We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
White Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Craig Manor Hotel(Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Windermere Hydro Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Royal Hotel(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stags Head(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Macdonald Old England Hotel & Spa(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cranleigh Boutique(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Laura Ashley Hotel The Belsfield(Bowness-on-Windermere)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
244 results
Traveller rating
151
54
27
4
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
151
54
27
4
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspicnic breakfastlovely hotelb bbooking directsmelt lovelybucks fizzbed was very comfortableon site parkingwithin easy reachsingle roomlake districtclose to shopsa great nights sleepfull englishenjoyed our staystayed here for two nightswould highly recommend this hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
191 - 196 of 244 reviews
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A lovely hotel close to all main areas. Owner and staff very approachable
and helpful.
Stayed from Friday to Sunday in two double rooms, very clean and had
all our needs met.
Would recommend and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Both rooms were very good
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margaretPerthshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

A lovely hotel, very close to all the main sights of the central Lake District. The hotel was comfortable, clean and the staff very friendly and helpful. It was a pleasure to come back here after a long day walking... Would recommend a stay here as you can't really go wrong. It has everything you will need!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jessieswinburne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Many thanks for your review. We really enjoy running White Lodge Hotel & living in one of
the most beautiful places in the Uk. Look forward to seeing you again.

Best wishes
Liz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

For the price we paid I was expecting more. The room was cold and the heating was only turned on for short periods. One day I had to ask for it to be turned on at 5 PM on a day that was 10 degrees outside and very wet.
No wine or chocolates - as per website.
WIFI - very limited access.
Breakfast really average.

Room Tip: Choose one in a different place
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
26  Thank trevbennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

I would just like to reply with the following 1. The wine & chocolates are available if you book directly with us & not through a booking agent such as Booking.com 2. The heating is on all day apart from 2am - 4 am 3. The wifi is free and available 24 hours a day. 4. Our breakfast is freshly cooked and has a lot of variety. At no time did you mention to me any of your complaints.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We've recently stayed for a couple nights here and must have had the smallest double room ever for a 'hotel'. They call it a hotel on the website but the notice in the porch says it's a 'guest house'. Washbasin in the bedroom, separate toilet and shower in the entrance hall of the room. Also in need of redecoration. However we were given a warm welcome and the breakfast was good

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank oldjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Owner at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

The room you stayed in has a large bay window and so I am mistified as how you can call it small. The furniture is all antique & as we get many compliments I am not planning to change it at the moment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

My partner and I stayed here for five nights having been to this hotel before and had a super time then , so wanted to check it out for a second time. We were not disappointed. The welcome was very warm, room extremely clean and comfortable, really liked the breakfast which was cooked beautifully and served with a cheerful smile. By coincidence we arrived at the same time as the Olympic torch relay going through and loved the White Lodge mascot!
Find the location of this hotel excellent as it is a gentle walk to the Lake, is very central for shopping and restaurants, bars etc. Also really appreciate the car park as parking is not always easy in other hotels. The staff are more than willing to help with any queries and to give very good advice about what are the best attractions to visit. This hotel is a definite favourite and well worth the trip up from the Sussex coast. We're already pencilling a couple of dates for next year

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Southchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HerO4, Manager at White Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review....look forward to seeing you in 2013 !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews