We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic time in Fairfield House”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Fairfield Garden Guest House
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We spent 4 days living in Fairfield Guest House. The sightseeing around the hotel is fabulus. The most impressive thing is the garden in the backyard of the house. There are many extremely beautiful flowers with bright colours. The sturdy trees have shown the long history of the hotel. Enjoying the afternoon tea while breathing the fresh air in the garden made us feel very comfortble and relaxed. We were also satisfield with the clean rooms which made us feel like in home.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angela Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield_House, Owner at Fairfield Garden Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and were able to make the most of the garden. It is a real delight on a pleasant evening and we are so pleased to have it. We hope to see you back one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (316)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 316 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We are a young couple (20+22) who decided to take a trip to The Lakes just last weekend. We saw the reviews of Fairfield on Tripadvisor and decided we would try this place out - it did not disappoint!

The property itself is beautiful. Situated less then 5 minutes walk into Bowness, a nice lake view at the top of the hill as you walk down - perfect. I saw a few posts about the size of the hill and was expecting a real killer - however it was fine, perhaps a little steep getting down and perhaps it would be a little tricky for those who are older or who have mobility issues, but otherwise don't let this put you off. The garden at the back of the house is simply beautiful, very relaxing.

Tony who runs the House was great. After paying on our last day we told him we would be going for a nice walk before starting the journey home. Tony offered us some walking guides for us to use for the day. I thought this was a very nice gesture as opposed to a 'you've paid now gooybye' attitude. The breakfast was lovely - I had the poached eggs both mornings - yum!

We stayed in one of the premier/deluxe four-poster rooms. It was beautifully cleaned and had everything we needed. The bathroom was great! Very modern with a rainfall shower and a bath with LED lights - very fancy :-)

A little bit on the area: Bowness itself was great. I highly recommend grabbing a walking guide from the pier (£2.50 and utterly idiot proof) - using this we found some stunning places. The area does get lively at night (this surprised us how lively it was actually) with a few stag and hen dos around. We went for an explore on Friday when we arrived and so didn't get out to eat until 9 - we really struggled to find somewhere that would serve us so please don't make that mistake! Also as a vegetarian I struggled to find many places suitable to eat - but I always manage!

All in all this was a 10/10 trip at Fairfield house - we said if we didn't have work on Monday we would have extended our trip. We will hopefully be back again during the Summer and we cannot wait!

Thanks for a wonderful stay :-)

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aprilhannah123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We made a last minute decision to spend a night in the lakes to celebrate our anniversary, so after some hurried research on Trip Advisor, we chose Fairfield House and it couldn't have been more perfect. The location is always important to us and this was ideal with Bowness centre just a short stroll away. Another vital point is car parking and the Fairfield offers ample space within its own grounds - after checking out we were allowed to leave our car there until later in the day when we drove home.
We opted for a superior room and with a warm welcome from owner Tony, were shown to a delightful room with a four poster bed and views over the gardens through two large windows. On seeing the room we immediately knew we had made a good choice - it was spotlessly clean, well equipped with TV, tea & coffee making facilities and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was probably the best that we have ever seen in a guest house - clean and stylish with contemporary fixtures and subtle lighting.
The communal areas are very pleasant with a comfortable lounge overlooking the beautiful garden which guests are also welcome to enjoy.
Breakfast was excellent with several choices including full English and smoked salmon with scrambled eggs. There was also a self service area with a range of cereals and juices. Unlimited tea & coffee were also offered.
We thoroughly enjoyed or brief trip to Lake Windermere and the Fairfield - the owners, Tony and Liz are a charming couple who are genuinely welcoming. We will certainly be returning!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bottlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We are from Melbourne Australia and stopped for one night at the Fairfield Gardens Guest House. Just beautiful. Old English with a lovely sunny sitting room, beautiful gardens to enjoy the flowers, birds & peace & quiet. Tony the owner made us very welcome & nothing was too much trouble. We would recommen a stay here to anyone. Very relaxing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I looked up Fairfield on trip advisor and went I through all the reviews and I decided to book it for our vacation in the Lake District. We checked in for 3 nights and stayed int their penthouse. It's a lovely period property with a charming garden. Tony and Liz who run the place are absolutely friendly and a warm couple. They make your stay very welcome and offer you advice if need it. We were rig on the top so we got complete privacy. Tony gave us a lot of information about the local events and it was lovely to have a chat with Liz too. The accommodation is maintained to very high standards. All the rooms for use like the lounge and dining area are very tastefully done. Being a vegetarian I struggle at breakfast in B&Bs but on enquiring I got a delicious vegetarian breakfast for all the days I was there.
The only downside for me was the penthouse is low ceiling with beams. So if you are tall it is something to consider. I was quite ok being short but my husband had to duck to sit in the lounge area or make a cup of coffee, but if beams don't bother you the penthouse is also tastefully done and has centrally controlled lights and shower. The shower was very nice and looked over the lake . The place is very close to the station and local high street so getting dinner was not a problem at all.. It is a hike up a hill to get to the house but it doesn't last for more that 5-10 minutes depending on your speed.
I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who is new to the are and looking for a place close to the eateries, shopping, station and the lake.

Room Tip: Penthouse is good if you want privacy, but is low ceiling and beams. If you are not a fan of breams...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deepali D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Tony Blaney who owns and runs this lovely establishment is an extremely warm, friendly and personable gentleman who clearly takes immense pride in his guest house, why wouldn't he?! It's a great place to stay and the mega plus for us was that Tony and Liz are dog friendly. The other guests staying, despite not having dogs with them were all lovely towards Terry (dog) and made him feel welcome, hence he loved his mini break too. The room my partner and I stayed in with Terry was really comfortable, nicely decorated and ultra clean with a great bed! You have evrything you need in your room including refreshments (tea, coffee, hot chocolate, ginger biscuits) and the en-suite was great too, so clean!
The guest house has a cosy communal lounge area with comfy sofas, books and games and it looks out over the lovely garden at the rear which all guests are free to access and relax in (it looks gorgeous this morning with the glorious sun and blue sky).
The breakfast is great, hosting an all you can eat continental breaky bar and a hot breakfast menu which offers everything you need to set you up for a day of walking round the lakes (the sausages and bacon are tasty)!
The staff are all individually friendly and helpful, quick to offer anything you might need/want, they clearly enjoy their jobs and working at this particular guest house,
To wrap things up, I would whole heartedly recomment Fairfield Guest House for anyone looking for a quiet, relaxing, 'home-from-home' holiday. We had a great time and we hope you do too!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenKen2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We had a brilliant weekend break in this delightful hotel just a short walk from the centre of Bowness.-on-Windemere despite the wet weather. Our room was warm and cosy and had a lovely four poster bed with views over the pretty gardens. The bathroom was very well appointed and included a selection of useful toiletries. The attention to detail was very good throughout the hotel and the owners went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Breakfast was excellent and cooked to order with plenty of choice.
we would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to explore the lake district.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
White Lodge Hotel
White Lodge Hotel
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
239 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
595 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blenheim Lodge
Blenheim Lodge
#25 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dene House
Dene House
#2 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#33 of 55 in Bowness-on-Windermere
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Garden Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Garden Guest House

Address: Brantfell Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 3AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 55 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £81 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairfield Garden Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fairfield is a charming Georgian house set in quiet secluded grounds with its own car park. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac, yet just a few steps from the waterfront, shops, pubs, clubs and restaurants of Bowness. There is a spacious terrace and garden, a large lounge and free Internet and Wi-fi access. Four-poster rooms, some with spa bath’s, and a state-of-the-art penthouse. Generous breakfast. Champagne and chocolates available. Ideal for a romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Fairfield Garden Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Garden Guest House Hotel Windermere
Fairfield Garden Guest House Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing