants, pubs and café's. The owners and staff are very attentive and eager to help, rooms are cleaned daily and the breakfast was great, this is also an animal friendly hotel, we took our dog and she loved it. I really couldn't find a negative thing to say even if i wanted to, an absolute pleasure of a place to stay.

Room Tip: There is a steep hill up to this hotel, those with wheel chairs will need a car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martyn101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (313)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 313 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

I can honestly say I have never experienced such rudeness as I did at this below average b&b. We booked this guesthouse as it stated 'pet friendly'. Tolerated is more the word. A welcome leaflet was left in the room explaining the facilities and stating that in good weather breakfast can be served on the terrace. Having our dog with us this seemed the perfect option so we requested this to the restaurant staff. What happened next defies belief.....the owner came out of the kitchen saying 'no we can't'. When challenged with the leaflet that was in the room he snatched it out of my hand and said 'well it's not in your room now'. His manner and tone was aggressive and when he came right up in my face was completely confrontational. Not what you expect from a respectable business based on customer service. His comment that 'this is my house and if you don't like it just leave' was the final straw. For goodness sake we only asked for breakfast outside on a sunny morning! If you can't do it fine but there is absolutely no need for aggressiveness and complete rudeness. We promptly packed our bags and left.... I would never ever recommend this place to anyone wanting a peaceful escape to the lakes....AVOID, AVOID, AVOID. This establishment is not owned by respectable people....Tony's inappropriate behaviour borders on being a thug. On top of this tiny rooms, tiny bathrooms (combined with the fact you could hear the people in the room above going to toilet as if they were in the room with you), worn decor....not worth the money. The absolute worst place I have ever stayed and the most unpleasant people I've ever had the misfortune of meeting...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

My wife and I are deeply hurt by this total misrepresentation of what happened. Tripadviser are unable to remove the remarks because they do not conflict with their guidelines. We are very saddened as a result.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We stayed one night at the guesthouse in one of the rooms with the fantastic spa bath. After 4 nights camping our night here was luxury! A warm welcome, great night's sleep and very good breakfast. Can't find fault.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2013

Having your own spa bath is one luxury which we find many guests really enjoy. Just ask if you want to have one in your room and we will make sure you get the right room. These rooms are available on our website, but not all Internet sites. Thanks for your great compliment. Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a second trip to Fairfield Gardens. The hotel is very welcoming and the rooms are comfortable with modern bathrooms. The garden is tranquil and a lovely place to relax at the end of the day. The breakfast is lovely, cooked to order exactly how you like it. It is only a minute down hill to Bowness and Lake Windermere. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanineHam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

One of the best things about running a guesthouse is seeing guests coming back, and sometimes again and again. We are thrilled that you enjoy it, and look forward to seeing you next time. Thanks Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

I booked this using a Christmas present voucher and added on 2 extra nights for a birthday celebration. From the first call to book, there was a warm welcome and a willingness to understand our needs. We really can't rate highly enough the accommodation, the breakfast and the service with a smile ! Victor at breakfast was always helpful, the bed was so comfortable and just a short walk to the promenade. We would have no hesitation in recommending Fairfield House.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuperGranny56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2013

Thank you for your kind thoughts and also for mentioning Victor, our assistant works just as hard as we do to make you welcome, and it is so nice when it is recognised. Please give us a call when you rebook and we will always make sure you have the best room to suit your needs. Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Tony and Liz have a lovely place in a great spot to explore The Lakes . Although situated on a steep bank it is literally a couple of minutes walk into the hustle and bustle of "downtown " Bowness.

Room was spotless and very comfortable, bathroom was very clean with large bath and shower. The bed was extremely comfortable.

Breakfast was delicious and the hardworking waiter was allways very friendly and attentitive. Tony and Liz even arranged for the weather to be perfect, all in all my wife and I had a great time celebrating our 1st wedding aniversary and we will definately go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheLivster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2013

We are really pleased that we were able to make your celebration a special one. And thanks for mentioning our waiter, he works so hard, and has a real passion for customer service. It is nice for him too when he is recognised. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

The hotel is a little old-fashioned, our room was a bit small but did the job for a night in Windemere.
The staff is nice and helpful, the garden at the front is really pretty.
What pleased us was the delicious breakfast in the morning in a lovely room. Fantastic service from the waiter and a good choice of food even if the menu looked like it was written 20 years ago!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elmadav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2013

Thanks for the kind words, especially for the staff, they really do try hard, and appreciate being recognised. The house interior was designed by local designer Nicola Rudge and is based on the Art Nuveau period of the early 20th century. It's simple clean style goes well with our ethos of a quiet child-free environment and location, to help you relax and get away from the stresses of our world. Tony.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
583 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakbank House
Oakbank House
#26 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Virginia Cottage Guest House
Virginia Cottage Guest House
#7 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
766 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
541 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#6 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £86 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing