We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Churchills next door owned by same owner - HORRENDOUS”

The White House Restaurant
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Stafford
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Churchills next door owned by same owner - HORRENDOUS”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Churchills bar isn't on trip advisor (prob due to the state of it) but is part of White House as they share a kitchen and owned by same person. Food was unbelievable the chef needs locking up never mind sacking the manager needs a good disinfecting and the whole place prob hasn't seen a Hoover, never mind a wet cloth, since it opened it's doors. Tables sticky place stunk and manager was like a delinquent child who first of all told us the food wasn't his fault then came back to tell us he had given the chef 'a bollocking' cannot believe they are even allowed to serve the general public. Basically give it a miss guys xx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank Aardvark22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    20
    12
    15
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great disappointment”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Having eaten at the White House several times during a trip to the Lakes 8 years ago, we visited the hotel for lunch today with great expectations. It is hard to fully describe our disappointment at the awful food that was served up - deep frozen pizzas, bottled pasta sauce etc. Go there at your own risk.

Helpful?
2 Thank Nicholas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wish we had read the reviews!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Having eaten here a couple of times in the past we thought it would be a safe option to take the children for an evening meal. We ordered squid and breads to start; eventually soup and breads arrived. The "selection of crusty breads" set the tone, being a couple of slices of mother's pride toasted on one side, and a supermarket bake from frozen baguette. The accompanying oil was colourless and tasteless, certainly not an olive oil. While waiting for the soup to be exchanged, the children's pasta mains arrived. One in a cheese sauce cooked without mushrooms at our request was good. However the tomato sauce was overly sweet and far too herby for a child to enjoy. When the squid arrived it was nicely cooked and quickly shared by the four of us. Eventually (again) our mains arrived. Chicken was cooked fine but in a slightly odd mauve sauce; the children enjoyed the accompanying veg. Crayfish linguine was very poor; pasta overcooked to mush, crayfish like rubber bullets, all swimming in a tasteless cream sauce. We didn't complete our 3 course deal, preferring the local ice cream shop for instant dessert satisfaction!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mnhj09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't even bother”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Following a long day sailing the lake we opted to eat at this local pub. Absolutely awful. Having ordered a red onion and goats cheese tartlet and a selection of crusty bread for starters we had to wait atleast an hour for them to arrive. Upon their arrival we were given what was quite simply a plate of toast and a chopped up baguette. If you are going to serve toast as an evening starter, please atleast give us some butter. The tartlet simply comprised of a slab of goats cheese and what we soon discovered as branston pickle for red onion; it wasn't even warm. What a joke.
Following these shockingly awful starters we realised the main was unlikely to be much better. Bear in mind we had been there an hour and a half and had only just had our starters. Having asked the waitress for our mains she claimed they would be five minutes, yet the table of starters had not even been cleared. Ten minutes passed still no main. We opted to cancel the mains and pay the bill and leave. Ended up at the local kebab house where the service was five stars in comparison.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SandsB92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Looking for a Lite Bite”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

It was our first night in the Lake District and it was pouring with rain. We had earlier eaten a large lunch so were just looking for something light for our evening meal.

There were only a few people in the White House and they had baguettes and light meals on the menu so we went in. We ordered a baguette and chicken and chips from the Light section of the menu. My baguette was lovely but the chicken and chips were disappointing in that the piece of chicken was smaller than any I have been served before. I also felt that we paid a lot for what we got, however, that said, it was the same all over the Lake district. My baguette was £5.95 for tuna and red onion, I cannot remember how much the chicken and chips was but it was dearer. We paid around £24 for our meal and two drinks, a pint of John Smiths and a pint of shandy made with John Smiths.

Coming from Sheffield where you can get a pint of beer for less than £2 and a baguette for around £3.50 we found the prices of food and beer were high. What we had here would not have cost more than £12.



Staff were friendly and service was good but there was little ambiance due to there being so few people in the restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DeeVincentDay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The White House Restaurant also viewed

Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
Bowness-on-Windermere, Lake District
 

Been to The White House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing