We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Break”
Review of Elim Bank Hotel

Elim Bank Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Elim Bank Hotel
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Break”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had a two night stay at Elim Bank. We were warmly welcomed on arrival by the lovely Brian & Margaret. Decent size Room 1 was clean and cosy with fresh clean towels each day. Fair size bathroom with good electric shower. Good Full English breakfast and good alternative choices. We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    33
    6
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
50
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2012

the hosts of elim bank are nothing but brilliant friendly kind like a giggle food is great the rooms are spotless they made our stay feel that we had gone to see our mum and dad brian and margaret are the kindest people in the lake district never mind 5 out of 5 this is 10 out of 10
all are love sandra and paul ,
see you in the near future.X

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

My wife daughetr and I along with a 3 and a 5 yr old grand children stayed in two rooms at this hotel on the 23rd July 2012, It was an overnight stop after a trip to the lakes for the 5 yr old.
The hotel location is brilliant, its far enough away from Bowness so as to be quiet, yet close enough to walk to all the amenities.Parking at the hotel was great
Brian and Margaret were excellent hosts and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The rooms were nice and clean, heating was on keeping them warm given the unseasonable weather.
I thought the cooked breakfast was excellent, with local produce used..it even tempted James the 5 yr old to have a cooked breakfast after seeing his grandads.

All in all an excellent retreat one which i would recommend.
.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oztravellerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Myself, partner and 6 friends have just returned from a motorbiking weekend away in the Lake District where we stayed at the Elim Bank Hotel. Personally, I could not fault the hotel, nor the owners, Brian and Margaret. They were very welcoming as we arrived, helpful throughout our stay, provided clean and comfortable rooms with a really comfortable bed(!) and a lovely cooked breakfast each morning. What more could we ask for!! Many thanks to Brian and Margaret, we would recommend your hotel to others!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
candise382
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

We stayed at the Elim Bank Hotel for 2 nights in June whilst we attended a wedding nearby. It was perfectly located for visiting Lake Windermere, within a ten minute walk to Bowness and a 25 minute walk to Windermere.
The b&b is old fashioned and some of the furniture in our room had seen better days, however is was spotlessly clean and has a lovely fresh smell.
Our family room - which had 2 double beds and a single plus room for a travel cot - was spacious, and the shower was large and very clean. It was at the top of the hotel - up 2 flights of stairs - but we were pre-warned about the stairs and they were not overly steep to carry little ones up. IMy one complaint would be the curtains - the room had sky light windows only covered with net curtains and so it was bright until late evening and again at dawn - not great with two small boys who wake at the slightest touvh of light!!
The breakfast was lovely - choice of juice/tea/coffee, cereals and cooked or continental breakfast and the cooked breakfast was delicious.
The owners were very friendly and welcoming and offered us umbrellas to use at the wedding and advice about where to visit with the children.
We had a great short break and if you are looking for a clean, pleasant base from which to explore the Lake District we would recommend the Elim Bank Hotel.

Room Tip: The large family room was spacious but withour blackout blinds it was very bright very early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

Just returned from Elim Bank, we enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere so much that we stayed an extra night! Margaret & Brian were as others have already stated very good hosts, and could not do enough to ensure that our stay was an enjoyable one. The rooms are slightly dated, however they are very clean and tidy... and very good value for money. Lovely fluffy white towels and clean fresh bedding, and a comfortable soft mattress, what more could you want? Flat screen TV (Thank Goodness for cbeebies)

Breakfast was very nice, lovely poached eggs and beans for myself and the full English breakfast for hubby and daughter...all fresh local produce. Very nice freshly brewed coffee....also orange juice and a selection of cereals and toast if you so wish.

We stayed with our 3 year old daughter, who did not want to leave The Lake District or Elim Bank Hotel, and gave Margaret & Brian a massive hug when it was time to leave.

We will be returning to Elim Bank when we visit Windermere again. If you want good honest value for money, clean and comfortable rooms, a hearty breakfast and very hospitable owners then Elim Bank is for you. Enjoy!! ; )

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Retta30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We stayed at the Elim Bank Hotel for 2 nights recently and thought it was a lovely peaceful hotel. The owners were very helpful with my special bread for breakfast - however we thought the sausage and bacon had been pre-cooked. We have stayed in a lot of hotels and b and b's in Bowness and although this did not spoil our stay, we must say the breakfast was not one of the best we have had.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susieq12380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.1 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
890 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
Lindeth Howe Country House Hotel
#7 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
960 reviews
0.1 mi away
Elim House
Elim House
#37 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brooklands Guest House
Brooklands Guest House
#45 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
58 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oakfold House
Oakfold House
#5 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Latimer House
Latimer House
#18 of 53 in Bowness-on-Windermere
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elim Bank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elim Bank Hotel

Property: Elim Bank Hotel
Address: Elim Bank Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms and LateRooms so you can book your Elim Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elim Bank Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing