We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of White Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
White Lodge Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A lovely hotel close to all main areas. Owner and staff very approachable
and helpful.
Stayed from Friday to Sunday in two double rooms, very clean and had
all our needs met.
Would recommend and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 239 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2013

A lovely hotel, very close to all the main sights of the central Lake District. The hotel was comfortable, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to come back here after a long day walking... Would recommend a stay here as you can't really go wrong. It has everything you will need!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessieswinburne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Many thanks for your review. We really enjoy running White Lodge Hotel & living in one of
the most beautiful places in the Uk. Look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

For the price we paid I was expecting more. The room was cold and the heating was only turned on for short periods. One day I had to ask for it to be turned on at 5 PM on a day that was 10 degrees outside and very wet.
No wine or chocolates - as per website.
WIFI - very limited access.
Breakfast really average.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank trevbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

I would just like to reply with the following 1. The wine & chocolates are available if you book directly with us & not through a booking agent such as Booking.com 2. The heating is on all day apart from 2am - 4 am 3. The wifi is free and available 24 hours a day. 4. Our breakfast is freshly cooked and has a lot of variety. At no time did you mention to me any of your complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We've recently stayed for a couple nights here and must have had the smallest double room ever for a 'hotel'. They call it a hotel on the website but the notice in the porch says it's a 'guest house'. Washbasin in the bedroom, separate toilet and shower in the entrance hall of the room. Also in need of redecoration. However we were given a warm welcome and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank oldjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

The room you stayed in has a large bay window and so I am mistified as how you can call it small. The furniture is all antique & as we get many compliments I am not planning to change it at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here for five nights having been to this hotel before and had a super time then , so wanted to check it out for a second time. We were not disappointed. The welcome was very warm, room extremely clean and comfortable, really liked the breakfast which was cooked beautifully and served with a cheerful smile. By coincidence we arrived at the same time as the Olympic torch relay going through and loved the White Lodge mascot!
Find the location of this hotel excellent as it is a gentle walk to the Lake, is very central for shopping and restaurants, bars etc. Also really appreciate the car park as parking is not always easy in other hotels. The staff are more than willing to help with any queries and to give very good advice about what are the best attractions to visit. This hotel is a definite favourite and well worth the trip up from the Sussex coast. We're already pencilling a couple of dates for next year

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review....look forward to seeing you in 2013 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

the wife and i stayed here in september2012 and as always the staff were very friendly ,and as always when weve stayed there the food is top notch and the rooms always very clean and tidy.
will be staying there for many years to come. very nenjoyable indeed

Room Tip: all rooms are of very good quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superman899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

My husband and I stayed for two nights (a repeat trip to Bowness as our June trip was washed out by rain). The room was a little on the small side but this didn't matter as we were out and about during the day and only returned to crash out after a day's walking. The facilities were clean and tidy and the room was comfortable. The only downside was the traffic noise as the room overlooked the car park which was open to the main road and the evening and early morning traffic noise spoiled our sleep. There was a good choice of food for breakfast, and we were particularly impressed by the fact that the toast was hand-cut from a fresh loaf and was therefore deliciously crispy and tasty. I would certainly recommend this guest house to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: If your sleep is easily disturbed then you would need a room away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMaidofKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Thank for your review. We are very fortunate that we have lots of off road parking which is a rare
commodity in Bowness. The village main road is quiet in the morning & evening but during the
day is a little busy. But after all we are only a village.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bowness-on-Windermere hotels
0.4 mi away
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Sp...
#10 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
2,996 reviews
0.5 mi away
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield
#6 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,489 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windermere Hydro Hotel
Windermere Hydro Hotel
#11 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
760 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
474 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Lodge Hotel

Address: Lake Road, Bowness-on-Windermere LA23 2JJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Bowness-on-Windermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
#7 Luxury Hotel in Bowness-on-Windermere
Price Range: £106 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — White Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere
White Lodge Hotel Bowness-On-Windermere, England - Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing