We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Look no further this is the the place to stay”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I travelled to Windermere, initially to attend some courses and then take a break and chill out. I had not pre-booked anywhere and found the White Lodge Hotel details at the local Tourist Information centre.

The hotel itself is a charming building which, upon entering, immediately filled me a with a sense of welcome and warmth. It is well placed for local amenities with plenty of parking space. From the hotel you can easily walk to either Windermere or Bowness and access a huge choice of many different styles of restuarants and pubs and the usual range of shops.

If walking is your thing, there is easy access to local basic walks, ferries across the lake and public transport to some of the more challenging hill walks. If you just want to chill and have a break then you probably will not find a more pleasant place to do it. The local people are very friendly and fun if you take the time to meet them and there are several famous attractions in the region..

I have visited the Windermere area several times in the past and have always had a pleasant stay and met nice people, but the White Lodge Hotel has made this visit particulalrly memorable. Being family owned and beautifully run, with lovely staff who really do make you feel at home, it is a pleasure to stay here. The staff are very friendly, pleasant and accomodating and willing to help in every way possible.

I have extended my stay several times now (in fact am thinking about becoming a permanent resident) and have experienced several different rooms and all are comfortable and warmly decorated.

Many of the guests I met at the hotel return regularly and do so because of the pleasant and charmimg atmosphere that exists here.

Pre book or you may well be dissappointed.

Andy

Room Tip: Ring, talk to the staff and book early!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepsearover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
There are newer reviews for White Lodge Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2011

nice clean hotel room lovely people and nothing was too much trouble .onely one thing was that the room we had down stairs did need to be redecorated but otherwise I would go there again.Good position and close too everywhere

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepychippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Booked last minute and struggled to get a room in Bowness at all. I think we got the very last one in the area.
The hotel is on the main road into bowness in a very good position a nice walk to the shops and lake. We parked around the back of the hotel easily.
Booking in was easy though there were three members of staff standing around the desk no one came forward or introduced themselves.
We were lead downstairs to a small basement type room with rather a musty smell...it had a small window where we could watch our car, the room was nipping clean not a speck of dust anywhere, the hospitality tray was good with good quality tea/coffee and biscuits, the bed was clean and cosy and there was a radiator that heated up in a flash.
The bathroom was compact but did the job, no shower gel supplied just soap and the shower had poor water pressure. A shelf in the bathroom would have come in handy , as would a hook behind the door.
The breakfast was cooked to order..full english consisted of two slices of bacon, one sausage, one fried egg (we were not offered any alternative) though probably would have been ok to ask for an alternative, half a grilled tomato and a few mushrooms all coked very well...there was also as much tea and toast as you liked....also fruit, yogurt, cereal and fruit juices in a pleasant surrounding.
Wolld maybe go back if I got a better room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank polly45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

Stayed on the Wednesday before Easter to give my mum a break. Booked two single rooms with B&B. SPOTLESS rooms, lovely staff, spot on breakfast, excellent location. Had a brilliant time. Thank you.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank domwilkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2011

Liz, Vicki, and Jo were so friendly and helpful when my family recently stayed at the White Lodge Hotel for 5 nights. The rooms were clean and spaceous enough for my family, the services were excellent, the full English breakfast was excellent, and the price was very reasonable.

The hotel is very close to restaurants, pubs, and shops in Bowness or Wendermere. With our car it was easy for us to explore some of the best lakes, waterfalls, and hiking trails in the Lake District.

I truly enjoyed the stay at the White Lodge Hotel and would highly recommend it!

Michael & family from London

Room Tip: Book your room early!
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel-n-Experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2011

It was a pleasure staying with you.
Very comfortable, clean and welcoming
Both of you and the staff were very friendly and attentive.
While the rooms were small they were comfortable and had all we wanted.
Breakfast was top notch. Fresh and made to order. Really set us up for our days.
Thank you and if I am ever in the area again I will certainly seek you out.
Best of luck and I hope you continue the excellent service

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wmccorma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2010

A very comfortable B & B (with supper option but not used). The management could not have done more for us- extremely accomodating. We were a family meeting up with another family & this is one of the few B & B that can accomodate 2 families of 4+. Very comfortable rooms, clean and the breakfast was lovely. We were made very welcome & would recommend to friends & family.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukp028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I have run White Lodge Hotel for many years and
it is so rewarding to get this feedback. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,898 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
574 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,419 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
417 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#13 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £104 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing