We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Toast!”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Toast!”
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights (a repeat trip to Bowness as our June trip was washed out by rain). The room was a little on the small side but this didn't matter as we were out and about during the day and only returned to crash out after a day's walking. The facilities were clean and tidy and the room was comfortable. The only downside was the traffic noise as the room overlooked the car park which was open to the main road and the evening and early morning traffic noise spoiled our sleep. There was a good choice of food for breakfast, and we were particularly impressed by the fact that the toast was hand-cut from a fresh loaf and was therefore deliciously crispy and tasty. I would certainly recommend this guest house to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: If your sleep is easily disturbed then you would need a room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheMaidofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
Thank for your review. We are very fortunate that we have lots of off road parking which is a rare
commodity in Bowness. The village main road is quiet in the morning & evening but during the
day is a little busy. But after all we are only a village.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    52
    26
    4
    7
See reviews for
51
101
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Stayed 2 nights 27&28th July. This is a brilliant Hotel, with brilliant staff. Breakfast was very nice, as were the rooms. My husband and myself had room No2 with a lovely view, it was all very clean and fresh. The hotel has a good size car park and is in a great location. I would highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coxy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Thank you for taking time to write this review. We are an enthusiastic team at White Lodge & our main object is to have our guests enjoy themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Just returned from white lodge, staff brilliant and very friendly and helpful. Lovely clean rooms. Very good location for town and places to eat and drink. Breakfast served between 8.30 and 9.15 very well presented everything spot on. Will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suefairhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2012
Many thanks for your review. We really enjoy running White Lodge and meeting lovely people
like you. Look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Brilliant hotel, great location, very clean nice modern spacious rooms, and a lovely view from the rooms window, the staff were very friendly and helpful throughout my stay. Breakfast is served from 8:30-9-:15 and was great value for money, would definitely recomend to anybody visiting bowness!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamieGoodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2012
Feed back is so important for us. Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I booked a room for 18th july 2012. this hotel was 4 star. The damp smell in the room was really bad, damp on walls, rust on blinds, dirty carpets. I could not even stay in the room i had payed for therefore left the hotel and returned home, without staying. I have contacted the owner upon returning home, but have not been offered any refund. Not happy with the standard at all. I took pics which if im not given a refund will take this matter further to get my money back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
43 Thank tracey b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2012
The guest stayed for 4 hours during which time she used all the facilities in the room & why not if you are staying. After she left I received a phone call from the lady that if I did not reimburse her
she would put adverse comments on Tripadvisor. I don't understand that if everything was so amiss that she would want to stay in the room for 4 hours. I do not recognise the photos that she has posted on Tripadvisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

stayed for one night on the way to Scotland, very friendly hotel, lovely breakfast nice clean rooms
just what we needed ready for our onward journey.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2012

I was looking for accommodation suitable for a female travelling alone. I hit a gem of a place! I had a single room, very comfortable. Liz and staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. Adequate parking facilities which is a must when visiting the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jempuddleduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bowness-on-Windermere
0.5 mi away
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
The Burn How Garden House Hotel
#4 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#9 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 974 reviews
0.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Property: White Lodge Hotel
Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#8 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing