We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
149
54
27
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
149
54
27
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic breakfastlovely hotelb bbooking directsmelt lovelybucks fizzbed was very comfortableon site parkingwithin easy reachsingle roomlake districtclose to shopsa great nights sleepfull englishenjoyed our staystayed here for two nightswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2011

A charming, cosy B&B with loads of old-fashioned comfort. Nothing is too much trouble for the two charming ladies who manage White Lodge. An extra advantage is the proximity to Windermere.

Room Tip: Stairs to the second floor are a little bit steep; fine for the nimble-footed. Lovely rooms!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pearlybee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Having stayed there before and thoroughly enjoyed it, when I was asked if I had any preferences of hotel during a business trip earlier this year I had no hesitation and was not disappointed!!
There is a wonderful welcoming friendly family atmosphere the minute you walk in the door of this clean homely hotel. My room on this visit was one of the smaller single rooms, but more than adequate for what I needed, with en-suite shower room looking out on to the main street. As the White Lodge is situated on the outer edge of the town, there was no late night noise from holiday makers leaving the local pubs and restaurants, but it is close enough to the town to walk in and enjoy the social atmosphere. The bed was very comfortable and I had a fantastic nights sleep.
The next morning I received a bright cheery greeting from the proprietors and shown to my table in the restaurant for cereal followed by a full English breakfast, tea and toast, before setting off for a full days training.
If you're looking for a clean, fresh hotel with family welcome and good home cooking this is the one for you, I can't recommend it highly enough!

Room Tip: Rooms on street side are no noiser than others
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nahimana35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Good:
- Nice room size and decor
- Helpful and friendly staff

Average "full English" breakfast

Bad:
- tiny bathroom

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nanouchman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2011

Thank you for your review & saying we were a nice B&B. Our breakfast is usually highly commended as we offer such a good variety which includes fruit juices, fresh fruit, yoghurts,loads of wholemeal & white breads, bacon, sausage fresh tomatoes & mushrooms,baked beans
& of course eggs either fried, poached, or scrambled. All our food is largely sourced locally.
Most guests say they can't eat another thing before Dinner !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I travelled to Windermere, initially to attend some courses and then take a break and chill out. I had not pre-booked anywhere and found the White Lodge Hotel details at the local Tourist Information centre.

The hotel itself is a charming building which, upon entering, immediately filled me a with a sense of welcome and warmth. It is well placed for local amenities with plenty of parking space. From the hotel you can easily walk to either Windermere or Bowness and access a huge choice of many different styles of restuarants and pubs and the usual range of shops.

If walking is your thing, there is easy access to local basic walks, ferries across the lake and public transport to some of the more challenging hill walks. If you just want to chill and have a break then you probably will not find a more pleasant place to do it. The local people are very friendly and fun if you take the time to meet them and there are several famous attractions in the region..

I have visited the Windermere area several times in the past and have always had a pleasant stay and met nice people, but the White Lodge Hotel has made this visit particulalrly memorable. Being family owned and beautifully run, with lovely staff who really do make you feel at home, it is a pleasure to stay here. The staff are very friendly, pleasant and accomodating and willing to help in every way possible.

I have extended my stay several times now (in fact am thinking about becoming a permanent resident) and have experienced several different rooms and all are comfortable and warmly decorated.

Many of the guests I met at the hotel return regularly and do so because of the pleasant and charmimg atmosphere that exists here.

Pre book or you may well be dissappointed.

Andy

Room Tip: Ring, talk to the staff and book early!!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepsearover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

nice clean hotel room lovely people and nothing was too much trouble .onely one thing was that the room we had down stairs did need to be redecorated but otherwise I would go there again.Good position and close too everywhere

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheepychippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews